We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Indian Ocean - CLOSED

Indian Ocean
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Seafood, Asian, Nepali
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: We are a Nepalese speciality / Indian restaurant based in Paignton.We are passionate curry makers who believe in serving the most delicious Nepalese / Indian food in the town to the locals and tourists.We also take pleasure in delighting our customers not only with our mouthwatering curries but also with a friendly,smiley service :)
Notts
Level Contributor
142 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Superb food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

We chose the Indian Ocean after searching the web and reading reviews on Trip Advisor whilst we were on a short break in Paignton and are so pleased we did.

The staff were welcoming, friendly and attentive and the food was of a high standard and perfectly cooked. The Chicken Tikka starter just melted in your mouth and is the best we have ever had at any restaurant we have visited.

The main course was equally as good. We had the young waitress's debut naan bread and it was delicious she should be very proud of her skills.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NottsHappygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    16
    13
    6
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great find in Torbay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

Trip advisor you are a worth your weight in gold!!! Just eaten at Indian Ocean, food fantastic best we have eaten in years!!! Great friendly people and very attentive
Fast service and nothing to much trouble, I asked for a special amended dish and it was no problem.
Try it you won't be disappointed!!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jamesbtf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fresh tasty food and excellent customer service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

My boyfriend and I were looking for an indian restaurant in Paignton having arrived that afternoon for a weekend away. We chose this one based on trip advisor reviews and were really pleased we did. The service was quick and efficient the food was fresh and the nan breads were light and perfectly cooked. Definetely one of the better indian restaurants I have been to. Also after our meal we were both offered a free shot of either baileys or sambucca another bonus. To sum up a very good little restaurant and would definitely recommend to others!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank choosy24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“AWESOME”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

First visit here after many times driving; Warm welcome,great food and very attentive staff. Good value for money.. Better than any other local restaurant. Great service. Good parking spaces..Will defenitely back again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Simongita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Food & Services”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

We got to encounter great food and hospitality at Indian Ocean restaurant. Convenient place to find, easy parking and smiling staff, Great!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank YaduA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indian Ocean also viewed

Paignton, English Riviera
Paignton, English Riviera
 
Paignton, English Riviera
Paignton, English Riviera
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing