We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as last year”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paignton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Waterside Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We went back again in April 2012, the facilities were the same as before but the entertainments team just were not as good as last years. We turned up to clubs and the doors were locked, most times we went away but on one occasion we made the open up. It was clear we had disrupted their rehearsals and were made to feel like we were putting them out by being there.

We will not be going back again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FamilyMan079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Waterside Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Thank you for your review. Unfortunately I cannot comment on the Entertainment here during April 2012, I took over the running of this park on the 4th of May. However the Entertainment team did have a change of personnel in early June and, by and large, they seem to been well received by the vast majority of our guests. It is unfortunate that you will not be back again as I feel confident that you would find the Entertainment to be of a high standard. Thank you again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (587)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

514 - 520 of 587 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2012

Caravan -
We went for bank holiday weekend (Fri 24 Aug 2012). Booked through The Sun holidays. After reading reviews was not looking forward to a bronze caravan. Phoned a few times to upgrade and was told as it was bank holiday weekend so there was no availability to upgrade. Luckily, a few days before, they phoned me asking would I like to upgrade to silver & it would be a caravan no more than 2 years old. Caravan was a typical caravan. It was VERY clean and we were really happy with it. We were in caravan 192.

Entertainment -
Would have been nice to have the kids disco, with one someone showing the children the actions to do to the kids songs. It was just an unmaned disco. Kids loved the Loopy & Cyril show. Entertainment staff, Aimee, Kev & Jake were excellent with the kids (thanks very much), just wished there was more entertainment with them.

Pool -
They only have an outdoor pool. So we were lucky to have the weather on the Sunday to be able to use it. Kids loved it.

Site -
I thought the overall site was very clean, and all the staff we met were very nice. Grass was short and seen some one out cutting it regular. It may not be an ideal place for someone with walking difficulties, as site is quite hilly. Parking spaces right next to our caravan.

Location -
We had a car, so it was just a short drive to Paigton Pier and Torquay. Location is great.

Overall we had a lovely family weekend break

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyDays63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Waterside Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Thank you for this review, I am really pleased you had a lovely week-end break. The Entertainment seems to be becoming a bit of a theme in recent reviews on this website, we are taking notice of them and we hope to develop the children's entertainment further for next season. The Maintenance Team work extremely hard to keep the park looking as it does and it is really appreciated that someone takes time to acknowledge this - I will pass this remark onto them. Thank you once again for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We have been staying at Waterside for 10 years in a row now and have to say that we don't want to go anywhere else!
We have tried other parks in addition and have NOT found anywhere better.
The Location is fantastic, accomodation is great with lovely views.
The smugglers restaurant is great with lovely food in fact we ate there most nights as very reasonable too.
Now for the ENTERTAINMENT!!!
I CANNOT believe that people can write such BAD reviews!!
As I said we having bee coming for 10 years and on the strength of the Amazingly talented, friendly team we have been twice this year!
The team is absolutly FANTASTIC! The shows were totally awesome especially Mammas Dirty Greasy Hair!
They have inspired All my kids to become entertainers and are a total assest to Waterside.
I am disgusted to hear such bad reviews about them!
We didn't find them crude in anyway what so ever! The evenings were action packed and we spent from 6pm til midnight there every single day!!!
As for the link up Bingo ITS NOT THEIR FAULT get over it!
We have booked already for next year and look forward to seeing the team again!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BLONDOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Waterside Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2012

What can I say that you haven't?. Obviously you are a big fan of Waterside and enjoy immensely what it has to offer. It's great to read such a wonderful review such as this. Like every other major holiday park operator we don't get it right every time but it is greatly appreciated to receive recognition when we do. I will pass your comments onto the teams, I am positive it will give them a boost. Thank you for this fantastic review and we will see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Site is unsuitable if you have walking problems as it very hilly, first caravan offered was down near the car park near reception which for a gold plus was not what we were expecting, no view surrounded by trees,asked if they had one with sea view and staff were accommodating and gave us one with clear view across bay and the sea, caravan was clean and tidy.

Food in the smugglers bar was not very good,so if thinking of going on the flexi dine option do not book until you have tried a meal.

The entertainment was very poor and at times crude, enjoyable only by the very young.
Bar staff not very friendly just going through the motions.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fescott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Waterside Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Thank you for your review. Our Gold standard caravans are based on age and facilities, Unfortunately we cannot guarantee that all of our Gold standard accommodation has sea views. I am glad to hear our staff were helpful and were lucky enough to be able to move you to a caravan with requested view. The comments regarding the rest of the staff are not so pleasing, however we will take note of these and react accordingly. Thanks again for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Small site not much to do but in a great location,outdoor swimming pool lovely on a nice summers day,shop good value for a site shop,smugglers snack bar and takeaway very small and not that welcoming.

The worst part was the kids entertainment we went twice second time was worse than first it is supposed to start at 6 never did and when it did it was just not worth it they played one game one night then put on a few songs.

The second night we went for the show that lasted 30 mins and nothing after that they went straight on to bingo which was also rubbish as the link was lost.

Overall we had a good holiday because the weather was great but would not return because of the poor entertainment it is the worst I have seen and we have been to a few!!!.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank njc12342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Waterside Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Thank you for your review regarding Waterside Holiday Park. I am very surprised, and sorry, to read that you found the Smugglers to be un-welcoming, a comment of this nature is very rare to read. We have had several negative comments regarding the Entertainment and the loss of the Link Bingo, it is unfortunate when the link goes down but it is out of our control. I am pleased that you found the park nice and overall you enjoyed your holiday. Thank you again for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed here early August and were bitterly disappointed with the site.The caravan was dirty and very old.It was in very poor condition and not comfortable at all. A holiday is meant to relax you but when you're staying in a place that's dirty and falling apart it ruins the rest of the break.The whole site was run down, to the broken tiles in the pool, the shabby caravans and the poor entertainment. If the entertainment crew spent more time trying to entertain people and less time trying to squeeze every last penny from you then perhaps it would be better. The only plus side I can say about this site is that it is in a good location for nearby beaches and Paignton itself.Other than that it was the worst site I've ever visited.

Room Tip: Go for the very newest caravan you can but even then don't expect luxury here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pgtips797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Waterside Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Thank you for your feed back regarding your stay with us. As you will see from other reviews on Tripadvisor we get very few remarks regarding the accommodation being dirty and even less about the site being run down. We take pride in the park and its facilities being clean and tidy and dealing swiftly with any issues once reported to us. Yes we did have some tiles become loose around the pool and we had them repaired the very same week. The Entertainment team do sell Bingo tickets, raffle tickets, open the box etc., they do this as part of the evenings entertainment and we find the guests enjoy playing along. Thank you again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

used the clubhouse once, took my 5 year old to see Loopy and Cyril show, it lasted 15 minutes, no kids games, all the team wanted to do was flog the bingo tickets, then the link up bingo failed!!,if they want this site to continue as a family holiday destination, they need to seriously review what they call kids entertainment

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank happy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Waterside Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Thank you for your comments, our guests opinions are always important to us. I am sorry you found the Entertainment not to be as expected, on the one occasion you visited the clubhouse. As you will notice from previous reviews the team needed to "up their game"and, judging by the latest reviews, they certainly have. Part of the Team's duties are to sell Bingo tickets. We appreciate that Bingo is not everyone's cup of tea but we find it forms an important part of the evenings entertainment.
Thank you once again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paignton
3.1 mi away
Landscove Holiday Park
Landscove Holiday Park
#5 of 8 in Brixham
902 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beverley Holidays
Beverley Holidays
#3 of 25 in Paignton
884 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hoburne Devon Bay
Hoburne Devon Bay
#1 of 25 in Paignton
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Rosslyn Hotel
Rosslyn Hotel
#13 of 17 in Paignton
76 reviews
1.3 mi away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#1 of 17 in Paignton
354 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Redcliffe Hotel
The Redcliffe Hotel
#6 of 17 in Paignton
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterside Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterside Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK

Address: Dartmouth Road | Three Beaches, Paignton TQ4 6NS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Paignton
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterside Holiday Park, just outside Paignton enjoys some of the finest views in the region and is close to the fabulous beaches and attractions of the English Riviera. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Waterside Holiday Park Hotel Paignton
Waterside Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing