We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic taste!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Himal Tandoori

Himal Tandoori
Ranked #43 of 179 Restaurants in Paignton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $24
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Nepali
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Winner 2012 and 2013 2015 trip advisor customer excellence award and winner 2012 and 2013 just-eat tried and tasted award.Family owned business since 2006. Started as a Take-away but with huge demand of the locals we opened our door as a Fully Licensed restaurant on september 12th 2008.
Totnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic taste!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

My family and I have eaten at the majority of Indians in Paignton now, and I have to say that, for us, the curries we had at Himal tandoori were the best we have eaten for a long time. We had a selection of 5 curries, one recommended to us by a member of staff, and each curry had its own unique flavour and the meat was cooked perfectly. The Nepalese dish recommended to us was absolutely delicious; it is definitely worth trying a new dish here.

The hospitality was impeccable; the waiter who served us was attentive and polite and the manager/ owner who introduced himself to us at the end of the meal, was extremely welcoming.

A fantastic restaurant/ takeaway worthy of a visit!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JenChris83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
himaltandoori, Manager at Himal Tandoori, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Thank you very much for our valuable review and thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you and the family. we are honoured to know that all of you enjoyed the meal. Hope to see you again at our restaurant or expect to get some take-away or delivery business from you as well. Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    30
    12
    8
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
280 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Unfortunately, not very good”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

We ordered a delivery from here after it being highly recommended to us by a friend. We weren't very impressed with it. Our Tikka massala had ALOT of coconut in it, it made it very sweet and quick thick which we have never had it like before. The rice was also quite watery. However, the nan bread and the sag poneer was nice. We felt that it wasn't good for the amount of money we paid. This is a shame because I know people speak very highly of this place, so we would like to try it again in the future to see if it was just a 'one off' or maybe it's better to actually go into the restaurant.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank buzpops123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
himaltandoori, Manager at Himal Tandoori, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for your valuable review and thank you for trying us based on your friends recommendation. sorry to hear about the Tikka masala being dry and too sweet but unfortunately that is one of our signature dish and we sell more tikka masala than any other curry in our restaurant . hope you give us another chance for the masala again and ask the order taker not to make thick that way you wont get much coconut in it. You also said the rice was watery but what i think is the butter that goes on our pilau rice might have made you thinks its watery. Anyway no excuse for any mistake but as you said you are going to give us another chance and hope I wont let you down. see you soon . cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

Great food, good service. Waiter recommended food and we loved it. Very helpful
Will definately be going back

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank l_merrigan85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
himaltandoori, Manager at Himal Tandoori, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you very much for your valuable review and glad to know that our recommended food was enjoyable for you. hope to serve you again with some different dish next time. Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fantastic every time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

Just finished some more yummy food from here. Love the choice and flavours all topped off with great personal service. Whether you eat in pick up a takeaway or get it delivered you will be back for more. As for value for money its spot on. Not sure about trying something just ask.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank radiosw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
himaltandoori, Manager at Himal Tandoori, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thank you very much for your valuable feed back.We try our level best to make every customer happy and improve our quality of food and service in every way we possibly can. Thank you again for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Had a fantastic meal with fantastic friendly service, will come back again on a regular basis, Nepalese dishes are a speciality but can cater for every pallete. Would highly recommend to any local or anyone travelling to the area. Thankyou Siraj and the team.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank SW2287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
himaltandoori, Manager at Himal Tandoori, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you very much for your valuable feedback. Thanks for giving us the opportunity to serve you again and again. hope to see you again soon in future. cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Himal Tandoori also viewed

Paignton, English Riviera
 
Paignton, English Riviera
Paignton, English Riviera
 
Paignton, English Riviera
Paignton, English Riviera
 

Been to Himal Tandoori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing