We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Paignton Seafront (Goodrington Sands) Hotel
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Paignton
Certificate of Excellence
Ely
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fair Price?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

Normally we are very happy with the price we pay at Premier Inn except at our last stay at this Inn over £100, per night when the Travelodge was £60 I also do not like paying more to extend a stay in the Hotel against booking on line for a lower rate.

Nice hotel but we could have stayed at the 4 Star Imperial in Torquay for £120 including breakfast

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    170
    33
    7
    4
See reviews for
221
258
15
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

Me and my husband stayed here as a last minute night away. We love goodrington and have stayed in another hotel nearby. We have also stayed in many premier inn's and love them all. We are always a little anxious when staying in a new one as we don't want to be disappointed and we can say we were not. There was only one room available upon request which was the disable room. Having never stayed in a disabled room we were unsure what to find. The room was big and everything we needed at hand we were at the side of the hotel in room 1 and we could see the sea!!! The weather was so hot and the air conditioning in the room was first class.
We were kindly given more teas and coffee upon request and the room was a very high standard.
We love the location which is right on the sea front. Everything was within easy access and we couldn't of asked for more. The connecting restaurant served lovely meals inc breakfast. Overall we WILL be returning!!!!!!!

Room Tip: sea view rooms are above outside seating area so may be a little noisy if you want to sleep early
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tracey m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna G, Manager at Premier Inn Paignton Seafront (Goodrington Sands) Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear TraceyM,
Many thanks for your recent feedback regarding your stay here at Goodrington Sands, I'm delighted that you really enjoyed yourselves. I'm glad that you experienced our fantastic sea view rooms. Myself and the team look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frome
Level Contributor
143 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

Let me say straight away that dozens of people were eating in the Brewers Fayre restaurant in this hotel, and obviously thoroughly enjoying the food. But I think you have to be a burger, pizza or sausage and mash person to be really satisfied with the standard. We chose the meal deal at £22 per person which offered a selection of starters, main courses and sweets from a curtailed version of the main menu, plus an "all you can eat" Premier, cooked breakfast. But I cancelled the second day deal after eating the first dinner. The chef was definitely following a "no salt" healthy option rule, which left the starters and main course very bland, and adding salt afterwards did not improve the flavour. The fish and chips in handmade batter were awful. The fish was completely tasteless, although the strawberry sundae was delicious. I didn't like the idea of having to go to the bar and order all three courses in advance, then fetch your drinks. There were plenty of cheerful and excellent waiters and waitresses who seemed to have time on their hands to chat to friends, when they could have been used to serve guests - many elderly - at the tables. The Premier breakfast, part of the deal, was well cooked and value for money, and the hot food was ordered and served at table. This is a seaside hotel and used extensively by non residents, which is why there is nowhere to sit and relax if you are staying for a few days. The outside wooden benches and metal chairs gave me the back ache, and the interior furnishings aren't much better. The rooms are as you would expect in a Premier Inn - basic and comfortable, and at Goodrington very roomy with a sea view. The air conditioning was too warm even at the lowest temperature, and if you leave the window open on the restricted width you get woken up by dogs barking on the nearby beach. Overall an excellent stay, but the restaurant needs some serious improvement.

Room Tip: Rooms 9 and 11 were used by us, and were excellent with a sea view. But not good for people who can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MervFrome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Had a genuine and friendly welcome at reception and a good, clean and comfortable room with view over the bay.
Having opted for a 'meal-deal', i got to the restaurant just after 8.00pm but waited to be seated, as there seemed to be few staff around. I ordered starter, main course and a dessert straight away but then waited for the first of these to arrive - it did after about 25 minutes.
Once cleared away, i then waited another 30 minutes for a rare steak to arrive, but finally ended up going to the bar to find out if it was on its way..... It arrived with no steak knife and there was no check-back to see if everything was OK - poor. After nearly 1.5 hours, i had had enough and cancelled the dessert. A complaint to a thoroughly disinterested and particularly average 'manager' (who seemed to be having a break at a table obviously attracting on and off-duty staff alike - quite a distraction!) was fobbed off and rounded off a really poor customer service experience.
While i would stay at the hotel again and have breakfast, i would certainly not risk an evening meal there again - the service failure encountered and any attempt to put it right is just not acceptable in this day and age - hopeless!


  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TastyAcademic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Paignton Seafront (Goodrington Sands) Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you for your review. At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to provide guests with a comfortable stay and deliver a high level of service in all our establishments, both in our hotels and restaurants. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion we failed provide this. Please be assured that your comments will be duly followed up by Guest Relations and the Management Team at this hotel. We hope to welcome you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk UK
Level Contributor
97 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We arrived on a very sunny day remember that one? June 19th 2013 ! Premier not allowed to have to many signs on road..so when turning by traffic lights and heading down to wards the Inn /sea.front .do not turn into huge car park on left keep on straight down that lane/road. would suggest having a look on Google map for Tanners Road and follow to beach. Inn on left in front Parking for the Inn was a bit tricky as it is a public parking area with some reserved for Premier. In high summer ....I think it would be difficult..there is also a Brewers Fayre tagged on to it. Our room 5 on ground floor very spacious. twin..which is actually a double and a single. Sea view...but a few feet away are the pub tables..Fairly quite when we were there..but in main summer time? Staff helpful and friendly.
Goodrington looking very old and worn very small place but good park and boating lake a few yards away.

Room Tip: ground floor 5 twin..actually l double and a single BUT v near to pub tables outside window
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janner1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Premier Inn Goodrington for 5 nights with our 2 year old and loved it. Excellent location on the beach.

Firstly the room. We had a family room no 19. A king size bed and a single. Big enough for the 3 us with room to spare and a great view of the beach. All the usual furnishings you would expect from a premier inn. I did call before asking for a sea view. Worth doing as it really is a great view of the bay.

Restaurant/Bar is a Brewers Fayre attached to the hotel. We ate there for breakfast and evening meals. We had a variety of meals and all excellent and fairly priced. Worth pre booking your table for evening meals as it does get busy around peak times. You can also request specific tables. You order and pay for food at the bar.

Area. Goodrington is basically the beach with a nice park with the Premier Inn in the middle. The left hand beach is mainly used by dog walkers whilst the bigger right hand beach dogs are not allowed. no issues with dog noise for us. Both beaches nice and clean.There is a small tea/snack bar at each end of the beach and another in the park. There is also a snack/pizza place at the waterpark. These can shut early though on quiet days so don't rely upon them being open. You also have the train station for the steam railway. If you walk to the right hand end of the beach under the train track and up the road there are a couple of takeaways and a chippy. Recommend the chippy (frying Scotsman) excellent chips. About 15 min slow walk from hotel.
You can easily walk into Paignton. Litterally come out of the hotel turn right and keep walking. About 15 mins walk into town centre with shops, eating places etc. about another 10 mins walk through the pedestrianised part to the sea front. Nice easy flat walk even with a pushchair.

Car Parking is free for premier inn customers but you have to get a permit from reception. It is also a pay and display car park. This was my only niggle as I can imagine in summer months it being difficult to get a space. Premier Inn should really reserve spaces for people spending money staying with them. There are only 6 spaces specifically reserved. The rest are first come basis.

Staff. They really make the place. The girls on reception were always cheerful and helpful. The staff in the restaurant were also good. I have stayed in many hotels and work in a customer based job so I know how important good staff are. Well done to all here as they really make you feel welcome. We will be returning.


  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChooperJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Stayed here for three days in a family room. As a family we have stayed in many premier Inn family rooms, this however was the smallest ever family room that we have stayed in. I think that the company has simply tried to squeeze to many rooms into a small space, unable to move around beds just not enough room. Most of the rooms over look the beach which ours did but with very small windows. This Inn is right on the beach which is good but dogs are allowed on part of the beach which is where the Inn is situated, it seems as though the the population of Paignton who own dogs bring them to Goodrington Sands beach from about 5.30am and the barking sort of starts from then, I have a dog but it was to much for me. Most of the reception staff are friendly and helpful. The resturant attached to the Inn is dreadful, it is best to avoid it, booked for breakfast for one morning, however it was chaos, not enough staff to serve, had to find a member of staff to take our order, no juice available, no cakes muffins etc. When the food did arrive it was not exactly edable, sausages not cooked properly and I have no idea what the scrambled egg was made with but it was'nt nice. Old food was under the table it really did not look clean. The whole resturant needs to be refurbished. There is a better cleaner Premier Inn just outside town, my advice stay there instead.The actual beach just looks dirty there are much better beaches within easy driving distanace. A disappointing Premier Inn.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Mickey65Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paignton
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Paignton South - Brixham Road
0.3 mi away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#2 of 18 in Paignton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Preston Sands Hotel
Preston Sands Hotel
#11 of 18 in Paignton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bay Esplanade Hotel
Bay Esplanade Hotel
#9 of 18 in Paignton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Redcliffe Hotel
The Redcliffe Hotel
#6 of 18 in Paignton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Paignton Seafront (Goodrington Sands) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Paignton Seafront (Goodrington Sands) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Paignton Seafront (Goodrington Sands) Hotel
Address: Tanners Road | Goodrington, Paignton TQ4 6LP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Paignton
#4 Romantic Hotel in Paignton
#5 Business Hotel in Paignton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Paignton Seafront (Goodrington Sands) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With far reaching views across the beach, close to Paignton Zoo and beside Splashdown Waterpark ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Paignton Seafront (Goodrington Sands) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Paignton (Goodrington Sands) Hotel Paignton
Premier Inn Paignton Seafront (Goodrington Sands) Hotel Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing