We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic all round, will be back!”
Review of La Scala

La Scala
Ranked #5 of 182 Restaurants in Paignton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Paignton
1 review
“Fantastic all round, will be back!”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

My girlfriend and I went with a friend and were very impressed. The atmosphere for a small place was very warm and friendly. The food was delicious, fresh and good quality. The service was excellent, such a lovely warm man. Fantastic all round, will be back!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DavId R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    44
    15
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely Restuarant”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

My husband and I went here for an early valentine's meal.
We often talked about going here but never got round to visiting - but it was worth the wait!
The staff were Italian - which is a nice touch.
Inside the restaurant was light, clean and had a lovely atmosphere.
The food was gorgeous, good sized portions and a menu to suit everyone.
Well worth a visit!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katie-Anna-Brown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Birthday Meal”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We came across La Scala via searching on my Blackberry for local Italian eateries. We managed to book in advance with just 1.5 hours notice. I was asked if the meal was for a special event and the name of the person celebrating. On arrival we found our table kitted out with a birthday banner and other nice touches as well as a card.

The food was nice and the service pretty good considering a well attended 70th birthday was going on as well. The staff came out and sang Happy Birthday in English and then Italian which was a nice touch. The birthday girl was also presented with a cake to take home.

Overall we were happy with the food and service. One little criticism was that there wasnt a desert menu and you are told what the deserts are. Had we had a desert menu we may have swerved the puds at £6 each! When the bill arrived we were given mints and a shot of Amaretto which was a nice touch.

We would go back for sure.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Turner1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very good authentic italian food”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

My colleague and I went to La Scala last week for lunch during a business trip to Paignton. Although the restaurant was very quiet the service was excellent and the food was extremely good. We both agreed that we would thoroughly recommend La Scala.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EmmieDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very expensive”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

the atmosphere was nice also the staff , We found the food to be bland, In fact i actually felt hungry when we left.
Their lasagne tasted more like tinned tomato soup and it was very expensive.
No beer on tap just cans

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank ASmilieGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Scala also viewed

Paignton, English Riviera
Paignton, English Riviera
 
Paignton, English Riviera
Paignton, English Riviera
 

Been to La Scala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing