We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My husband loved the breakfast ...”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Merritt House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Merritt House
Ranked #5 of 100 Paignton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
bedford
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“My husband loved the breakfast ...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed here for one night in June, 12. The bedroom was small, but we managed, we wouldn't have wanted to be in it for more than one night tho. We found everything to be very clean. Tea & coffee making facilities in room, and biscuits. Nice touch in bathroom which was kitted out with lots of extras, plasters, paracetamol etc. etc. Unfortunately i was taken ill on the evening that i stayed here, so didnt make it down to breakfast, but my husband said it was one of the nicest breakfasts he had ever had. For the money we paid we were happy with our stay. Parking spaces available at rear of property.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank warrior24Bedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    17
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
109
16
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
South West, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

We had 3 nights at Merritt House in November 2012 - we really do feel that we have had a break from our everyday lives.
Dianne and Paul make you feel so very, very welcome - from the front door being opened when you arrive, to when you leave. Wonderful hosts and very much deserve all the great reviews written here.
Breakfast is a feast - we shall be back to boring old cereal now we are home! Our son very much enjoyed the American Pancakes with banana and maple syrup, I had the Egg and Hog one morning which was very tasty. The preserves are all made by Dianne; they are so good we bought two jars home with us.
There is fruit in your room, a small box of biscuits to have with your tea/coffee and the wonderful cakes in the breakfast room to have for afternoon tea. There is nothing we could have asked for as everything has been thought of.
The rooms are very clean, great hot shower, wonderful fluffy white towels, very comfy bed, warm room - after a day out and about it was so lovely to come back, have a cup of tea and read my book.
We shall definitely return to Merritt House - only wished we could have stayed for a longer break.
Thank You Paul and Dianne for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: We had rooms 3 and 4 which are ground floor and opposite the breakfast/dining room. Very quiet and o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BabeOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

i echo all the good reviews that this b&b has had i will certainly be going back there again next time we had room 4 across the hallway from dining room. The room looked out over the cricket and rugby ground and you could see the steam train in the station too. The room was a 3min walk to town centre and station ideal if, like me, you dont like too much walking. You would really have to be starving to eat the full english it is amazing and filling, you were spoilt for choice on breakfast. Congrats and thanks to the owners for a pleasant stay

Room Tip: ask fopr room 4 its across the hall from the restaraunt and you can help yourself to frsh milk out o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

I have just got back from a stay at Merritt House with my other half, she and I both loved this B&B.

Its very quiet, yet at the center of everything. We arrived Friday afternoon with a lovely welcome, my other half had a Coffee and a slice of the home made cake on offer while we were given our keys and guide sheet to the local area.

Upon entering the room we were thoroughly impressed, other than impeccable cleanliness the room was spacious, well maintained and was a lovely stay with an En-Suite, all tea/coffee making facilities (with multiple options, Earl Grey, Hot Chocolate and Horlicks) as well as Hand Soap, fresh towels and toiletries.

Breakfast is fantastic, we both had the Traditional Full English breakfast on both mornings and it was really a hearty breakfast, however there are alot of options if a fry up isn't your preferred choice. Breakfast is served with tea/coffee and a choice of fresh Juice.

We were thoroughly impressed by the whole stay and would recommend this to anybody going to Paignton.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

Visiting family in Torbay and decided to go B&B this time - so glad we did. Merritt House was a great base for 4 days, set back just 1 road away from the seafront and pretty Paignton Harbour, so great for a stroll after breakfast. You need to walk it off, it's amazing! Freshly cooked with a choice of usual either as a 'full' or as a 'half', I struggled to finish the half! self-service juices, cereals, fresh fruit and as much Tea as you can drink. There are about 6 rooms I think and the atmosphere in the breakfast room in the mornings was very relaxed and friendly, everyone talking about their plans for the day etc. Dianne welcomed us at 3pm when we arrived, with a fresh cuppa and choice of gorgeous home made cake, a lovely touch, thank you, after such a long journey down from Southampton. We could help ourselves at any time to the milk in the fridge in the dining room if we wanted fresh. The room had a comfey king size bed, full ensuite shower room with a nice selection of toiletries etc. nice touch were the robes hanging behind the door, we had a lovely view over the Paignton Cricket pitch next door which enjoyed late afternoon sunshine. We found a good selection of Teas, Coffees, chocolate and a tin of biscuits, fruit on arrival. There were a few interesting books and maps in our room which were handy. The B&B was a couple of minutes away from the town centre for a walk or a drink, found a lovely fish & chip restaurant! We felt refreshed and well looked after when we left and would certainly stay on our next trip down.

Room Tip: rear rooms are sunny in the afternoon and quiet away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kitkatsunshine06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights of the weekend of 7th September. Welcome was excellent from DIanne who made us tea and we enjoyed the home made cakes. The breakfast was very good could not get over the choice that we had. All the little extras in the room were amazing dressing gowns, iron, tea and coffee, fruit, and toiletries. The only thing I could complain about was the bathroom, it was very small the wash hand basin was in the bedroom. I asked when I booked if the bathroom was of a decent size and I was told yes this was not the case. Would I return yes but I would not want room 8.

Room Tip: Room 8 very small bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank welshgirl4031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Very nice and warming welcome. Bed was comfortable and the breakfasts were nice and an extensive choice available. Didn’t get the tea and cake other people got on arrival, this was one of the reasons we chose the B&B. Space for 3 cars out the back (first come first serve) try and get one and I found the parking in the area difficult. Good location. Didnt find much to do in Paington and the nightlife is a bit poor but it was nice to go out to Berry Head, Kingswear and Torquay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank graham_askew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paignton hotels
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Paignton Seafront (Goodrington Sands) Hotel
0.3 mi away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#2 of 18 in Paignton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blue Waters Lodge
Blue Waters Lodge
#2 of 100 in Paignton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Belle Dene Guest House
Belle Dene Guest House
#4 of 100 in Paignton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Commodore
The Commodore
#6 of 100 in Paignton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
0.2 mi away
Two Beaches
Two Beaches
#1 of 100 in Paignton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merritt House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merritt House

Property: Merritt House
Address: 7 Queens Road, Paignton TQ4 6AT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 100 B&Bs / Inns in Paignton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Merritt House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Merritt House offers high quality AA 4 Star accommodation and delicious award winning breakfasts. All rooms have private bathrooms, with free Wi-Fi and a warm friendly welcome. Set in a quiet residential position, just off the sea front and close to the town centre, the traditional Victorian townhouse accommodation is light, airy, and well appointed, with a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. Five minutes easy walk to bus and rail stations and many good restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Merritt House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merritt House Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing