We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relaxing week”
Review of Beverley Holidays

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Beverley Holidays
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 13, 2014

We have been coming to this caravan site for many years now and to be honest we wouldn't go to any other when we go to Devon. We have stayed as a Sun holiday guest and as a full paying resident and both ways offer you excellent value for money. It's a family run park and in my opinion they don't rip you off like some larger run chains. We have just returned from a 5 night stay which as usual was second to none. Checking in was straight forward and efficient. Staff were friendly and helpful. The caravan was a new one and as always was clean and had everything you would need for a short stay. Where we were situated was excellent, we were just behind the club house and outdoor pool. Even being so close to amenities it was still quiet. We ate several times at upperdeck bar and restaurant which offers a good range menu and average priced food. Can't fault the food, always well cooked and good size portions. Although we didn't travel with children you could see that they put on good entertainment for them. The holiday park has two sites which has a club house on both, providing different kind of entertainment to suit all needs. We tended to use oceans bar on Beverly Bay as this is a quieter venue and is where sport is shown. Excellent base if you want to explore this part of Devon.

Room Tip: The Beverly Bay site is the quieter of the two sites
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank jbnap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (884)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

614 - 620 of 884 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2014

This site has been THE destination for my family - all my extended family too - since around 1965. We tried other sites now and again for an odd week but nothing compared. We liked the fact it wasn't a brand....we weren't being 'sold' caravans at every opportunity and the entertainments team made the holiday for us. Daytime games, competitions, fun runs, rambles, quizzes, bingo.....you could spend the whole two weeks and never leave the site and make lots of new friends - and we have a lot of friends now through our years at Beverley.
We returned again this year with our trusty touring caravan and our youngest daughter. We got the same pitch as last year with a superb view - and discovered 2 little bundles of dog poop on the grass beside our pitch - despite it being a dog free site. I was a little irked by the sign for the static caravan sales at the site entrance but tried not to worry- this became annoying after receiving nearly daily emails doing the same throughout our stay there - that's when I could get 3G reception.
I purchased a wifi card at the cost of £24 for the first week but had to complain as I could only access the Meadowside Lodges wifi. Despite it sating you could buy a prepaid card for this access a person in reception said no and refunded my £24. No apology or even attempt at customer service was made.
Hubby popped to the gym for some exercise which was stated as being £2.50 for a one off visit on the website. Despite it being the same tired old equipment we have used there for years he had to receive a gym induction and the price had been upped to £3.
We popped upstairs for dinner and were disappointed to see the same tired old menu as the last few years . The food was satisfactory , tables needed a good clean and the decor is in need of a spruce up. The service itself was quick enough but marred by my husband missing the cheese off his burger and getting it returned with a handful of pre grated cheese on it - not melted.
The main gate for the outdoor pool is now locked at all times and you must show your passes every time you enter via the indoor pool. This does not give off good vibes believe me. My 76 yr old Glaswegian mother was told this was deter 'kids from the local scheme coming in' - she's obviously neither local or a kid but was sent back to her caravan to get her pass.
The toilet blocks down beside the tennis court were our main location for showers etc. the showers all time out after approximately 15 seconds and are tepid at best. There is a persistent smell of stale, rotting hair from the drains which never seems to be resolved and the showers both here and in the amenities beside the play park would highly benefit from a good scrub or steam clean a few times a week as there is black mould around the bottom of most shower cubicles and the floors are generally a bit nasty to walk on.
The day time entertainment and a good portion of the evening entertainment was no existent . When we asked why we were told that everything would be on during the high season. Every year we go the same first two weeks in July and pay a lot of cash to do so. This year however we pay a high price in what is now considered low season. High season is when ' the English kids finish school' - 18th July. Considering the sheer volume of Scottish visitors ( and long standing return ones at that) you would think this would be taken into account. Our trade seems to matter very little now to the Jeavons family despite our loyalty as Scotland does not even warrant a place on the feedback form asking 'Where do you live?'. The club across the road has only bingo or a quiz then nothing for the rest of the night. The Starlight Bar has had a whole new programme put in place which is, in a word, utter dross!
The 'entertainment' for the kids was nightly games of corners and a dance or two with Beverley Bear. The entertainment team which has increased in size has decreased in efficiency to entertain. One new female entertainer with long blonde hair pointed at a child one night and said ' Who does THIS belong to?' In previous years even when they were down to a team of just four every night was full of fun and laughs. Instead we were advised to 'get a drink' while loud dance music was played on a loop for 15 minutes or so. This happened several times. The live music is great but there just isn't long enough of it for anyone to maybe dance or enjoy it. We caught one cabaret which was an excellent comedian who we thoroughly enjoyed. I took part in a music quiz one night ( as not many were taking part and I really felt for the young team struggling to get the room going) only to be mocked for my Scottish accent on every answer I gave by your sax player. The team all wear uniforms and the personal touch that made Beverley Park special before has gone completely.
The park itself is beautiful, views you cannot buy, lovely pools both indoor and out and the area your in is just idyllic and perfectly located for days out for all ages and interests.
Our family ( and some years this has numbered up to 50 in total) are very undecided on whether we will return to Beverley Park. All feedback and complaints made this year seemed to fall on deaf ears - all our friends felt their feedback was completely disregarded and I know my feedback form has not been acknowledged in any way.
Beverley Park was a second home to my family, myself and my kids over many, many years - a place where ' everyone knew your name'. It seems sad that it is headed the same way as the vile chain sites that we have avoided for so long. Please Jeavons family take the old guards feedback on board and shake things up or you're in danger of losing your Scottish visitors which number many .

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank Lostinmy30s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeavons_Family1, Owner at Beverley Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your recent stay at Beverley Holidays. All customer comments are regularly monitored and passed on to department heads as part of our dedicated Customer Service Programme and we’ll be sure to pass your comments on. We are delighted to hear that you have been visiting our park since 1965 but sorry that you were disappointed on this occasion. Beverley Holidays is still very much a family-run holiday park, now in the third generation of the Jeavons family, and we are proud of our ‘one big happy family’ feel which many of our guests comment on. Our team are passionate about offering unsurpassed customer service which recently resulted in a TripAdvisor Certificate Of Excellence Award 2014 and Devon Tourism Silver Award 2013. We are always heavily investing in our facilities and entertainment to ensure we offer something for all ages and tastes. We kindly ask that all guests show their passes when using our on-site facilities such as the swimming pool and entertainment bars - a policy which has been in place for many years and was introduced with our customers in mind. As mentioned, we monitor all customer feedback carefully and as a result we are reviewing our high season dates for next year, and have amended our Feedback Survey to include Scotland which was cut off due to a printing error. Thank you again for your feedback and please don’t hesitate to contact us on info@beverley-holidays.co.uk if you have any further queries regarding your recent stay. We very much hope to see you back at Beverley Holidays soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014

We've recently arrived home from a few days away at Beverley Bay, part of the Beverley Park complex, we booked through the Sun Holiday and upgraded the caravan, it was a lovely clean van in a quiet part of the site though I don't think any part is noisey. We used the indoor pool and sauna at Beverley Park and watched the footie at the Bay both parks we're well kept clean and staffed with really friendly people, we had snacks which were tasty and the bar prices were on par with pubs. It was a lovely break, stress free just what my husband and I needed.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank grannychick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014

So here we go again another short break for me, my wife and our 8 year old son, as usual we arrived and were warmly greeted by Debbie in reception who we have got to know over the last 6 years, what a great advert for Beverley Park always has time to talk and ask how we are.
The caravan was great, clean and tidy the site was well maintained as usual and the pools excellent.
The entertainment was good we will miss Tony and was very sad to hear that he had passed away he had a certain flair that will be missed by us and our son.
The entertainment now all in one place seemed to work, which was a bit of surprise as we didn't think it would, Chris is as energetic as ever and the kids disco and games went down well with our son.
The only confusing point I wont call it a negative, and this did confuse our son is why are the Beverley bear toys in the shop in blue indicating a boy bear yet when Beverley bear comes on stage each night it is definitely a girl in pink ?

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
Thank MCS2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

As a new customer of Beverley Holidays you would be none the wiser but this place used to be a day and evening experience. Completely gone for this season are the daytime competitions that pulled the holidaymakers together and made strangers friends. No Sunday quiz upstairs, no jnr or adult pool, darts, table tennis or Cayman golf competitions and no Cancer research fun run. Swimming galas and family days at the sports field are long a thing of the past too.
Sadly the evening entertainments program with the integration of what was the Ashvale team appears to be going the same way. Where once the fun and games, the music and the dancing (there is virtually no opportunity to get up and dance to the band playing anymore) we now have a kids party game or two for an hour until the back of eight followed by some conspicuous time filling for another 90 mins or so until the "Team Show" or Cabaret comes on. Honestly if I have to sit through another 10 or 15 mins stint of dead time in the Starlight bar with nothing happening other than being played some random tracks from a computer while the lighting rig gets a workout I may scream (here for another week so there is a good chance).
All of this is bad enough but its made more obvious when the team shows actually get going (about the same time the younger kids are getting restless and need their beds) and it becomes clear that fresh talent has came across the road with that integration and the dross of hastily made up "Game Shows" and dead time is totally unnecessary. Work and money has clearly went in to the shows with changeable scenery backdrops and multiple costumes, the Sunday and Thursday shows with Chris and Roger banging out the soundtrack as the rest did their thing had all of our party impressed for the hour they were on. The only other part of the package that is actually entertaining is the "Virtual Jukebox" which sadly only gets 45 mins of time allocation a week but served to show the talents of the 2014 year well, Matt in particular is a strong frontman to the proper musicians of the operation.
Elsewhere things have slipped a little more too. The now unmanned arcade was always a collection of older machines carried by four decent pool tables, which are now two tired pool tables which both had out of order signs on them earlier in the week along with the out of order dance machine. Also, twice now I've watched kids loose money in malfunctioning machines, the second one just ad security were doing a brief walk through. The guard could only suggest the kid came back in the morning at opening time to try and catch someone! The cafe next door are clearly fed up ad they have a sign up to the effect that they can't help with the arcade.
Were the upperdeck a Wetherspoons it would make sense, the tables are certainly as sticky and the food is about the same quality but the prices are much higher. The Waterside at Goodrington is a ten min walk down the hill and about 60% of the prices for better food on their 2 for £12 deal. The takeaway (when its open) is also poor, a burger in a bun is just that, not a lettuce leaf or sauce offered or included and £8 for a 10" pizza with two toppings is just too much.
On the bright side the park itself is still very well maintained, a problem with one of our parties vans was dealt with in under an hour on a Sunday and the reception team greeted us with a smile.
Torbay is a lovely area and we'll certainly keep coming back to it but while we usually book our next stay on Beverley before our departure I'm sat in my caravan just now with no great urgency or desire to visit reception with deposit in hand.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
5  Thank aly-rs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeavons_Family1, Owner at Beverley Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at Beverley Holidays. We are sorry that you were disappointed with our entertainment on this occasion. We would also like to take this opportunity to inform our customers that our high-season daytime activities kicked off on Saturday including something for the whole family such as talent show competitions, adult pool and darts contests, open mic sessions and much more. Our high-season entertainment shows will begin this Friday offering an exciting blend for all ages including an ever-changing star cabaret act and amazing nightly shows from our in-house team. Our showteam and band have worked hard to ensure we offer something for all ages and tastes, and our new entertainment programme has been met with rave reviews from our customers. We are always monitoring and reviewing all feedback and will communicate your thoughts to all the relevant department managers. Thank you again for taking the time to provide us with your feedback which is always gratefully received. We very much hope to welcome you back to Beverley Holidays soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

We are regular visitors having made our way from Scotland for the first time in 1987. Since then the entertainment has always been one of the park's finest features. I am sitting writing this review from the caravan as what's on offer at the club is dismal. We brought our own kids and now are bringing our granddaughter who is now 10. Last year we were here for 3 weeks with her and the entertainment kept her very amused. The weather was amazing but despite this the team were present and out and about during the day. They had the kids involved in fun runs, darts, pool and table tennis competitions during the day. At night time there was something for everyone. Special praise to Chris who always got everyone involved- both adults and children. He provides the personal touch, which sadly doesn't exist anymore. It's obvious to everyone he is being sidelined for more favoured employees, which is clearly an ill advised judgement being made by someone somewhere. You have lots of competition in the surrounding areas and plenty of other sites who will take our money so you may want to listen to what your loyal customers are telling you. Last year there was a talent show offered for both kids and adults. My granddaughter was one of those in the show. We were here at the very same time as we are here just now. Yesterday the kids asked the entertainment team if they could provide a talent show as nothing was being offered to them this year. They eventually agreed but said that this wasn't normal as they were here in the low season and these shows are usually only put on in the high season when the English schools have their holidays. They said to the kids that they "were going to let them off this time" and let them provide the show. On one hand they made three young girls happy but on the other hand they were quite offended at being told they were being let off by being allowed to do something which was provided this time last year. This new attitude is not good for customer relations especially from north of the border who are currently significant in number at this time of the year. To top it all off tonight we noticed we were being charged different prices for the same drinks at the bar. When my husband raised the issue with a member of staff he acknowledged that the man standing next to him was being charged less but could offer no explanation. All he was told was to speak to the manager. At best this is just chaotic at worst dishonest.
It is with regret that I have to bring these feelings to the attention to others on this forum but I hope that perhaps someone who cares in
management may sit up and
take heed. We don't want to loose you as our favourite British holiday destination but that coat is on a shaky peg !

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nicola69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeavons_Family1, Manager at Beverley Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

Thank you for your recent feedback and we are delighted to hear that you have been visiting our park since 1987 and continue to come with your children and now grandchildren. We are sorry that you were disappointed with our entertainment during your stay. We are always monitoring feedback and reviewing our current practices, and will certainly be taking your point regarding our high season dates into consideration for next year so that no ones misses out on our fantastic entertainment programme. We would also like to take this opportunity to inform our customers that our high-season daytime activities will kick off this coming Saturday 13 July and our high-season entertainment shows will begin on Friday 18 July and continue until 3 September, returning again on 24-30 October. Outside of these dates we will continue to offer a wealth of daytime and nightly entertainment which our showteam and band have worked hard to ensure offers something for all ages and taste. Thank you again for taking the time to provide us with your feedback which is always gratefully received. We very much hope to welcome you back to Beverley Holidays soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

This was a last minute booking for a group of 3 friends to have a long weekend away and as I was responsible for making the booking I was a little nervous as I had never stayed there before and my friends can be very exacting!. But no need to worry it was an excellent choice and I got lots of kudos!
Caravan was clean, comfortable and had everything we needed. Lovely views over the bay.
Bonus points: unlike many other sites we have stayed on there were full and comprehensive instructions for using central heating, hot water, cooker etc. Thank you.
The whole site is clean and looks good. Plenty of paths and cars kept in small car bays so felt really safe for children. No rowdy party goers at night - what bliss!!
Evening entertainment was excellent - rarely use club facilities but the crew on Sunday night were very good.
Swimming pools open early to late and all day (except for 'cleaning' hour) - great for early morning swim or end of day swim.
Staff very friendly and helpful.
Bus service just short distance from camp. Easy access to local attractions and the lovely beach at Goodrington.
The atmosphere is calm, friendly and fun - would thoroughly recommend this site and hope to return soon.

Room Tip: For small groups caravans 71 and 76 are ideall located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Strykalite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paignton
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Paignton Seafront
2 mi away
Rosslyn Hotel
Rosslyn Hotel
#14 of 17 in Paignton
77 reviews
1.8 mi away
Whitehill Country Park
Whitehill Country Park
#2 of 26 in Paignton
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Lady's Mile Holiday Park
0.5 mi away
Hoburne Devon Bay
Hoburne Devon Bay
#1 of 26 in Paignton
643 reviews
1.9 mi away
Devon Hills Holiday Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beverley Holidays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beverley Holidays

Address: Goodrington Road, Paignton TQ4 7JE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Paignton
Price Range: $24 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Multiple award-winning, family run Beverley Holidays in the heart of the English Riviera on the South Devon coast is where happy holiday memories are made. Choose from our wide range of accommodation from luxury hot tub lodges and ultra-modern holiday caravans, to camping and touring pitches with unrivalled sea views. Plus, our dog-friendly caravans* on Beverley Bay (from 2017) will prove a poochtastic hit, accessible caravans and even hot tub holiday caravans set to launch in 2017. Enjoy all our holiday parks for the price of one with free use of our fantastic facilities across all our parks on all stays*, including our heated indoor and outdoor swimming pools and fabulous family-friendly entertainment. Beverley Holidays boasts an unrivalled location just moments from a host of award-winning English Riviera attractions and wonderful sandy beaches, with the popular seaside destinations of Paignton, Torquay and Brixham on our doorstep. *Please note, our dog-friendly park is Beverley Bay (from 2017). Dogs are not permitted on Beverley Park or View. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Beverley Holidays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beverley Holidays Hotel Paignton
Beverley Holidays Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing