We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Waterside Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK
Nearby Hotels
Queens Hotel(Paignton)
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Palace(Paignton)
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marine Hotel(Paignton)
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rosslyn Hotel(Paignton)(Great Value!)
$63
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$78
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$78
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$49
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Wulfruna Hotel(Paignton)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (606)
Filter reviews
606 results
Traveler rating
264
153
88
47
54
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
264
153
88
47
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmugglers innyacht clubsteam traingold plus caravanbronze caravanlink up bingonext yearholiday parkentertainment teamfree upgradesun newspaperclean caravanfab holidaythe heated outdoor poolsun holidaycoastal walksgoodrington beach
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
591 - 596 of 606 reviews
Reviewed May 14, 2011

Stayed there 9 to 13 May 2011 in a brand new caravan, well equipped with bedding (also new). Forgot to take towels.
Very few people on site due to it being between the three Bank Holidays we had this May.
The site appears to be set in a bowl with sharp hills in all directions.
Being a pensioner I only just made the hill to the main road where the Gold Card allowed free bus to Paignton, Torquay or many other interesting areas.
Entertainment was a real Hi Di Hi show (Why do they shout down a mic. ?) and the top of the bill for the week were two at least middle aged Jedwards who were hardly entertaining.
Pleasant staff, a perfect caravan, luckily close to the shop and entertainment, in a smaller scale holiday camp.
A tip: I went on a first class railway ticket purchased a week before. Birmingham
to Paignton return with food and all the comfort for £27.50 each way.
I'm not happy driving all that way but the others spent over £100 in fuel for a small car.

Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
1  Thank Bigun9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2011

We booked a late deal in a platinum 2 bed caravan, which was lovely, but the views from the decking exceeded our expectations! The caravan was number 241, a lot of steps up the hill but well worth every one of them. The caravan was equipped to the highest standards, every single thing you would need and more! Comfy bed, lovely bed linen, all in all, excellent. Lots of lovely walks in the area, and a fanatastic chip shop in nearby Churston, Squires, well worth a visit, and excellent value for money. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank kateannec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2011

Six of us - three adults, three children (6, 3 and 16 months), booked online for a Silver 2 bed caravan at a very reasonable rate. We stayed Mon-Fri, leaving early on the morning of the Royal Wedding.

On arrival we were pleased with our caravan. Although it was a little smaller than the family van we are used to occupying in Somerset, we were expecting this considering the information given on the website. We actually managed fine with the sleeping and living arrangements ( we took our own travel cot and pushed the twin beds together).

We found the caravan to be very well maintained, neat, tidy and clean, although it was a slightly older model. The shower room was modern and spotless, the kitchen well stocked with the correct number of plates, cups, glasses, cutlery, cereal bowls etc. The kettle and microwave were so clean they could have been new. There were a few odd stains on the lounge carpet, just mud that had been walked in but nothing much to worry about.

We were a little concerned over the issue of pets being allowed on site which is why we avoided the bronze vans and upgraded to a silver van for £20 more, however, we barely encountered any dogs during our stay, no barking and no nasty deposits were found! I think most or all of the vans allowing pets may be grouped together slightly separate from the other caravans.

We ate in the Smugglers Inn restaurant the first night- wouldn't recommend the curry which both my husband and myself had - unless you are satisfied with a couple of tablespoons of tikka masala! However, the kids and other 'with chips' meals looked fine, and there is a rank of local shops a few minutes away with a number of sandwich bars, chinese takeaways, fish and chips etc. Morrisons is also very nearby, next to Paignton zoo.

The Yacht Club on site catered very well for families such as ours. The entertainment staff are very welcoming, friendly and polite and work very hard to keep the atmosphere upbeat and audience interested and involved without being intrusive. The proceedings are quite fast paced with there always being some kind of activity going on - from 6pm its for the kids with games and dancing/prizes, leading on to a quick game of family bingo, while come 8 0' clock it's the adults only link-up bingo with other Park Holiday sites with some large prizes to be won (£1,000 + even outside of school holiday peak times). At this time a member of the ents team take children to one side for art and craft, which we found to be a great help. From nine onwards its a series of short 'prize winning' games and quizzes for the family, leading to a show at around ten pm which our 6 year old daughter begged to stay up for every night! Of course we let her - she was on holiday after all!!

Our caravan was very near to the club house and yes there was some noise between 10pm and midnight but nothing that stopped our two boys from sleeping - or us come to think of it - if you are holidaying to the full with kids, sunshine, beaches, swimming etc a little bit of noise won't interfere with anyone's ability to drop off!

The site, is however, quite hilly with some very steep paths but not too bad for access to the basic amenities ( shop, restaurant, club, reception) . We had some lovely day trips as the caravan park is in a very good location with the most amazing sea views from the upper level. Goodrington beach is about a 30 minute walk away or there's parking nearby if you wish to travel by car. The steam train also leaves from the station right upon Goodrington beach - so a nice day to be had just along the road.

Overall I have to say that it was one of the most enjoyable holidays we have had - especially for the kids. Of course it helped no-end that we had lovely sunny weather and avoided a lot of the crowds by holidaying in semi term-time (between the easter break and bank holiday a few days later) but , that said, we are still hoping to book again for the school holidays at the end of the month, funded by our own little bingo win on our next to last night- I think that says it all!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chereannej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2011

We decided too have a May Holiday break and stayed at the park for a 3 night weekend break.The park is very much on a hill and a lot of the caravans have a limited view.The caravan was tatty but was value for money no real attention too detail but i have too say the caravan was clean.Like all caravan beds it was very hard.
The park has a nice position but i think you do need a car too make the most of its location.The park can be noisey with deliveries at 6am too the shop and very noisy service buggies darting around the site all day.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daytriplad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2011

Date of stay April 29th - 2nd May

My partner and I booked this site through the daily mail wesbite and after reading some of the reviews on this site I was a bit worried concerned that we may have made a bad decision.

We had booked the basic bronze accommodation and was expecting a 1 or 2 bed caravan as only the two of use, however we were pleasantly surprised to find that we had been given a 3 bedroom bronze plus.

The caravan was right by the entrance by the pool and entertainment and had plenty of parking, a concrete space right outside and there was plenty of other spaces around, not all caravans have a space right outside and some have allocated spaces.

The caravan it self was spotless, clean from head to toe. We had decided not to pay for the linen and had taken our own douvet etc however the site had provide pillows and douvets who we could have just taken the covers.

The caravan its self had a TV with freeview, microwave, oven (which was soo clean it could pass for brand new), kettle, toaster and fridge. The lounge was spacious, the fire however we couldnt get to ignite but we didnt actually need it as we had taken our own little heater.

The pool we didnt use as it was too wet and cold during our stay but it looked nice enough.

The shop onsite was reasonable price being a premiere

The evening entrainment was a laugh and the drinks very reasonable price and infact cheaper than some of the other places in the area we had had a drink at.

The location is brilliant - right on the front with the steam train going past - the beach was a short walk away either along the main road or out on the coastal walk up the hill and back down the other side. Goodrington its self had a nice beach with lots for the kids to do.

We walked in to paignton itself which took about 30 mins and was a nice walk.

We didnt eat in the restaurant but if you were half board it looked as if you got to choose whatever you liked from the menu.

With this place you get what you pay for its not a haven park or butlins but its good for the money. If you want 5 stat luxury then I suggest you pay the £200 - £300 more and book your self in to somewhere else.

We would go back here and recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sunnysea83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews