We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Whitehill Country Park
Certificate of Excellence
Fareham, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“great stay”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

just returned from Whitehall from a 4 night stay in our campervan, we choose pitch 184 which was hard standing, alittle on the slope within great orchard field - whilst its the furthest away it was choses as prev reviews said newest toilet/shower block. We were not disappointed - huge shower cubicles which were kept immaculate, a lovely bath in one of the family rooms( though did visit other fields shower rooms and they were equally clean and well kept.) staff were very friendly and keen to help, prices in bar and cafe etc were very good for a captive audience.
site was clean and tidy - no use of the pool as weather very cold, great bus links and only £5.25 for a day rider which got you to all areas (£17.50 weekly) brixham/torquay ferry is only £2.00 return - recommend babbecombes hamleys fish and chips - they are 1st in southwest and 2nd in the uk, £5.95 for med t/away but well worth it - a great stay whitehill - thankyou.

Room Tip: ask for great orchard and flat pitch as they do vary
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    101
    56
    17
    9
See reviews for
245
80
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lyme Regis, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Chose Whitehill as not far from home & first night out in our campervan & was impressed all round! The weather was wet, which is normal for the UK, but the park was well looked after & what staff we met were polite & very good at their jobs - a credit to the park! Shower block clean & lovely hot water; shop large & stocked large variety of food & gifts & the bar was clean & tidy! Barmaid very good despite having trouble with the lager pumps, coped brilliantly! Would certainly recommend & hope to go back again!! Thank you!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaynets59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 6, 2013

This is only our second camping holiday but we have stayed at lots of caravan parks. We loved Whitehills everything was spotless and the grounds very well looked after. The evening entertainment was great and for quite a small park they had a lot of facilities. The pool was freezing though maybe the heating wasn't working or could be that it had just opened for the season not sure but we will be going back there hopefully this year.

Room Tip: If camping go for the middle field as we lost the sun quite early in the evening
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thedaviesguys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bromwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

just got back from whitehill country park after spending a week in their " robin g" caravan

which was a little bit old but up to par with others we have stayed in before.

my wife complained about the bed mattress being worn out and in need of replacement but we overcame this by laying duvet covers on which made it a little more comfortable.
also the heating in the caravan was not really good enough for the size. no heaters in small rooms or shower unit

overall the site itself was very good and had security guards on the gate all the week

this site i feel was geared more to campers than us but no complaints
would stay there again and recommend to friends

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Perfect arrival to the camp site reception very helpful , we were taken to our space by someone ona golf buggy , also very helpful. The camping space for our trailer tent was of good size although was covered in what looked like red road grit, which was a nightmare it got everywhere inside outside on clothes on shoes, whilst we know that the pitches need to be maintained , im not sure this was the best solution, other pitches didnt appear to have as this or as much of it on them. The new toilet block was lovely spotless and practical with the family changing room. The old toilet block was clean but dated. On the first night we took advantage of an offer from the cafe meals however we were told that the cafe was closing and would need to eat in the bar as they wanted to clean and close the cafe, with our 12month the bar wasnt really the ideal place especially when they didnt have any high chairs in there for him so we had to juggle eating and holding him and trying to feed him- not at all family friendly!! Lovely pool and quite a well stocked shop, we didnt use the night facilities although could hear the saturday night kids disco from our pitch a field away. The last visit we made to the cafe was on our morning of departure where we purchased the breakfasts, really nice meal however although they did have high chairs i would not have let my child sit in it as it was filthy dirty, i dont think that these have ever been cleaned and would not put my son in it, also the chef locked the doors whilst we were in the cafe and then went (at the time we didnt know where) so we had to go out through the kitchen door as we couldnt see him and he didnt answer when we called, he was only in the stock cupboard outside, but all the same im sure its not customary to lock your customers in without telling them where you are going! On the whole a good site reception great , ground staff and cleaners great, cafe and staff could do with a bit attention, everything was too much effort, barstaff really friendly. Location is absolutley brilliant right in the middle of all the main attractions and locations on the torbay coast! We would stop here again but wouldnt use the cafe/takeaway.

Room Tip: Great Orchard Camping field is the lovely flat and close to the new shower blocks
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank srh19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire J, Manager at Whitehill Country Park, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and will pass your comments about the pitch on to our grounds staff. Some of our pitches have required a little extra maintenance due to the weather this year, and the sand and soil in our part of Devon is renowned for being very red. We are glad you enjoyed your breakfast, but are sorry to hear that you experienced difficulties whilst eating in the cafe. We will pass your comments on to the cafe manager regarding this, and also address the availability and cleanliness of the highchairs. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hadleigh, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

I have been coming to whitehills since my daughter was 5 she's 16 now. My mum found this site a year or 2 before i started coming as it was she who recommended it. It is, i think a brilliant site and have recommended it to other family members who have stayed there and very much enjoyed. My mum and dad love whitehills, especially my mum who looks upon it as her 2nd home (my parents are there at the moment). My mum gets withdrawal symptoms if she doesnt get there at least once a year. I would recommend anyone to give whitehills a try, i think, in my mind it is a great place to stay, nice and quiet surroundings but only a 5 minute drive from the main road to get to brixham, paignton, torquay, goodrington etc.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We have just returned from a 6 night stay at Whitehill. What a fantastic place. We asked for a pitch that was away from the clubhouse and not too hilly. We got situated right next to the playpark which was great as our children could have some freedom and we could see them from our tent, The outdoor pool was a big hit and it felt like we were abroad on a hot day. The staff were friendly, entertainment was good for the kids. Food was good although choice limited. More healthier choice especially for children. A good central place for visiting local places. We found gem of a beach just outside Paignton called Broadsands, a lovely cove, rock pools and beach, unspoilt with only one cafe. We had one day of really bad rain and as we stepped out of our tent bedroom it was like walking on a waterbed. The pitches would benefit from having soe hardstanding material. Toilets and showers although a little dated were kept clean and tidy. One bonus was we never had to queue for a shower as we have done in many places.

We had a thoroughly enjoyable stay, a bonus was the laundry room, i put 3 loads on whilst the kids were in the pool, dried it whilst we ate tea. Result no washing when i got home!!

Will definately be back and would reccommend to anyone.

Thank you Whiltehill .

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Webster1835
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paignton
2.7 mi away
Travelodge Paignton Seafront
3.1 mi away
Preston Sands Hotel
Preston Sands Hotel
#10 of 17 in Paignton
277 reviews
2.3 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#5 of 17 in Paignton
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.7 mi away
Langstone Manor Holiday Park & Cottages
15.0 mi away
Cofton Holidays
Cofton Holidays
#1 of 12 in Dawlish
845 reviews
14.0 mi away
Lady's Mile Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitehill Country Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitehill Country Park

Property: Whitehill Country Park
Address: Stoke Road, Paignton TQ4 7PF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Paignton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run Whitehill Country Park is nestled in rolling Devon hills making it the perfect spot to get back to nature with its endless walking trails and quaint on-site facilities. The dog-friendly holiday park boasts camping pods, boutique holiday caravans with hot tubs, luxury lodges, touring and camping and a wealth of on-site facilities offering something for all ages. Situated in 40 acres of glorious grounds, the surrounding fields are home to 130 species of flowering plants and ferns, with a private woodland providing perfect family walks, plus Letterbox and Nature Trails, outdoor heated pool, Shire Craft Centre, outdoor play areas, table tennis, amusement arcade, pool table and much more. On-site facilities also include a Hayloft Bar and Terrace, Hayloft Café and Takeaway and Country Shop selling a delicious range of local produce. In the evenings, enjoy music from local musicians or head to The Granary for children's discos and more. Plus in the daytime take part in pony riding, birds of prey demonstrations and poolside BBQs to name just a few. Situated in a perfect setting to explore the English Riviera, Whitehill Country Parks is close to many picturesque beaches together with a wealth of attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Whitehill Country Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitehill Country Park Hotel Paignton
Whitehill Country Park Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing