We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as it used to be”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paignton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Waterside Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not as good as it used to be”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Myself and my family have visited Waterside Holiday Park many a times, but the last time we went, we were not as impressed. The swimming pool is good, but is outside so when its cold its not the best thing, even if it is heated. Reception are helpful and the caravans are clean. When we went last, we had a sea view caravan. These caravans are in the best places on the camp and have really lovely views. Also, these caravans are higher up in the camp, meaning teles have good signal. The lower down caravans dont seem to have very good signal on the teles. Goodrington Beach is within walking distance, with plenty of shops on the way (beach shops, convenience stores, salon, etc). There is a path that leads you to the park from the beach and also back at the park, there are plenty of paths that take you to lovely views and other parts of the beach. We like to go climbing on the rocks, which you can get to from going over the hills. The park is in a lovely location, with great places and views around it, but we just feel the park itself is getting a bit tacky now. There are caravans everywhere, they are too close together as they seem to keep on putting caravans wherever they can. Its getting a bit too crowded. We've had some great holidays there, but have been trying other parks instead.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view caravan, you are in the nicest place of the park and the caravans will be lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank G_G_123abc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Waterside Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Hi G_D1234 thank you for taking the time to post your comments.

We are sorry that you found Waterside not as impressive during your recent visit as it was during your previous visits.

As Waterside proves more and more popular with our holiday home owners we can no longer guarantee that our guests will occupy a caravan with a sea view however we will always try to accommodate as best we can.

Although our swimming pool is heated I agree that the weather does turn slightly colder as the season comes to an end, it was especially cold in September 2012 when you last visited us.

The Summer of 2012 was appalling with very few dry days, let alone warm ones. I am sure that if you had visited us this season you would have found that we have made huge improvements to the park and it's facilities. Don't take my word for it, please read the many reviews we have had this season on this media site.

Thank you for review and you kind comments regarding the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    130
    81
    45
    43
See reviews for
305
96
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

After booking we were expecting the run of the mill caravan holiday. We have been to many of these types of holidays with a lot of different company's.
But I can honestly say this is the best holiday we have been on.
The park itself is quite small compared to some of the others but it has all the features you need and is clean and tidy.
The Caravan itself was spotless when we arrived and had some really good views across the sea and Torbay.
The staff are friendly and helpful and actually have a smile on their faces unlike other sites!!
But the biggest reason why our holiday was so enjoyable was the entertainment team , they worked their socks off and are so talented (special mention to Karl and Natalie for their singing).
Terry also had us in stitches a few times and Faye was really good with the kids (still cant get the chocolate song out my head lol) .
Overall we had a really good time and will be definitely returning next year. Thanks Waterside!!!!

Room Tip: Get a Caravan with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank decry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Waterside Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you, decry, for this great review. We are a happy bunch at Waterside and we are really pleased you noticed this.

We pride ourselves on providing memorable holiday's, right from the moment you arrive at park until the day you leave. You will see by the many reviews we have had on Tripadvisor how popular the staff have been this season, especially the hard working Entertainment team, and how much our guests have appreciated the improvement of the park itself.

We all look forward to welcoming you back next year.

Thank you for your fantastic comments, which I will be sure to pass them onto the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

I originally booked a late availability break at Golden Sands, Dawlish but when I checked reviews on trip advisor, I thought crikey what have I done because trying to find a good review was like trying to find a needle in a haystack! I contacted Park Holidays UK, the morning after making the booking and found that transferring to Waterside a very easy process and after enjoying a fun family holiday, I have no regrets about doing this.

I stayed in a 3 bedroom gold plus caravan with another adult and two children. On arrival, I found that only 3 beds had been made up (both adults needed their own bedroom) rather than 4 but after a quick phone call to reception, a member of staff arrived promptly with additional bed linen. I did find it odd that the white duvet cover and sheet was co-ordinated with two pillows, one in a blue pillowcase and the other orange in the double bedroom and that apart from the double bed, the housekeeping staff chose to make up the singles by doubling over the sheet, leaving the sides of the mattress exposed, which looked sloppy, so therefore the advertised bed making service left a lot to be desired. The curtain linings and blind in the bathroom were covered in mildew, mirrors were left smeary, a cupboard in the living area needed cleaning and the windows had extensive finger prints, presumably left by little ones who wanted to get closer to the sea view. On this basis the cleaning was only of satisfactory standard rather than outstanding but overall the living accommodation was ok for a short holiday but if Park Holidays UK want to live up to their marketing hype, attention to detail in the caravan would make a huge difference. The sea view and the view of Torquay from the caravan was breath taking, with the added bonus of seeing the steam train pass near the park, which thrilled the children. The area where I was based was very quiet at night, leading to a peaceful night's sleep.

The whole family really enjoyed the night entertainment, in particular the live shows by Karl, Faye, Natalie and Terry. The bar and toilets were clean and I found it easy to find a table.
I didn't use the outdoor pool which was closed for a couple of days due to a chemical issue but it was made clear that the pools could be used at Riviera Bay and Landscove which were a short trip away. When the pool re-opened it did look very inviting and I probably would have tried it out on a longer holiday.
Overall the whole family enjoyed staying at Waterview as it was a good location to visit the English Riviera and I certainly would consider returning in the future.

Room Tip: A caravan with a sea view is a bonus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Waterside Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you, Angelicgirl, for this honest review. We have had a couple of minor "blips" recently with the caravan cleaning teams attention to detail whilst performing their duties, however we have quickly ironed these out.

The pool was an issue, due to a chemical imbalance we had to close it mid-afternoon on the Monday, happily though we were able to be fully functional by 1.00pm the following day.

I am genuinely running out of things to say about the Entertainment team, we have received so many great comments about these guys it's impossible to find new responses except for a huge thank you from myself, Terry & the team.

We look forward to seeing you again soon. Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
277 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We had a long weekend in one the the 4-berth Gold Plus caravans at Waterside holiday park. The accommodation was faultless; really clean, spacious and more than you could imagine from a caravan (2 great powershowers in spacious cubicles!).

The site is really close to the coastline between Goodrington and Broadsands with a little cove nearby. Lovely for coastal walks, rock pooling and paddles.

The kids club was fun for the children. They really dedicate time and effort to this with characters Ceril and Loopy.

There was heaps of information about buying a caravan but little/no information about things we expected the welcome pack to give us, eg restaurant opening hours, reception opening hours.

On booking we bought the pre-pay meal vouchers as they looked to be good value. We were disappointed to find out that breakfast wasn't available until after 9am which was a bit too late for us with young children who'd been up for a couple of hours and we were all eager to get out. The food in the restaurant was ok, probably say you get what you pay for, sausages were far from gourmet, the rest of the food was fine, desserts were huge. Probably what we expected given the menu prices.

We didn't get chance to go to the pool and it appeared to just be outdoors. Also we didn't see a children's outdoor play area (slides, swings etc), but didn't look over by the pool area and didn't see one marked on the map.

I'd recommend this park. Especially for those looking for the added extra of site entertainment.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lou181818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Waterside Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Hi lou181818, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, especially the entertainment.

I appreciate the heads up regarding our welcome pack and lack of basic information it appears not to contain. All of our facilities opening times are posted around the park and there is usually a handy leaflet inside the welcome packs.

Through past experience we have found that the timing of the breakfast service best suits the vast majority of our guests. We found that our most popular time for this service is between 9.15am and 10.45am so 9 until 11 is as close to perfect as we will get.

Thank you for your review and your recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 13, 2013

This holiday camp has to be one of the best camps i have been to, i stayed at this holiday camp for 2 weeks and didnt get bored i the slightest. I have been to 2 waterside holiday parks and i thought that this one has got to be one of the best. The outside pool was heated and the lifeguards were very helpful. They was very fun as there was music by the pool that was appropiate for the pool area and they alwas made sure all the rules were followed and the pool are was safe for the children in it. The entertainment was fantastic as the entertainers always put on a go show. The only problems with the entertainment facilities were they could do with a few more bar staff on the bar as there was long cues and shortage off glasses due to the bat staff being too busy to collect them. The bar staff were very friendly and the drinks were very reasonable price. There was a brilliant view of the sea and steam trains that came passed. The camp is in a brilliant place where you can catch the bus cheap in to paignton and brixham. Over all i liked this camp and we be deffinatly going there next year with different people to share my experience.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lollyelizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Waterside Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
What a lovely review of our park. We are very pleased you made the most of the heated swimming pool, it's a very popular area with our guests.

Once again a guest who appreciates our Entertainment team, I will be sure to pass these comments onto them.

As I am sure you can appreciate we are now at an extremely busy period of the season and yes, sometimes the bar team do struggle to keep on top of the service, this occasionally happens and is usually dealt with within a few minutes.

We look forward to seeing you next year and remember there is only one Waterside. Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 12, 2013

This was our first visit to Waterside and wish we'd booked for 2 weeks instead of just the 1. We've stayed at many parks over the past few years and always had good holidays but this has to be the friendliest site we've ever been to. All of the staff made us feel so welcome from the minute we arrived, a special mention must go to the lad working in the pub (sorry have forgotten his name) - great service and very reasonably priced food & especially Adam - such a lovely guy :) The entertainment team were fantastic, Terry, Karl, Natalie & Faye, all very talented, really friendly and very funny, they put on great shows and work so hard, always looked like they were loving every minute too, even saw Terry in the club on his night off! Our caravan was a great size & very clean and was situated opposite the pool (which was lovely and warm) . The views of the sea were beautiful and the location was ideal with Brixham, Paignton & Torquay being a few minutes drive away. There's a beautiful coastal walk that takes you from a path next to the park onto Goodrington Sands with a great pub next to the beach, from there a short walk past a lovely park will take you to Paignton sea front which had everything you could want for a great day at the seaside. Such a beautiful place with so much to do, can't wait to return!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Waterside Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Hi helen s, one week at Waterside is never enough. Not only do we have plenty going on in and around the park there's plenty to see and do in the surrounding area.

Thank you for mentioning the friendly team, especially the Entertainment team & Adam, we do pride ourselves on our customer service. I will pass on your comments to the team here, they always get a well deserved boost from such remarks.

We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Had a week here recently and was perfectly acceptable, caravan was clean and as others have alluded to there are some nice views. Easy to reach several beaches and coves and for those without a car there is a bus service outside the camp. My only gripe was the loud 'music' being played at the pool. One suspects that it is more for the benefit of the young staff than the guests. Would not have relished having a caravan within earshot of that pool. We never used the facility for that very reason.

Room Tip: Ask for a van away from the pool...unless you like 'rap'
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank London1882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Waterside Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for your comments. I have addressed the pool music issue, the only time music is played around the pool area is during our Saturday pool party & BBQ.

We are pleased you had an enjoyable holiday overall. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paignton
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Paignton Seafront (Goodrington Sands) Hotel
1.3 mi away
The Torland Hotel
The Torland Hotel
#16 of 17 in Paignton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bay Esplanade Hotel
Bay Esplanade Hotel
#9 of 17 in Paignton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Paignton South - Brixham Road
1.1 mi away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#1 of 17 in Paignton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
2.4 mi away
Quayside Hotel
Quayside Hotel
#1 of 2 in Brixham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterside Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterside Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK

Property: Waterside Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK
Address: Dartmouth Road | Three Beaches, Paignton TQ4 6NS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Paignton
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterside Holiday Park, just outside Paignton enjoys some of the finest views in the region and is close to the fabulous beaches and attractions of the English Riviera. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Waterside Holiday Park Hotel Paignton
Waterside Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing