We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick stay n breakfast in bed :-)”
Review of The Cherwood

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Cherwood
Ranked #27 of 96 Paignton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Quick stay n breakfast in bed :-)”
Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

What a lovely little place! Really lovely people, very clean, was great to see a needle & thread as my hem needed doing.
The 3 of us stayed last night as we had a funeral, I had the dulux suite- nice spacious room. & the Pauline let me eat my breakfast in bed :-)
Coming back nxt month.
We highly recommend the Cherwood.
Thank you for making us feel at home
Jane, Stuart & James x

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jane c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris P, Owner at The Cherwood, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Hello again, we are really glad you enjoyed your stay and it was a pleasure having you all stay here we would just like to say Pauline left at the end of september, it was Lisa, the new co-owner that suggested the one-off breakfast in bed,lol
hope you enjoyed and hope you stay again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    21
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
57
78
20
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leominster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We recently stayed at this really lovely hotel. Apparently, the hosts, Chris and Lisa, have only recently taken over, but they were brilliant hosts, and could not have been more welcoming. The double room was ace. The full English breakfast was one of the best I have had. The hotel is very close to the sea front, but in a lovely quiet road. Their rates are very reasonable, especially as we received an out of season discount. We are already planning our next stay at the Cherwood. We will also be recmmending this hotel to our friends, (and, by the way, they have a very good bar!)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TIDWORTH
1 review
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Me and my Wife and Daughter stayed at this beautiful place when we was on our holidays. We was welcomed warmly by Chris and Lisa and they couldnt of been more helpful with our selection of room, the service we recieved was of top quality, The place is so homely and we was right on the sea front and only a two minute walk from the shops. The food was lovely and was presented in a lovely way.

We will definatly stay there again and recommend this lovely Bed & Breakfast to anyone who is local or looking for a place to stay for a few nights.

Room Tip: All the rooms in this bed and breakfast are top quality and of a very very high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LEIGH P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

This was our fifth time staying at the cherwood, we had a bit of a shock when we arrived to find that pauline had sold up, and was no longer there.The new owners Chrs and Lisa are very hospitable, and friendly. The room was just the same, clean and fresh, and the breakfast was just as good, really sets you up for the day! We would recomend anybody planning to visit paignton should definately stay at the cherwood! Its not to be missed.

Room Tip: Superior double.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SAPPHIRE023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 26, 2012

recently stayed in the cherwood hotel for a long weekend.
The room was well decorated, immaculately clean and spacious.
The breakfast was huge and consisted of everything we wanted.
Paignton is a beautifull place and we will be visiting again and again staying at the cherwwod

Room Tip: A friend of ours did stay in the superior double room and it was slightly more spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gary h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BARCELONA
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Firts than all we had a great welcomed from Pauline who looked after us really well during the 3 days that we stay in Paington. She was always very helpful and making you feel like at home. Parking facilities which is a bonus. Very clean and comfortable. Nice big room. Close to the beach and all the amenities. Lovely breakfast. What else can you ask for!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MARIBEL13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skegness
1 review
Reviewed August 5, 2012

My mother(who is registered blind) and I spent 4 nights at The Cherwood in mid July, and it was absolutely wonderful. Pauline should also be employed by the big hotel chains to show their managers how it should be done. She is a star and nothing is too much trouble.

Our room was light, airy and spotless, with a fridge in the room that was so silent you would not have known it was on!

Having frequently sampled the revolting cold dried up buffets served in so many hotels these days, it was a real delight to get a freshly cooked hot breakfast, using local ingredients. If you go just try the kippers.The first day, feeling very hungry, we had the "Ful English"which was really excellent and nearly filled us for the rest of the day. I have stayed in many 5 star hotels across the country but this is something else, and they are not a candle on the Cherwood..Well done...

Room Tip: You won't get a bad room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DorothyESkegness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paignton hotels
0.0 mi away
Devon House Guest House
Devon House Guest House
#12 of 96 in Paignton
134 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dalehurst Guest House
Dalehurst Guest House
#32 of 96 in Paignton
36 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ashleigh Guesthouse
Ashleigh Guesthouse
#9 of 96 in Paignton
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Brampton Guesthouse
Brampton Guesthouse
#31 of 96 in Paignton
94 reviews
0.0 mi away
Carrington Guest House
Carrington Guest House
#33 of 96 in Paignton
65 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cherry Tree Hotel
Cherry Tree Hotel
#16 of 96 in Paignton
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cherwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cherwood

Property: The Cherwood
Address: 26 Garfield Road, Paignton TQ4 6AX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Paignton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cherwood 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please phone us for the best rates....All rooms with en-suite shower room, guest house offering quality throughout. Free Wi-fi, Fridges and fans available on request,Hair Dryers,Ironing Facilities on request, LCD TVs, Parking Nearby at a cost of £4 for 24 hours,Children very welcome, 2 mins from the beach,5 mins from train/coach station. Open all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Cherwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cherwood Hotel Paignton
The Cherwood Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing