We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Ratcliffe Guest House
Ranked #32 of 96 Paignton B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We have stayed here a few times now and always have an excellent stay, the rooms are Clean, the breakfast iexcellent, always well cooked and presented. Kev and Anna are lovely and always obliging and friendly. Brilliant location as near to beach and town just a few minutes away, will definetly be returning. Thank you

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lesleycairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
snotgoblin, Owner at The Ratcliffe Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

It was a pleasure glad you enjoyed your stay hope to see you again soon
:-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (125)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 125 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2013

This is our second visit to the Ratcliffe Guest House in Paignton. The rooms are very clean, freshly decorated and well equipped. The breakfast choices are wide ranging and everything that comes out of the kitchen is tasty and of a very high quality. Kev and Anna made us feel very welcome and we were sad to have to leave at the end of our stay. Thank You.

Room Tip: Room 2 is fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
snotgoblin, Owner at The Ratcliffe Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us again hope to see you again in the future .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

What a wonderful place to stay, this was our 3rd visit to the Ratcliffe and took our Grandson Harry with us this time. Kev and Anna are the perfect hosts nothing is ever to much for them, and wouldn't think of staying anywhere else. Rooms are nice and airy and spotless,and the breakfasts are brilliant. The location couldn't be better, and we will be returning in the very near future.

Room Tip: The location is excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rod B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
snotgoblin, Owner at The Ratcliffe Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Thank you Rod was nice to see you again and to meet Harry quite a character really appreciate you taking the time to review us on here hope to see you again soon all the best Kev Anna and Isabelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Stayed down in the Ratcliffe with my girlfriend just recently and found the place just awesome. Real chilled out place ran by Kev and Anna who are the nicest couple ever who really are ready to do anything for you to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Clean and spacious and best breaky ever!!! definatly gotta get away down there again soon with my mates!! definatly worth a visit as loads to do and see down there which is all dead close, cheers guys!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
snotgoblin, Owner at The Ratcliffe Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Thank you your very welcome Dan looking forward to the next time we seee you both
cheers for now kev and anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed at the Ratcliffe for 2 nights & really enjoyed our stay. Anna & Kev made us feel very welcome & nothing was too much trouble. Lovely room & perfect location on a a quiet side street near the beach. We'll be back next year!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ljpassco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
snotgoblin, Owner at The Ratcliffe Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

was great to see you again looking forward to the next time
thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Very nice family run hotel. Lovely and clean, excellent breakfast. Conveniently located in the centre of the town. Parking in multistorey carpark opposite hotel, although there is a loading/unloading bay outside the hotel. There is a stairlift to the first floor which was an added bonus for my elderly father. Would certainly stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
snotgoblin, Owner at The Ratcliffe Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

thank you we are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again all thr very best for 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We were attending a funeral in Paignton and came across the Ratcliffe on the internet (Aug 2011). It was very conveniently located right in the centre of the town. Although there is no immediate parking outside, except for unloading, a free space was provided for us in the multi-storey car park opposite.

We had the front double and it was very well appointed and large windows.. We were well looked after and would certainly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
snotgoblin, Owner at The Ratcliffe Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your kind words
hope to see you again in the future
kev anna and isabelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paignton hotels
0.2 mi away
The Torland Hotel
The Torland Hotel
#15 of 17 in Paignton
45 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Redcliffe Hotel
The Redcliffe Hotel
#6 of 17 in Paignton
405 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Haldon Guest House
The Haldon Guest House
#21 of 96 in Paignton
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Brampton Guesthouse
Brampton Guesthouse
#33 of 96 in Paignton
97 reviews
0.0 mi away
St. Weonards Hotel
St. Weonards Hotel
#29 of 96 in Paignton
140 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cleve Court Hotel
Cleve Court Hotel
#27 of 96 in Paignton
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ratcliffe Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ratcliffe Guest House

Address: 4 Garfield Road | Central, Paignton TQ4 6AU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Paignton
Price Range: $77 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A distinctive, late Victorian b&b, The Ratcliffe Guest House is run by Kevin and Anna Hunt. for our breakfast we use home cooked locally sourced produce a. We are situated in the heart of Paignton, Devon with the beach, town center and local amenities all within a few minutes stroll. Our goal is to make your stay in Paignton as enjoyable as possible. Book direct to save money! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Ratcliffe Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ratcliffe Guest House Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing