We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant site but beware of sloping pitches”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Whitehill Country Park
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pleasant site but beware of sloping pitches”
Reviewed June 14, 2014

Stayed in a tent during a quiet season and loved the space and views. However I wouldn't like to camp there if busy as many of the pitches are on quite a slope. The electric hook-up ones have the best part of the site, flat and sheltered by the hedge.
It was a great place for the children as there are several play areas and you can walk into the woods to explore. The washing facilties were clean and the pool pleasant though a bit cold in early June.
Lots to do in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a flat pitch!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    101
    56
    18
    9
See reviews for
246
82
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2014

We booked a glamping weekend with Whitehill Country Park as an impromptu weekend away as a family. Not expecting much we drove down a small country lane to be greeted by a buzzing country park filled with families having fun, enjoying food in the bar and swimming in the pool.

As we drove through the park to our pods we realised we had struck gold!

The staff was incredibly friendly and attentive. Even though I asked 101 questions before hand i always received a nice polite answer!

The pods we rented were fantastic, large, clean and tidy; the area was peaceful surrounded by woodland and other campers. My family and I had three pods between us sleeping 4 in one and two in the others. Although you could easily fit 10 or so in for a drink if the weather failed but we were lucky enough to have sunshine.

With two children under 7 in tow we were a little worried at keeping them occupied, but with a swimming pool and an array of play parks to visit they were more than happy. Just the idea of glamping kept them occupied!

Last but not least the facilities, water was close by as were the bins. Toilets were immaculate and warm without a spider in sight (what you usually imagine when camping!).

We cannot thank you enough for such a great weekend, we are already planning our return as everything was completely beyond our expectations!

We highly recommend Glamping at Whitehill Country Park!!

Room Tip: Glamping is a fantastic different way to spend time away. You do not need chairs or tables (we made...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LLB7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Stayed here Whitsun week plus a few days, Staff are extremely helpful on arrival, especially Helen and Nikki in reception who will go out of their way to make you feel welcome. We were shown to our very large and well kept pitch by another helpful chap in a golf buggy.

The park itself is exceptionally clean and well maintained, surrounded by beautiful scenery.

We have 2 young children who were more than happy to spend all day on the park and all night in the clubhouse.

Our whole family enjoyed the evening entertainment, with John and Bridget, we even won a couple of quizzes, which were fab. The bingo is short but for very good money, so the kids don't have to be quiet for too long. The kiddies have an hour or two of games and other activities on an evening also, which they enjoyed and forced us to go EVERY NIGHT!

if you want to go off site, Totnes is the place to be on a Tuesday, they have Elizabethan day with an old fashioned market.

Paignton, Torquay and Brixham are also a short drive away, which are lovely towns.

Woodlands Park is also deffinately worth a visit if you have children, with loads of rides and parks for them to go wild on, if you book online you get 7 days entrance for the price of 1, we went 3 times in total!

Overall I would deffinately recommend whitehill, in fact I have done and friends have visited and had a great time too. See you soon whitehill x

Room Tip: Pitches by the park can be a little noisy on an evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank babyface20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

Liked the site staff were very helpful but I was very disappointed that on arrival there was no café or bar or takeaway open this was on the Monday and Tuesday and Wednesday nothing open at all til 6 pm when bar was open and no entertainment all week like I said nice site but nothing on it so won't be back

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Clive F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeavons_Family1, Manager at Whitehill Country Park, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to review Whitehill Country Park. We are delighted to hear that you were pleased with the warm reception which we pride ourselves on giving all guests to our family-run holiday park. With regards to the opening times of our Hayloft Café, we are sorry that on this occasion you were disappointed that this wasn’t open longer. We would like to take this opportunity to remind our guests to refer to the Facilities page of our dedicated website for further details on all our facility opening times throughout the season. Our Hayloft Café is open daily during July and August, and weekends only out of season in May, June and September. Our Hayloft Bar, however, is open daily throughout the season together with our Country Shop which is stocked with a wealth of locally-sourced food. We hope to see you back at Whitehill Country Park in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2014

We have just landed back in West Yorkshire after a two week stay at Whitehill. Our pitch was first class, and the facilities are very clean. In our first week, I was surprised with the amount of people who return year after year. Every staff member I had a conversation with was very helpful. The bus service outside the site is very helpful too. This site has a wonderful setting, it's exactly what it says "countryside holidays by the sea".

We will defo be back, only downside was the travel, far too many variable speed cameras from start to finish.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Salty_Sea_Dog2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Great venue for camping/caravanning. Great service. Everything that you require close to hand. Pool (open) did not use as too cold but looked very clean. Facilities all cleaned regularly. Would recommend and will return

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle upon tyne
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

just back from a weeks stay at whitehill. On arrival we were greeted by a very friendly helpful member of staff who quickly checked us in and showed us on our way. We opted to stay in the Kestrel Lodge as it had its own decking with picnic bench. We were not disappointed very clean and comfy with all home from home amenities.The whole park was spotless and well tended with lovely clean swimming pool. Very easy to get out and about into paignton,torquay etc.Went on the steam train then ferry to Dartmouth and my autistic son enjoyed this immensely.Also visit to the zoo was a good day out.If you are considering going to paignton I would recommend Whitehill to anyone if its tents/tourers or one of their caravans or lodges you wont be disappointed.All staff I had contact with were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: try a lodge you have nice decking area to sit out on
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lindy30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paignton
2.7 mi away
Travelodge Paignton Seafront
3.1 mi away
Preston Sands Hotel
Preston Sands Hotel
#11 of 17 in Paignton
277 reviews
2.3 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#5 of 17 in Paignton
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#1 of 17 in Paignton
324 reviews
22.7 mi away
Langstone Manor Holiday Park & Cottages
14.0 mi away
Lady's Mile Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitehill Country Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitehill Country Park

Property: Whitehill Country Park
Address: Stoke Road, Paignton TQ4 7PF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Paignton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run Whitehill Country Park is nestled in rolling Devon hills making it the perfect spot to get back to nature with its endless walking trails and quaint on-site facilities. The dog-friendly holiday park boasts camping pods, boutique holiday caravans with hot tubs, luxury lodges, touring and camping and a wealth of on-site facilities offering something for all ages. Situated in 40 acres of glorious grounds, the surrounding fields are home to 130 species of flowering plants and ferns, with a private woodland providing perfect family walks, plus Letterbox and Nature Trails, outdoor heated pool, Shire Craft Centre, outdoor play areas, table tennis, amusement arcade, pool table and much more. On-site facilities also include a Hayloft Bar and Terrace, Hayloft Café and Takeaway and Country Shop selling a delicious range of local produce. In the evenings, enjoy music from local musicians or head to The Granary for children's discos and more. Plus in the daytime take part in pony riding, birds of prey demonstrations and poolside BBQs to name just a few. Situated in a perfect setting to explore the English Riviera, Whitehill Country Parks is close to many picturesque beaches together with a wealth of attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Whitehill Country Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitehill Country Park Hotel Paignton
Whitehill Country Park Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing