We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paignton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Waterside Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

We came back on the 5/10/12 for the finals weekend it was amazing. The entertment team was as always fab with the kids the shows and stuff they did for the adults. Little kev, Amiee and shanners r so good together hope they stay a trio for a long time at waterside or on any of the another parks good luck u 3. Hope to c u next year at waterside u 3 r all 5 stars to us. From Oz , Megan , Charlotte and the rest from Portsmouth

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ozclaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Waterside Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Hi Ozclaire thank you for this great review. The Entertainments team worked extremely hard getting prepared for our Finals week-end, I am sure you will agree what a fantastic week-end it was. We look forward to seeing you next year at Waterside. Thanks again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    138
    86
    47
    44
See reviews for
320
103
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

After book this park for myself, husband are young baby and my mother and father in law we left and came home after 3 ngts it was hell the caravan smelt, was damp and minging, and got eaten alive by some bug in the caravan, after I complained to receptionist who wasn't in the slightest interested and the attuide of welcome staff and restaurant well lets not go there. AVOID THIS HELL HOLE THERE IS MUCH BETTER IN THE AREA.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gemzc83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Waterside Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you gemcz83 for your comments. I am sorry for the condition of the accommodation in which you say you found it but if you had reported your issues when you arrived and not when you departed we would have resolved your issues. This is not the normal service we provide to our guests and we pride ourselves on being able to resolve any issues quickly and efficiently once they are reported to us, sadly in this case we were not given a chance to demonstrate this. I am surprised by your comments regarding the staff and restaurant, you will notice that the vast majority of reviews on this media forum actually compliment our staff for their help and politeness. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bham
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We have just spent a fantastic week at Waterside and i have to say what a pleasure it has been! We stayed in a private caravan on the front row, well worth every penny. The receptionist on arrival and departure were very friendly and helpful.The shop is well stocked with all you would need and the lady in the shop was lovely. I cannot comment on the entertainment as we don't use it but every member of staff i have encountered has been very cheerful. Roll on next year!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kateannec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Waterside Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for your great comments. After recent reviews it's great to read the park is back on track. Really pleased to note your comments about the staff, I will pass these on. We look forward to seeing you next year - lets hope the weather is better. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We checked in on Friday 7th September the 1st thing that hit us as we entered the caravan was the stench of wet dog and then we seen the filth ...... the carpet was absolutely filthy with numerous stains it was so dirty i wouldn,t take my shoes off and walk on any part of the caravan floor ..... certain parts of the seating area had been recovered and when we lifted the cushions the wooden boards were stained so we could imagine why the cushions had been recovered .... the bedrooms also had a vile potent stench and the beds well the matress in the doudle room may well not have existed as when you lay down it offered no comfort you felt the wooden boards underneath and again the mattress had been recovered and the carpet was again dirty ...... the second bedroom had bunk beds and the botton bunks mattress was far too wide for the bed it over hung by at least 6 inches and again a dirty carpet ...... the bathroom was also in a pitiful state all the sink unit was peeling leaving sharp unsightly edges...... the fridge wasn,t even cold we had to turn it up to maximum and it took a further 2 days to get cold ..... the toaster didn,t work......the ignition on cooker didn,t work as we were non smokers we had no was of lighting the cooker , we puchased a lighter only then to discover two of the four gas rings also didn,t work and the grill took over 10 minutes to do a piece of toast , not ideal for a self catering accomodation..... the reception on the tv was so poor we couldn,t watch any channel without it pixalating so there was no point advertising a tv as there was clearly no reception....... Saturday morning after a sleepless night due to the shockingingly poor quality of matresses we went to reception as soon as it opened its doors at 8.30am and asked to speak to a manager we were told manager wasn,t due in till 12.30pm so we listed our complaints to the member of staff behind reception desk and asked to be moved to a different caravan as there was no way we could spend a further 6 nights in such filth but we were told the park was fully booked and if we came back in half an hour or so she would ring round the other parks in their chain to see if there was an availiable caravan at one of their other holiday parks in the region..... half an hour later my husband went to reception and came back with a key for a caravan several doors up from ours as we were informed this was the only availiable caravan they had on any of their parks ...... well we had a look and it was in the same shabby, smelly condition as the one we were already in .... we took the keys back and refused the offer of a move .... so all they offered was to resend housekeeping to clean carpets etc and change matresses ..... i really didn,t at this point feel optimistic of them been able to remove the ground in filth but we went out to Paignton Zoo for the day ..... we arrived back to the caravan unlocked the door to be hit with a potent overpowering smell of bleach which they had used to clean the caravan carpets the matresses had been changed but were still no better ( im convinced they were straw matresses but had lost all their stuffing ) reception was closed so we resigned ourselves to another miserable night in a caravan reeking of bleach with an undertone of wet dog .... Sunday morning we got up to a stinking damp shabby caravan and realised we really couldn,t spend another minute of our holiday in such uncomfortable filth so we went into Torquay as it,s the biggest resort and looked for accomodation we booked ourselves into The Premier Inn at a cost of £436 ..... to say i was so relieved i was in tears of joy knowing i didn,t have to spend anymore of my holiday in that filthy caravan .......we went straight back to The Waterside Monday and asked to speak to a manager only to be told this time that the manager was now on holiday so we explained that we were not prepared to stay in filth and that we had checked into a hotel and we wanted refunding ....we produced our receipt from the Premier Inn...... i listed the complaints yet again and said in my opinion the caravan wasn,t fit for human habitation and my dog,s bed back at home was cleaner than that caravan ..... we were told an e-mail had to be sent to head office to get permission to refund us .... over an hour later my husband finally got a refund of just under £94 ( we had paid £165 for 7 nights ) so finally after nearly 72 hours of hell we could leave the Waterside behind us and enjoy the rest of our holiday in the comfort and cleanliness of the Premier Inn.... my advice AVOID THE WATERSIDE PARK BRONZE ACCOMODATION AT ALL COSTS as dogs are allowed in all bronze accomodation and after the wettest summer in 100 years the bronze accomodation have had to put up with soaking wet dogs all season and my god you need a gas mask as the smell of dog and damp is potent ......i can honestly say in over 150 holidays and short breaks spanning 25 years both in the UK and abroad this was by a winning mile the worst accomodation we have ever has the misfortune to stay in and if we couldn,t of booked ourselves into a hotel we would have without a shadow of a doubt gone home rather than spend one more miserable minute in filth .....

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SHARON D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Waterside Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding the Bronze accommodation at Waterside, I take no pleasure from reading such negative comments about Waterside on forum's such as Tripadvisor.
What a shame I was away on annual leave during the week you were with us, you would have had my assurance that all of the issue's you faced with your caravan would have been resolved immediately. Clearly we have failed to provide you with the memorable holiday experience a vast majority of our guests enjoy, all I can do is apologise for this and the condition of the caravan allocated and the inconvenience you were caused. Going forward I will take your comments, and use them positively, as a tool to improve the cleaning practices at Waterside. I am pleased that you enjoyed the remainder of your holiday in the Paignton area and hope we may have the opportunity to welcome you back to the area in the near future. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ystalyfera, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

we booked here to have a nice stay with the family, but when we got there we had to clean the caravan a good few times as it was stinking, plus the entertainment was really poor they played the same cd every time the kids got broad plus they need to start coming around to get people to dance. and doing more activities for the children. also you need a park of some thing there for the children, we wont be coming back here

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kirsty P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Waterside Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Really disappointing to read that your stay with us was not as nice as expected. It is important to us that our guests enjoy all aspects of their holiday. We take comments of this nature very seriously and react to them if necessary. Sometimes issues do occur and we do our very best to rectify them once we have been notified. I am sure you will agree that Entertainment is very much an individual preference, unfortunately we cannot provide Entertainment to suit every need. I will pass these comments onto the relevant department managers for their attention and resolution. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 14, 2012

First time I've been to Waterside and I must say it was absolutely lovely! It's so sad to read some of the reviews on here, as we had no issues or problems with anything for the entire week that we were here. Caravan was nice, with outstanding views! All the staff on site were very polite and always willing to help. Entertainments team (Michael, Kev, Aimee, Amy and Jake) were brilliant! Best cabaret performers I've seen out of any holiday parks I've ever stayed in. Got home today and already looking to come back next year! Thank you Waterside.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claireb1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Waterside Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
They say you don't get a chance at a first impression - and we have clearly left you with a happy, long-lasting memory of a great holiday at Waterside. Very pleasing to note the Entertainment team stood out, especially after reading some reviews submitted about them. They are a hard working bunch and it's fantastic that they are recognised and appreciated in such a positive way. See you next year. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

My family have been going to Waterside Caravan Park for well over 50 years and my self now 26 has been going there since I was only a few years old and I must say the saying things get better with age is definitely true...
Upon arriving we picked up the keys and headed straight to our caravan number 232 and found it with no problems! The caravan was clean tidy and well presented with a good sized living/kitchen room with a great view over Torbay!! I must also mention the high quality of the entertainment acts, there is only small number of people who do the entertaining but what they loose in quantity they all make up for in quality!! The teams different styles range from a Take That theme nighs through to a tribute of the musicals which was very entertaining, ontop of this they have many different games such as bingo through to race nights... I would finally like to thank all the the members of the entertainments teams for making or nights at the park really enjoyable but a special thank you to Kev Wells who made out last night (13/09/12) there one of the best for his cabaret show not only a great voice but had the entire room laughing and singing along... A big thank you to Waterside and Michael, Kev, Amy, Aimee and Jake for all there hard work and long hours they put in for our entertainment!! Hopefully see you all next year...

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rjbuswell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Waterside Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thank you for this review. With over 75 years between you and your family coming to Waterside we must be doing something right. I really appreciate your comment about getting better with age - we like to think we improve season upon season. As with "claireb1993" comment, thank you for recognising the effort our Entertainment Team puts in and the quality of the in-house Team shows. I will pass your comments onto Michael and his team (especially Kev) these guys are not appreciated nearly enough and the hard work they put in seems to be over-looked. We hope to see you next year. Thank you once again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paignton
2.3 mi away
Preston Sands Hotel
Preston Sands Hotel
#10 of 17 in Paignton
277 reviews
3.0 mi away
Landscove Holiday Park
Landscove Holiday Park
#5 of 8 in Brixham
873 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hoburne Devon Bay
Hoburne Devon Bay
#1 of 24 in Paignton
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Lady's Mile Holiday Park
1.4 mi away
Paignton Court Hotel
Paignton Court Hotel
#37 of 96 in Paignton
95 reviews
2.3 mi away
Whitehill Country Park
Whitehill Country Park
#3 of 24 in Paignton
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterside Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterside Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK

Property: Waterside Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK
Address: Dartmouth Road | Three Beaches, Paignton TQ4 6NS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Paignton
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterside Holiday Park, just outside Paignton enjoys some of the finest views in the region and is close to the fabulous beaches and attractions of the English Riviera. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Waterside Holiday Park Hotel Paignton
Waterside Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing