We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Caravan not great, enjoyable holiday, fantastic entertainment”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paignton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Waterside Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK
Coalville, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Caravan not great, enjoyable holiday, fantastic entertainment”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2010

Just returned from a weeks holiday here and really enjoyed it. Park is set on a hill so possible best to avoid if you have mobility problems. Stunning views across the bay to Torquay. We went in late september so expected the weather not to be great, not many people there either but that provided a bit more personal attention from the reps so not all bad.. We had a bronze caravan, tried to upgrade but was too late. Wished i had upgraded when i booked though as can get very cold at night and the only heating was a gas fire in living area. Site is fairly small with entertainment, pool and restaurant all withing easy reach of each other, though we didnt use the pool.
restaurant is nice and served pub style food. But the best part of the holiday was the entertainment team, they were fantastic. Would like to make special mention to Mick, Tomo, Ben, Jade, Sara and Rory you were brilliant guys and i think our 3 yr old daughter made a lasting impression especially on the last night by moving all the stools near the stage to the bar.
All in all a good holiday, good location with regular buses taking you to brixham, paignton and torquay. Definitely a holiday park we will look to return to (hopefully with the same entertainment team ;)

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrislcfc104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    127
    81
    45
    43
See reviews for
300
93
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2010

After a 7 hour journey sat in endless traffic jams with two young children Our arrival was disappointing and annoying,the caravan had not been cleaned after the previous occupier but, there was a greeting card informing us our caravan had in fact been cleaned top to bottom..That means the cleaner left his calling card but couldnt be bothered to clean up..We had to wait whilst housekeepers cleaned it, I am glad that we didnt pay the extra charge to allow us to check in earlier,..that would of been a further kick in the teeth. After a one hour marathon cleaning session by two cleaners a £20 voucher was presented to us as a form of apology,redeemable "only" in the onsite bar or restaraunt. Some area's around the site were a little dishevelled and neglected,in particular flower beds/Lawned area's etc and we never saw any litter pickers.The dog litter bins located near to where we had to park our car were not emptied during our 7 day stay and they stunk. The area outside the pool entrance is overlooked by the "managers" office and leads upwards to a kids play area, flowerbeds in this area were Two feet high with weeds The kids play area is a poor afterthought,one slide and a couple of infant bouncy items. Car parking is also very poorly thought out,we had to park our car approx 150 yards away and struggle with our luggage.The site is on a steep incline and the caravans are set on terraces.Some car park spaces have been reserved by owners. The Dogs must be kept on leads rule is not enforced, also the signs asking dog owners to pick up mess after their dogs is ignored by the many,the results of this blatant ignorance are obvious, we had to dodge the dog mess left behind, Once outside the site on the coastal paths and tracks it became even more of a hazzard, we called it "Dog toilet alley".Weve done many caravan holidays and our experience is that private owners pay more attention to detail...ie/ coffee,tea,toilet rolls already in place and beds made prior to your arrival, The corporate experience was that we were just another number.There seems to be a pre-occupation with trying to sell holiday homes...Although this review is Very Critical of certain aspects of this site it is a true reflection of what we experienced,There are some Positives believe it or not....The Location of the site cant be beaten and it overlooks the bay with stunning views,Entertainment was fantastic and the kids loved it, If you fancy a lazy day and cant be bothered to go off site then the Smugglers Restaraunt offers a great "Pub style" menu,The outdoor swimming pool is heated.
We would recommend the site to others but some aspects of its upkeep and management need to be looked at......

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Micky_Takers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2010

the smell of dogs was so bad in the caravan we loaded the car to come home. when we handed the keys in, the lady behind the counter offered us another caravan. although we had to wait for the man to renew the carpet [because it had a stain,don't like to think what it was] it was better. also the manager bought us a drink. if you want to stay here, upgrade to silver, not bronze.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeicesterRmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west midlands
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2010

we have been going to waterside holiday park now for 10 years, in total, have spent 20 holidays there.
for the first few years the site was a family run, very friendly site which even allowed dogs into amusements and entertainment area!!

since park holidays took over a few years ago, theres been a big change, gone are the friendly staff, in come the stuck up corperate staff, gone is the pet friendlyness too, its a struggle now to get a van that even allows dogs, even though they still portray themselves as 'pet friendly'

all in all, waterside is a great location, stunning views and very clean, we will continue to holiday there, but more so now because we were lucky enough to find a private van that is pet friendly and very immaculate, but if you want a holiday park that will entertain you, waterside isnt the place.
the entertainment is poor and the amusements area is tiny, but nice if you want a place to use as base and go out and about to explore.

the area is fantastic, always feel like im home when were in devon, food wise, you cant beat the inn on the quay down by quaywest water park and brixham, paignton and torquay are all beautiful places.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank will_scarlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paignton
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Paignton Seafront (Goodrington Sands) Hotel
1.3 mi away
The Torland Hotel
The Torland Hotel
#15 of 17 in Paignton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bay Esplanade Hotel
Bay Esplanade Hotel
#9 of 17 in Paignton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Paignton South - Brixham Road
1.1 mi away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#2 of 17 in Paignton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
2.4 mi away
Quayside Hotel
Quayside Hotel
#1 of 2 in Brixham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterside Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterside Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK

Property: Waterside Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK
Address: Dartmouth Road | Three Beaches, Paignton TQ4 6NS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Paignton
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterside Holiday Park, just outside Paignton enjoys some of the finest views in the region and is close to the fabulous beaches and attractions of the English Riviera. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Waterside Holiday Park Hotel Paignton
Waterside Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing