We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and great service”
Review of Indian Ocean - CLOSED

Indian Ocean
Cuisines: Indian, Nepali
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: We are a Nepalese speciality / Indian restaurant based in Paignton.We are passionate curry makers who believe in serving the most delicious Nepalese / Indian food in the town to the locals and tourists.We also take pleasure in delighting our customers not only with our mouthwatering curries but also with a friendly,smiley service :)
1 review
“Good food and great service”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Really nice food. The best I have had in a long time staff friendly, polite. Restaurant is clean. Would recommend this restaurant to a friend.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jeavo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    16
    13
    6
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Love!”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Lovely authentic Nepalese and Indian restaurant,Where the food is fabulous (worth every penny), always welcoming and friendly. Every time we have been to Indian Ocean we have Been blown away by how delicious the food is and not to mention the great customer service Along with a warm,smiley welcome from the owner Mr SANDY. If you love great food with beautiful surroundings you will love Indian Ocean! It is an excellent restaurant which I'd happily recommend to all my friends and family who are looking for tasty food and very good value for money!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JiyaE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignton
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Once again a great place!”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

My second visit to Indian Ocean and I must say this restaurant truly deserves to be #1.A very comfortable,cosy establishment providing a wide and varied menu of authentic Indian and Nepalese dishes.Having lived in India, this is the closest I have come to tasting the countries rich and delicately flavoured dishes.The food was as usual truly exceptional,Great service.The owner Mr Sandy and his team were great hosts.If you are anywhere near here,you must experience this culinary delight,I read some bed reviews and honestly do not understand what people are complaining about,Definitely Indian Ocean is the best restaurant in the area with really reasonable prices,have paid a lot more for poorer quality restaurants.All in all,an enjoyable and taste-bud drooling time at Indian Ocean.Well worth going there.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Roshanirekhakc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignton, UK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Take out-was fab!”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We ordered take out from here this evening for 12 of us. Was ready when they said we could pick it up and the staff were lovely. The food was good, we thought the portions of rice looked a bit small in the tub, but once we put it on the plate there was loads! Everyone enjoyed their meal and we will order from here again. Excellent, friendly service and good value for money, especially the set meal for one!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cheekynikki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Warm, friendly and first class food - a hidden gem”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

11 of us strolled in here without booking on the opening night of a stag do last weekend. We were immediately warmly greeted by a great waitress, Lauren, who cheerfully and calmly managed the banter throughout the night with the boss Sandi quickly joining in and generously pulling out the bubbly for the end of evening. The food was excellent especially given how many of us there were and this place far exceeded expectations from outside impressions. Brillient value too.Thanks guys for looking after my brother so well and making it a great night. We would come back anytime.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stepmarks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indian Ocean also viewed

Paignton, English Riviera
Paignton, English Riviera
 
Paignton, English Riviera
 
Paignton, English Riviera
Paignton, English Riviera
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing