We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ok for weekend break”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paignton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Waterside Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK
wales
Level Contributor
68 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“ok for weekend break”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Booked a 3 night break 2nd Nov til 5th Nov, last weekend in season. Had a 4 bed bronze caravan for 6 of us. Couldn't have a higher grade as I had my dog.

Friendly staff, fridge didn't work, they replaced it. Fully equipped, no DVD though.

Cleanliness was another thing, shower hadn't been cleaned, still had shampoo or something all up the doors & walls, there was a dead spider on my daughters bed, when I went to pick it up
( she doesn't like them), it disintegrated, obviously been there a long time.
Bedding - was short on sheets etc, one call and they were delivered....
quilts were paper thin, glad I took my own as it was freezing in the nights. Only a fire in the living room, no heating elsewhere. OK in the Summer I suppose, Has an outdoor pool,,,, didn't venture in there though.

Close to coastal walks if you like that sort of think as we do. Walk into Paignton about 40 mins. Buses at top of road if need be.
Has a shop, a bar combining food / takeaway and a club on site.
10 mins drive from Paignton town centre
Excellent chip shop at top of road and turn right called The Flying Scotsman,,, really nice all freshly cooked. There is also a Co-OP, Chinese takeaway etc.

Ok for short break, basic, but value for money £180 for 3 nights for 6 of us.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joleung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    127
    81
    45
    43
See reviews for
300
93
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Wasn't to sure what to expect after I read some reviews on here. But was pleasantly surprised with the caravan (gold plus) was exactly what I needed. Worth what I paid. Probably wouldn't pay anymore than what is asked. Was a great stay. I will use this place again. Feed back for the management would be - the sheets for the beds placed on the door step outside in a bag in the rain, wasn't a very good 1st impression (only takes a minuite to be put inside). Thanks Shaun & Hollie

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaun-Hollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

My 2 girls and i went to waterside early/mid september for the weekend on a sun hol promo, after booking and THEN reading AFTER the reviews here we was quite worried on what we would find at the park on arrival...

Anyway i digress....

On arrival, first impressions weren't great with the appearance of the park, not very well kept atall.. and i'm afraid it never got much better throughout the park..(although to be fair the top half of the park up the hill did look better but these looked privately owned on the majority) the main bottom bit is where it looks worst and that;s the main bit most people see first so should be kept tidy, eh? overall impressions and something i would like to SLATE them for is the poor attention too detail on park.. a lick of paint and a good sorting of the planters overgrown with weeds around the park,, worn parking markings etc etc a ickle bit of paint and soap wouldn;t go amiss for sure, poor maintenance on woodwork, poor maintenance of toilets, poor maintenance of caravans.. (they could do with a good clean on the outside now and then for sure...

The caravan we were allocated.. well we did have an upgrade to silver accomodation on arrival for FREE which was good but looked like a bronze if truth be told..

The van wasn't spotless by any means, but it was in ok shape really, it was just grubby as seems the case all through the park but at least they are consistent in that case it seems eh...
but being a hardened camper i've slept in worse and it wasn't too bad but i wouldn't have been happy if i had have payed for the upgrade or indeed payed more than the 60 odd quid i payed for the promo sun hol...

The outdoor pool, no heating, broken.. again there pops up the poor maintenance.... oops...
(the kids used it twice and froze no probs tho, they just beared it, brave souls as they are, i put my hand in the water and it was very cold brrrrrrrrr.....

On the plus side, Lovely location, nice walks to goodrington paignton over coastal path, easy access to all local attractions, sweet in that respect...

Speaking to ppl outside the clubhouse on a night... the only ppl that were happy enough there were the regulars that have been going there for years and stay for long periods, they loved it.. but speaking to most people they weren't happy with the site to say the least... shame really it could be so much nicer with a little (lot) more care...

The pics on the site make it look so much tidier than it is, the pics are a bit misleading really...

Anyway, Overall... I know it might sound a bad review but would we go back, yes we probs would for a promo or bargain price. but would i pay a few hundred quid to holiday here? No, No i wouldn't...

Another thing, entertainment.. pfft, not one act brought in for the weekend which is very poor even being september there should be a good act brought in for a fri or sat night.... the in house entertainment try, but not very good really. very poor couple of nights of the same old same old....
Lady in reception was nice and very helpful, shop and restaurant is priced decently.

Like i said, this site could be so much better with a bit of TLC and regular care. shame.

Might try another park holidays park next time to see if the theme of the grubby look carries through they're parks?...

Anyways, theres my honest and open review of my thoughts of waterside holiday park..

Errr, that might read bad but it wasn;t too bad at waterside really, the views from front of park under the bridge are sweet and peaceful, along with the coast walks and steam train passing by and easy access to lots of local attractions make up for it i suppose...lol... :p most of my woes with this site is the unkempt state of the place, with MANY great spotless parks about the country that are very well kept this just ain;t good enough from park holidays in this day and age of caravan parks... No regular routine on maintenance/general care atall it seems...

The park manager needs to look over the care/maintenance/cleaning routines of the park for 2013 and give his team a kick up the butt and too show a site that is loved not a site that looks like the 'team' couldn't give a toss....little more love shown for the place and it would be a much nicer park ...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank welshdubber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wolverhampton
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

When I booked our gold caravan at waterside I did not realise the park didn't have an indoor swimming pool or a park for the children so when I arrived I was disappointed, the caravan allocated was very nice although the storage space was insufficient.
The entertainment staff on the evening were very good, trying to put on great shows night after night, my children and nephews loved the kids fun time and the loopy and Cyril show. The day activities provided where very good considering their lack of equipment. The site is nicely placed just outside of Paington and Brixham and a short drive to Torquay. all in all I had a much better time there than I expected and may return in the future.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank debbywv11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

Booked a Bronze caravan for 5 nights from Sept 3 because we have a Bichon Frise dog. Not enough space here to describe the appalling state of this caravan, certainly not fit for habitation. Went to reception and were told as they were full couldn't move us to another van. Wrote several letters of complaint and sent photos of the inside of 'van and asked for refund. Non forthcoming or even acknowledgement of this van which should not be considered suitable for habitation. Anyone may see these letters and photos if you wish to contact me. Otherwise DO NOT SPOIL YOUR HOLIDAY BY CONSIDERING WATERSIDE HOLIDAY PARK,

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Jan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Waterside Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Jan C thank you for your comments. I cannot respond to this review effectively as no specific points are raised within it. You say you have written several letters of complaint and had no acknowledgement, however I have responded to a Mr. & Mrs. P & J. C. Had another caravan been available we would certainly have moved you into it. Thank you once again for this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

We arrived Friday 12th October and we were met by a very pleasant receptionist who was very helpful. We went to our van, opened the door and it smelt like a dog kennel. We went back to reception to voice our concerns. We were told that dogs were allowed into the bronze accommodation which is no good to us as my Mrs is very allergic to dogs so there was no way we could have stayed if we couldn't upgrade. Fortunately there were Silver vans available which are all around 12 months old and dogs are not allowed. The extra cost was £20 for 3 nights which was OK. The Silver van (42) was immaculate, can't fault it. We went for the flexi-dine half board option and to be honest the food was excellent. Good eating times too, 9-12 for breakfast and 5-9 for dinner. The smugglers cove staff were very attentive and friendly with an excellent choice of dishes on the menu. I recommend the saucy waffles for dessert. It's not the prettiest site in the world it lacks green space but it's situated on the coast so you can walk along there with great views out to sea. I can't comment on the entertainment as we did not partake. We used the site as a base to visit the surrounding area and we found it ideal. We would stay again but only in a silver van or above. Make it clearer in your ads that dogs are welcome in your bronze vans as non dog owners will be put off as soon as they open the door on the van....Trust me!

Room Tip: Do not stay in Bronze accommodation unless you have a dog with you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Weekend_Gypo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Waterside Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for this good, honest review. Very rarely do we receive reviews with both positive and negative points. The issue of the "dog smell" has been mentioned in several previous reviews and we have reacted to this accordingly at Waterside. As with many previous reviews you have highlighted the quality of our food in the Smugglers Inn and the convenient dining times. I appreciate your comment on the lack of "green space", Waterside does not have a great deal of recreational space but the quality of the park and surrounding area does make up for that. It does state on our web-site and in our brochure that pets are only allowed in our Bronze standard accommodation. Thank you once again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

We came back on the 5/10/12 for the finals weekend it was amazing. The entertment team was as always fab with the kids the shows and stuff they did for the adults. Little kev, Amiee and shanners r so good together hope they stay a trio for a long time at waterside or on any of the another parks good luck u 3. Hope to c u next year at waterside u 3 r all 5 stars to us. From Oz , Megan , Charlotte and the rest from Portsmouth

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ozclaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Waterside Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Hi Ozclaire thank you for this great review. The Entertainments team worked extremely hard getting prepared for our Finals week-end, I am sure you will agree what a fantastic week-end it was. We look forward to seeing you next year at Waterside. Thanks again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paignton
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Paignton Seafront (Goodrington Sands) Hotel
1.3 mi away
The Torland Hotel
The Torland Hotel
#15 of 17 in Paignton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bay Esplanade Hotel
Bay Esplanade Hotel
#9 of 17 in Paignton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Paignton South - Brixham Road
1.1 mi away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#2 of 17 in Paignton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
2.4 mi away
Quayside Hotel
Quayside Hotel
#1 of 2 in Brixham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterside Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterside Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK

Property: Waterside Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK
Address: Dartmouth Road | Three Beaches, Paignton TQ4 6NS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Paignton
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterside Holiday Park, just outside Paignton enjoys some of the finest views in the region and is close to the fabulous beaches and attractions of the English Riviera. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Waterside Holiday Park Hotel Paignton
Waterside Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing