We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Guesthouse” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ashleigh Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ashleigh Guesthouse
Ranked #11 of 100 Paignton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent Guesthouse”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2011

Ive just spent 3 nights at the ashleigh, its in a very convienient central location but is quiet. The guesthouse itself is very comfortable and very clean. The room was overlooking the rugby ground and the steam railway, the bed was very comfortable and a nice touch was the small fridge for fresh milk rather than the normal milk satchets. Breakfast was very good with a menu that you tick off each day and the selection is extensive, Mick and Hazel are a really nice friendly couple and nothing is too much trouble. This is one of the very best guesthouses ive ever stayed in and if you are looking for accommodation in paignton look no further the ashleigh comes very highly recommended, an excellent stay and the only place in paignton i would consider staying in.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
69
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
I.O.W.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2011

We went to a wedding in Paignton and found the Ashleigh very easy to walk to from the railway station......over the rail lines on the main road and the first street on the right...couldn't have been simpler, near the rugby & cricket grounds and building.
We were welcomed with a drink on arrival and also arranged for a taxi to take us to the wedding venue the next day.
We found the hotel very clean and fresh, although in the middle of the town which was very busy when we were there, it was very quiet.
A good well cooked breakfast was appreciated by us in the bright dining room.
We noticed in the brochure there was a single room on the ground floor, and thought if anyone was on their own they would definitely feel comfortable in this guest house. Also on offer discounted Green Fees on a selection of Golf Courses in Devon.
Enjoyed our stay and the price was right.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank margryde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2011

we stayed here for 3 nights and what a nice way to be greated by the owners tea ,chat before showing you your room. witch was very clean and tidy fresh and modern . the food was great coudnt really ask for any more. thank you for a great stay
WE WILL BE BACK!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lovethehol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2011

My wife and i arrived at the Ashleigh Guesthouse for our two week summer holiday on 23rd July. Mick and Hazel welcomed us with a cup of tea and biscuits. Our first impression was "what a lovely place, what lovely hosts" We were right. The place was spotless. Mick and Hazel are such a helpful and friendly couple. The breakfast menu was amazing, you have just got to taste Hazel's cooked breakfast to believe it, superb ! to say the least. For the whole two weeks our room was maintained to a very high standard indeed. You can even watch a game of cricket from the sun lounge or on the patio. Needless to say "we will be back" We would recommend to anyone planning a stay in the wonderful place of Paignton to make "The Ashleigh" your first choice.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TrevandJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2011

Hazel and Mick were welcoming, helpful and efficient. The room was very clean and comfortable. The breakfast was superb. Ashleigh is well situated for the sea front and the railway station. Take a trip to Dartmouth by train and boat.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CRPLondon_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coventry
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2011

After a long journey we were met my Mick & Hazel with a cup of tea & a biscuit.
The rooms were spotless & well set up. We had a mixed group with our ageing Mother also our Autistic son all were made welcome.
The breakfast menu was outstanding and very well presented
All in all well done Mick & Hazel

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bernard3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2011

host mick and hazel made us welcome as soon as we got there with coffee and biscuits,very clean rooms,very homely excellent breakfast,could not do enough for you.would stay here again and i would highly recommend this hotel to friends and family

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marie1963186377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paignton hotels
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Paignton Seafront (Goodrington Sands) Hotel
0.0 mi away
Merritt House
Merritt House
#7 of 100 in Paignton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blue Waters Lodge
Blue Waters Lodge
#2 of 100 in Paignton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Commodore
The Commodore
#5 of 100 in Paignton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beecroft Lodge
Beecroft Lodge
#6 of 100 in Paignton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.0 mi away
St Edmunds Guest House
St Edmunds Guest House
#12 of 100 in Paignton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashleigh Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashleigh Guesthouse

Property: Ashleigh Guesthouse
Address: 15 Queens Road, Paignton TQ4 6AT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 100 B&Bs / Inns in Paignton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashleigh Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Victorian building overlooking Queens Park and Paignton & Dartmouth Steam Railway situated close to beach, town centre, rail & bus terminals, 3D cinema, pubs, resturants, harbour, boat trips, pier, children's free Geo-Park Play area, gardens, parks & coastal walks. A family run guesthouse with 9 en-suite bedrooms consisting of 1 single, 2 twin, 3 doubles and 3 king rooms each having hospitality trays, flat screen TV with free-view, small fridge, fan, free WiFi, hair drier, towels and complimentry toiletries. Award winning breakfast is included in the price and a wide choice is offered on the menu. Limited free private parking at rear of property with free on street parking available. Mick and Hazel offer you a very warm welcome, a friendly and homely atmosphere and a nice cup of tea/coffee on arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Ashleigh Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashleigh Guesthouse Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing