We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to town centre and a very nice hotel with great service”
Review of The Cherwood

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Cherwood
Ranked #27 of 96 Paignton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Close to town centre and a very nice hotel with great service”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Stayed in the hotel whilst working over a weekend . Chris an lisa are two great people and me and my wife hope to return when not working. For another stay.i say to anyone stay at this hotel its warm friendly and close to everything you need .town centre.rail stn etc etc. Shaun oremans

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shaunoremans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    20
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
56
77
20
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nottinghamshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Been on short break with family at the Cherwood Hotel of which we were made to feel very welcome by our hosts Lisa & Chris from the moment we arrived, if we needed anything or had a problem we only had to call them. Our room was very clean and comfy as was the rest of the hotel, the breakfast was prepared fresh and very tasty using local produce. The host recommend places to eat on an evening. What also made it special the hosts gave our son an easter egg. I would highly recommend the Cherwood Hotel to any one looking for a place to stay for a few nights or longer

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Just arrived home from a 3 night Easter break at this B & B .From the moment we arrived the hosts were excellent, nothing was too much trouble & gave plenty of advice on local amenities. The room was very clean . The breakfast was excellent and is recommended. we were made very welcome and can highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John_D186356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at The Cherwood. First time we have stayed at a b & b with kids so we were a bit hesitant as to what to expect. We were made to feel very welcome right from the word go.The room we had was spotlessly clean as was the whole of the bed and breakfast accommodation.It is located a stones throw from the beach and free parking thrown in too which was a real bonus.The couple running it were a lovely couple and nothing was too much hassle or problem for them and any issues they would sort out instantly, they even gave our two girls easter eggs which was lovely. Breakfast is plentiful and well prepared and a large choice to choose from, apparently the tomatoes on the vine are to die for according to my two girls :-).
We would not hesitate recommending this b&b if Paington,Torquay,Brixham and Dartmouth is the place you want to be. I dont think you could do much better than The Cherwood

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
395 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Writing this on behalf of my father, as he does not have access, He and his wife had the exec room which had a big bed, sofa and by all accounts a great shower. The location is 2 mins from the sea, 5 mins walk from the station and town. The couple who run this gave a fantastic welcome, in a super room, the food was very good, thw whole place was spotlessly clean with fantastic attention to detail and the location was perfect. Well recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shart7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Just arrived back from a great stay with family friends at The Cherwood. Big, clean, comfy room with a great shower. A very nice and reasonably priced bar which we made full use of. Finished off with a brilliant breakfast. We were all made to feel very welcome and I can highly recommend.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhos C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 8, 2013

stayed for three nights , 1st/2nd and 3rd of march , really warm welcome from Lisa and Chris and they kindly upgraded us to the superior double bedroom, which like all the rooms in this lovely guest house, was spotlessly clean , tidy and very comfortable ! . Great location as station ,beach and town all within a minutes walk. Our hosts made us feel very welcome throughout our stay and i have to add the breakfasts are brilliant and are a "must have" to start your day. Will definitely stay with Lisa and Chris on our next visit to the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank mavis t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paignton hotels
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Paignton Seafront
0.0 mi away
Devon House Guest House
Devon House Guest House
#13 of 96 in Paignton
132 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dalehurst Guest House
Dalehurst Guest House
#30 of 96 in Paignton
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ashleigh Guesthouse
Ashleigh Guesthouse
#10 of 96 in Paignton
153 reviews
0.0 mi away
Brampton Guesthouse
Brampton Guesthouse
#31 of 96 in Paignton
92 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Haldon Guest House
The Haldon Guest House
#21 of 96 in Paignton
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cherwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cherwood

Property: The Cherwood
Address: 26 Garfield Road, Paignton TQ4 6AX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Paignton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cherwood 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please phone us for the best rates....All rooms with en-suite shower room, guest house offering quality throughout. Free Wi-fi, Fridges and fans available on request,Hair Dryers,Ironing Facilities on request, LCD TVs, Parking Nearby at a cost of £4 for 24 hours,Children very welcome, 2 mins from the beach,5 mins from train/coach station. Open all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your The Cherwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cherwood Hotel Paignton
The Cherwood Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing