We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome weekend!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paignton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Ratcliffe Guest House
Ranked #31 of 100 Paignton B&B and Inns
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome weekend!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2012

Had a fantastic time staying in the Ratcliffe down in good old paignton! Its right near the seafront and more importantly very close to some great bars, Kev and anna couldnt have done anymore for me and are a great laugh. 10 outta 10 for there breakfasts too! will be down again real soon i hope!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
42
39
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2012

very friendly family, and perfect hosts. Ideal location for seafront, shops and pubs.Comfortable rooms, and a brilliant breakfast. Stayed here with my wife while visiting the area, and will certainly be coming back.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thailishpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2011

Perfect hosts. Perfect location. Fantastic breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BirminghamSparky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
snotgoblin, Owner at The Ratcliffe Guest House, responded to this review, December 20, 2011
Hi hope you have a merry xmas and new year and thank you for taking the time to write this review hope to see you again in the new year all the very best Kev Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2011

from the moment you ring the door bell of the ratcliffe guest house you are sure of a very friendly welcome from the start of your stay to the very end.
kev and anna. make you feel so very welcome. the rooms are great, food is excellent ive stayed twice this year already and have book in for next year.


Have been stayint at the ratcliffe now for thae last three years. i wish i could stay there ever day.

if you let this go, then you would have missed out of a great break.
dont take my word for it go and check it out for yourselfs.

Final word. enjoy your stay. we did.

pete Bristol England. 26/11/11

Room Tip: I must say all the rooms i have stayed in our wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2011

Very very friendly and welcoming family who made you feel at home on arrival. Really lovely B&B that is clearly looked after in a perfect location as its a 5 minute walk to sea front, bars, shops and food places. Had a good nights sleep and woke up to a bloody lovely well needed full english breakfast :)
One of the best things about our visit that made it so different and that little bit better than any other B&B is Kevs amazing photography skills and doing that for guests i thought was a brilliant idea! Me and my boyfriend loved are pictures! And saved HUNDREDS if we went to a proper company and there would be no difference! For all these reasons we would definitely recommend and return for future stays!

Thank you very much Anna, Kev and Isabelle
Hopefully see you all soon
Kelly and Lewis

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2011

Very comfortable spotless rooms with tv and ensuite bathroom/shower.Great breakfast(enough to fill the biggest of appetites)We were made very welcome by Kev and Anna and would highly recommend The Ratcliffe if you are looking to visit Paignton.A very enjoyable stay all round.Thanks again Dave Theresa Pete(Mucker) and Lisa

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2011

Just to say how much we liked the photographs, they were really lovely and very professional. A really nice memory of a fantastic holiday.. We had a very enjoyable stay and would highly recommend your B and B to all. The breakfast was great the the rooms was very comfortable. Thanks for making us feel at home and for a great time Best wishes Margaret and Dennis Morris- Bristol

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paignton hotels
0.2 mi away
Cherry Tree Hotel
Cherry Tree Hotel
#19 of 100 in Paignton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sea Spray House
Sea Spray House
#48 of 100 in Paignton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Ambassador
The Ambassador
#17 of 100 in Paignton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Blue Waters Lodge
Blue Waters Lodge
#1 of 100 in Paignton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
0.1 mi away
Garfield Lodge
Garfield Lodge
#61 of 100 in Paignton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bronte Hotel
Bronte Hotel
#66 of 100 in Paignton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ratcliffe Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ratcliffe Guest House

Property: The Ratcliffe Guest House
Address: 4 Garfield Road | Central, Paignton TQ4 6AU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 100 B&Bs / Inns in Paignton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A distinctive, late Victorian b&b, The Ratcliffe Guest House is run by Kevin and Anna Hunt. for our breakfast we use home cooked locally sourced produce and home made bread. We are situated in the heart of Paignton, Devon with the beach, town center and local amenities all within a few minutes stroll. Our goal is to make your stay in Paignton as enjoyable as possible.As an added bonus if you book 4 nights or more you can have a free portrait shoot and a free 10*8inch print ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Ratcliffe Guest House Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing