We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does exactly what it says on the tin”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Paignton Seafront (Goodrington Sands) Hotel
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Paignton
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Does exactly what it says on the tin”
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We booked a family room, for us and 2 young kids. ( The room was on the first floor and there is no lift ). The extra beds were a sofa bed and a rollaway style bed, and were absolutely fine. We took our own cot side for the youngest child. The room was a good size, with plenty of space for the tonnes of bags you need with kids......The bathroom was fine, big enough with a shower over the bath. The staff were nice and friendly, all over the hotel was clean, and we had no problems with anything; your typical Premier Inn experience.
On the downside, there was no fridge in the room - which when you have have young kids it would have been great to store a bit of milk (or wine!). The other thing that was missing was the WiFi - you have 30 mins free each day, or pay £3 per day. Surely they could just do free wifi and save all the faffing around?!
The Brewers Fayre restaurant / pub next door is where breakfast is served, and avoid peak times if you can. Same for dinner; we ate dinner there the night we arrived but went elsewhere for the rest of our stay. It was like a circus.
The location is perfect - right on the beach, 1 minute to walk to the steam train station, a park right next to the hotel, close to the zoo and much quiter in Goodrington Sands than in the heart of Torquay. The beach is popular with dog walkers (in case your kids are scared of dogs) but clean.
It all depends on what you're looking for, but we were very happy with a friendly, clean hotel with good size room at a good rate, in a quite and convenient location.

Room Tip: If you require a ground floor room, make sure you tell reception when you book, there is no lift. R...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maria e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    394
    179
    34
    9
    4
See reviews for
240
274
15
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Australian visitor with no real expectations of what this motel will be like. Will start with the reception. No issues, the receptionist was cheerful and very helpful. 2pm Checkin seems the standard these days. Onto the room. Brilliant with one problem. No fridge. Being Australian I like to drink beer.Unfortuanlty I have no way of keeping the beer cold and as such have to resort to the attached pub. This is separate business but being that there is no where else to get a cold beer and a feed I will review that as part of this review. I asked the bar tender if they are showing the England vs South Africa game? His response was no they don't have Sky sports. Really surprised a pub does not have the sports channels.

Ok to sum up. The rooms are clean with no fridge. The bar show no sport. Not much more to say.

Would I stay again? No. Minimum standard is a fridge in the room.

This was written using the motels wifi that cost 3 pound for 24 hours.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
119 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

I was booked into here recently on business in the area and what a lovely place it was. The hotel is the standard premier brand and nice and clean. Security was very good and felt safe. Parking outside hotel was reserved for premier inn guests however I expect it would be busy in high season and weekends.
The hotel is right along the sea front and I had a nice walk before breakfast which was in the restaurant next door. Breakfast was the traditional premier style (no hot buffet) so order hot option and help yourself to all the other options which was well stocked and no rush to clear away.
Staff were attentive and friendly and free wifi in restaurant, felt like I had a little holiday by the time I left.
The only thing I had a problem with was my sat nav which could not find the hotel using address, so I would recommend you Google a map if you do not know the area.
Would love to come back here when I have more time to enjoy the beach which is perfect for families.

Room Tip: No lift so ask hotel directly for best room. I had sea view so again ask
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harrycrac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees
Level Contributor
89 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Another day, another Premier Inn. This time we visited Paignton for the first time and stopped at the PI at Goodrington Sands. First thing to mention is the location which is simply terrific. Literally on the seafront, we were lucky enough to have a room with a sea view, and nothing perks you up for the day than seeing the sun shine in through your window and to hear the waves crashing onto the beach. Parking is limited though so worth arriving in good time to get a space. The room was of the usual high quality - did I mention the sea view? - large and clean. The Inn On The Quay adjoins the hotel and the food there was fine although. Expected it to noisy late in the evening but was very pleasantly surprised as it was very quiet. Staff very friendly and found us a table without having a reservation. The hotel would make a great base for a few nights exploring Devon, and we look forward to staying here again soon.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wendavey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

First visit to a Premier Inn and I would definitely stay here again. Nearly all the staff were fantastic the two ladies serving breakfast let the others down. The hotel is in A fantastic spot. Had a great room with view of the coast line and park and lake ! Room and bathroom spotless . Stayed here for two nights with children . The only negative I have to say is about the adjoining Brewers Fayre restaurant. The staff are fab,friendly and happy. The food we ate Friday night from the all you could eat buffet was acceptable, the first breakfast was good. However Saturday's chicken night was awful I did complain but fell on deaf ears oh gosh it was bad All the chicken looked burnt ! That was disappointing . The queues to be served at the bar for drinks and food takes way to long can't see the staff coping in the summer at all . Breakfast this morning was not so good and the lady servers didnt help bloody miserable. Unlike the male staff much more cheerful. I do understand that you get what you pay for and I don't rate Brewers Fayre at all not even our local one but there isn't much else to choose from at all in the Goodrington sands area. Overall though a great hotel but couldn't have had a third meal here. Beware on the tables outside when food has been left as the seagulls flock down pinch the left over food and crap all over the tables. Otherwise it is a great hotel with friendly staff to stay in.

Room Tip: Room 9 was perfect for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jpn213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2012

Excellent location right on the beach at Goodrington sands and in easy reach of Paignton. We had a lovely sea view overlooking the bay. The staff here are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble. The restaurant food was lovely (really good pub grub) but cannot cope with the amount of people staying which is a shame. The staff are very friendly though. Would definitely go and stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Belinda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2012

This hotel is right on the beach and we were lucky enough to get a sea view. Staff very friendly. Probably the best premier inn we have stayed in. Great location for walking into Paignton.
Breakfast 1st class. Would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jo h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paignton hotels
0.3 mi away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#1 of 17 in Paignton
315 reviews
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Paignton Seafront
1.5 mi away
Preston Sands Hotel
Preston Sands Hotel
#10 of 17 in Paignton
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#5 of 17 in Paignton
476 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#4 of 17 in Paignton
507 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Redcliffe Hotel
The Redcliffe Hotel
#6 of 17 in Paignton
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Paignton Seafront (Goodrington Sands) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Paignton Seafront (Goodrington Sands) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Paignton Seafront (Goodrington Sands) Hotel
Address: Tanners Road | Goodrington, Paignton TQ4 6LP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Paignton
#4 Romantic Hotel in Paignton
#5 Business Hotel in Paignton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Paignton Seafront (Goodrington Sands) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With far reaching views across the beach, close to Paignton Zoo and beside Splashdown Waterpark ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Paignton Seafront (Goodrington Sands) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Paignton (Goodrington Sands) Hotel Paignton
Premier Inn Paignton Seafront (Goodrington Sands) Hotel Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing