We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paignton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Ratcliffe Guest House
Ranked #29 of 96 Paignton B&B and Inns
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great weekend!”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Stayed down in the Ratcliffe with my girlfriend just recently and found the place just awesome. Real chilled out place ran by Kev and Anna who are the nicest couple ever who really are ready to do anything for you to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Clean and spacious and best breaky ever!!! definatly gotta get away down there again soon with my mates!! definatly worth a visit as loads to do and see down there which is all dead close, cheers guys!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
snotgoblin, Owner at The Ratcliffe Guest House, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you your very welcome Dan looking forward to the next time we seee you both
cheers for now kev and anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
47
40
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed at the Ratcliffe for 2 nights & really enjoyed our stay. Anna & Kev made us feel very welcome & nothing was too much trouble. Lovely room & perfect location on a a quiet side street near the beach. We'll be back next year!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ljpassco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
snotgoblin, Owner at The Ratcliffe Guest House, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
was great to see you again looking forward to the next time
thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Very nice family run hotel. Lovely and clean, excellent breakfast. Conveniently located in the centre of the town. Parking in multistorey carpark opposite hotel, although there is a loading/unloading bay outside the hotel. There is a stairlift to the first floor which was an added bonus for my elderly father. Would certainly stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
snotgoblin, Owner at The Ratcliffe Guest House, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
thank you we are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again all thr very best for 2013
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rickmansworth
1 review
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We were attending a funeral in Paignton and came across the Ratcliffe on the internet (Aug 2011). It was very conveniently located right in the centre of the town. Although there is no immediate parking outside, except for unloading, a free space was provided for us in the multi-storey car park opposite.

We had the front double and it was very well appointed and large windows.. We were well looked after and would certainly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
snotgoblin, Owner at The Ratcliffe Guest House, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your kind words
hope to see you again in the future
kev anna and isabelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neuchâtel, Neuchatel, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

I've stayed at The Ratcliffe twice now and it's the only place to stay at in S. Devon. Clean, friendly, comfortable, central and Anna & Steve are so genuine and helpful. Oh yes: the breakfasts ain't bad either. Michael from Switzerland.

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
snotgoblin, Owner at The Ratcliffe Guest House, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
thank you for sharing,hope to see you and your brother again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Lovely B&B, Warm, welcoming, comfortable, and probably the best breakfast in the world! In a fab location - tucked away but close enough to walk to the beach, cinema, shops, pubs, train station etc. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julie118693
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
snotgoblin, Owner at The Ratcliffe Guest House, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
So very glad you enjoyed your stay
thank you for taking the time to write your review
would love to see you both again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

just come back from spending a wonderful week at the ratcliffe guest house. We had a very warm welcome ,the room we stayed in was excellent it was cleaned every day with fresh towels supplied.. The guest house is very central to the beach ,shops ,park and all public transport We have been staying here for the past three years and i would highly recommend it .My hubby would recommend the great breakfast. The owners Kev and Anna make you feel like part of the family. One great holiday had by both of us. .

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cathy1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
snotgoblin, Owner at The Ratcliffe Guest House, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you Cath it was our pleasure your always welcome hope to see you both next year
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paignton hotels
0.3 mi away
The Torland Hotel
The Torland Hotel
#17 of 17 in Paignton
42 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sonachan House
Sonachan House
#6 of 96 in Paignton
232 reviews
0.1 mi away
Merriedale Guest House
Merriedale Guest House
#24 of 96 in Paignton
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Roslyn Guest House
Roslyn Guest House
#34 of 96 in Paignton
60 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Torbay Sands Hotel
The Torbay Sands Hotel
#21 of 96 in Paignton
131 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cherry Tree Hotel
Cherry Tree Hotel
#16 of 96 in Paignton
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ratcliffe Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ratcliffe Guest House

Property: The Ratcliffe Guest House
Address: 4 Garfield Road | Central, Paignton TQ4 6AU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Paignton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A distinctive, late Victorian b&b, The Ratcliffe Guest House is run by Kevin and Anna Hunt. for our breakfast we use home cooked locally sourced produce a. We are situated in the heart of Paignton, Devon with the beach, town center and local amenities all within a few minutes stroll. Our goal is to make your stay in Paignton as enjoyable as possible. Book direct to save money! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Ratcliffe Guest House Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing