We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
St Edmunds Guest House
Ranked #12 of 97 Paignton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Stayet Edmunds for one night in May with my son Robbie and dog Peggy , but we loved it
our room was lovely and clean , lovely linen , plenty of hot water , the breakfast was fantastic well cooked lots of everything set us up till late afternoon, well we will be certainly staying there again many thanks ,

Room Tip: front room twin bedded one .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hospitality42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (167)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 167 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Had a one night stay, wished it had been longer, greeted by Tony with a cuppa and a cupcake, made by his wife Jill, very nice, rooms very clean, breakfast, good choice and just how we liked it, could not fault this B & B at all and would def stay again, thank you Tony and Jill especially for letting us leave the car whilst we did the round robin trip

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank littleashes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

My wife and I stayed here in July 2013 for just one night. The location is excellent for the railway station and onward travel, (steam or standard.) The coast is literally just at the end of the road and the pubs and bars are close enough to stroll to but not close enough for noise pollution.
Tony and Jill are a mine of local info and they clearly enjoy running their small family business.
Breakfast was prompt and plentiful and our compact room had all you needed. I had no trouble when I connected to the wifi at breakfast. Warm weather meant our windows were open so we could hear the traffic but it didn't bother us too much. The water pressure wasn't the strongest but this may have been due to their full occupancy. We'll return in the cold season as we love those bracing early morning walks to blow the cobwebs away.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank watsonworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This was our third visit to St Edmunds, Jill and Tony are second to none in their welcome, attention and kindness. Their welcome, the cleanliness, care and great personalities go a long way to making a holiday complete. It is also in the perfect location for walks, and amenities, you will do well to find better in Paignton. Thank you Jill and Tony, John, Lynne and Michael.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

what a find i spent two weeks and felt at home jill and tony were excellent hosts nothing was to
much trouble the breakfasts and the dinners were very good ,the standard of this small guest
house was exceptional , i think it says it all that i have booked two weeks next year, i hope to visit
before that if i can if i had the funds it would be next week. thanks to jill and tony i had a good holiday.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patricia j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Never been to Paignton before, but the welcome we had makes sure we will go again. We were all welcomed, (dog as well) with a drink when we arrived which made us feel at home. The room was excellent and the breakfast cooked just to our liking. What more could you want, oh and it was very reasonably priced as well!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 144RobertC144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Our first stay at this excellent establishment. Most friendly couple (Tony & Jill) even our small dog was welcomed with treats whilst we enjoyed tea & cakes on arrival. Even recommended dog friendly places to eat.
Choice of breakfasts every day cooked to individual requirments - first class!
Ideally situated for seafront/harbour. Would certainly recommend. Just great!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank westie36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paignton hotels
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Paignton Seafront
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Paignton Seafront (Goodrington Sands) Hotel
0.7 mi away
Rosslyn Hotel
Rosslyn Hotel
#14 of 17 in Paignton
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Paignton South - Brixham Road
0 mi away
The Torland Hotel
The Torland Hotel
#17 of 17 in Paignton
46 reviews
1 mi away
Preston Sands Hotel
Preston Sands Hotel
#11 of 17 in Paignton
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Edmunds Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Edmunds Guest House

Address: 25 Sands Road | Devon, Paignton TQ4 6EG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Paignton
Price Range: $76 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — St Edmunds Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 150 yards to the sea front and 350 yards to the town centre, St Edmunds Guest House is in a very good location, bus and train station also within a close level walk. Your holiday starts from the moment you arrive, We have 7 bedrooms which are all en-suite, there are a small number of ground floor rooms which should be requested at the booking stage, we will do our upmost to accommodate your request. We have free on-site parking and we accept your 'best friend' your dog, must be advised at the booking stage. Better still, just give us a call. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your St Edmunds Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Edmunds Guest House Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing