We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The staff let it down”
Review of Beverley Holidays

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beverley Holidays
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Stayed as a family in August. The Facilities are excellent and the park is very clean. The only real downside were the staff in the clubhouse at night. You can tell when people especially young lads would like to be anywhere else other than working and serving people on holiday. I would advise that if you stay here you would find your entertainment off site.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DrRichardKimble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (862)
There are newer reviews for Beverley Holidays
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

767 - 773 of 862 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2012

Stayed Mon to Fri and wished we had gone for the full week. Caravan was clean, roomy (5 adult 1 baby) . Good views to the sea from the touring site just past the statics, two pools one out one in both heated. Take away (chippie) and seated , restaurant upstairs with outside seating with lovely views and very well priced and lovely hot food.
Staff very helpful , good local information at hand and wi fi (payable)
This site was a good find and well worth a return visit.

Room Tip: Newer Vans are bigger with larger rooms.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dapas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Spent a week at Beverley 17th to 21st Sept 12. Booked based on being a 5 star resort but I really don't know why it has such a high rating unless I have too high standards (and I'm not posh believe me!) Booked a Crystal Cove van as this was supposed to be of a 'Premium' std. Based on that I'm glad we didn't book anything lower. First impression on walking to the van (you can't park next to them) was that the outside hadn't been cleaned in months. It was splattered all over with seagull droppings, and the steps covered in cobwebs. I know these things happen but it was poor start. On entering the van I have to say I was expecting a higher std. It was reasonably clean but the carpet was filthy and could definately do with replacing. The cooker hood was thick with dust, and the cupboards stil had crumbs in from the last holidaymakers. I was also disappointed by having to make up the beds. The sheets left were plain and basic, and some of the pillowcases were dirty. However we weren't using the twin room so used those instead. The website photos of nice bedding is very misleading. There is a double wardrobe in the main bedroom but only a few hangers, and with no drawers at all, the storage is very poor. Kitchen was good, everything needed was there. The can opener fell apart in my hand but the lovely lady on reception replaced it straight away. Went to the club twice which was a good size and layout, but the entertainment could do with an update. We didn't stay late as we had a16 month old with us, but even when the adult entertainment was due to start (just music) they continued with kids stuff so we missed out both times. Pool was nice but changing rooms terrible. Very small, with only curtains on cubicles and very dated. In contrast, we stayed at another 5* resort the week after and the changing facilities were huge, mixed changing rooms with extra large ones so families could go in together, lovely showers and loads of lockers. Wanted to eat in the pub on the last night to save messing up the kitchen but felt it was too expensive so used the takeaway instead which was fine. Location wise, it's in the middle of a housing estate which may seem odd but once in the park its very nicely laid out and looks nice. We enjoyed a late walk around the site most nights to tire out the baby. Loved Paignton itself and would go back there, but probably not to this site.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire J, Manager at Beverley Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time in Paignton and are very sorry that you were disappointed with the standard our Crystal Cove Caravan. We are sorry that the cleanliness of your accommodation was not up to our usual high standards, if we had known you were not satisfied we would have rectified these issues for you immediately. We offer a varied mix of evening entertainment across our two entertainment venues, ranging from children’s activities, live music from our resident band, theatre style shows, talent contests, game shows and visiting cabaret acts. Occasionally activities may over run the times stated on the printed programme and we are sorry that you feel you missed out on the Adult Entertainment. Many apologies once again, we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

This is our 2nd time we have been to Beverley Park and stayed at Meadowside. The lodges are mordern and have everything that you need. The indoor pool, steam room, sauna and hot tub are excellent. The reception staff are really helpful and will definitely go back there again and highly recommend it. My husband had arranged for roses to be delivered to the lodge as a surprise for me when we arrived, and I have to say that they were beautfiul and well worth the money. The views from the lodge over to Torquay are wonderful.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vic36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

lovely time at beverly park have stayed here 5 or 6 times now and always enjoyed it entertainment is always good caravans are very clean and the park is spotless will be going again in a year or two and cant wait

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank midnight86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

we booked our holiday via a newspaper offer. We were happy with the price and we choose a different campsite to visit each year. Out of all the ones we have been to this is the BEST!!! We will be coming back next year. Got back today and already planning our return!

we have 14 month year old and the pool was ideal, the soft play room good. The shack was an absolute godsend when raining and keeping our little girl entertained between the bingo and disco dancing and the older she will get the more and more enjoyment she will get from these activities.

The entertainment staff were funny , friendly and proffesional and Chris in particular made us feel very welcome to the point we were very tempted to book to stay another night but with commitments wasn't possible but very tempted!

The local area has so much to do as well, places to eat, torquay, waterpark , Zoo, pier , darlington shops and goodrington sands is a nice walk , yes it's uphill but unless your elderly or have an illness the dont be so lazy and get some exercise and fresh air.

Overall if a looking for a campsite which has all you need for is a simple fun weekend with the kids then we recommend to get this Holiday booked.

We stayed in a palm caravan and this was all we needed for our stay it was heavy rain but heating kept us warm and a hoodie and dressing gown and slippers for baby, also very impressed with how clean the caravan was left and the good quality of pans.

Wasn't to sure about the electro show when we saw the advertisement ...........but it was sooooooo good!!! Roger is very talented and for campsite entertainment this for us was 5* only so much solo singing you can watch. So very refreshing. Also the Disney show Brillant think I enjoyed singing along more that other children again light hearted basic campsite entertainment at its best!


Anyway for what's its worth this is my review. Hope it helps you decide where to go but we did rate this place.

If I was going to say anything negative , family changing rooms would of been easier with a toddler and a fire guard in the caravan but apart from that a very happy family xxxx see you next year the love the Dillons

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelly02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

The good points:
- the heated pools are really warm enough, even for small children
- the caravan was clean and tidy,
- the reception staff nice and helpful,
- Sandy's shack and the indoor and outdoor playgrounds,
- the evening shows,
- the upperdeck restaurant,
- the various activities, the shop...
Areas for improvement :
- the pools are quite dirty, no hygiene instructions (shower, shoes off, pool diapers for babies... would be a minimum), we even saw some people putting their feet with shoes in the outdoor pool... and there are strange things floating in the water...
- the outdoor children pool is not heated! It would avoid to overcrowd the bigger swimming pool, though, in the summer.
- forget about getting the paying wifi... anywhere... the signal is just too low and even when it's not, you just get thrown out of the network after a few seconds all the time... I had to finish some tasks for my work and to send emails and it was a nightmare, it took me hours, sometimes. And it's horribly expensive.
But these more negative points don't erode our willingness to come back as this camping and Torbay are just a dream for children.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paignton hotels
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Paignton Seafront
1.1 mi away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#1 of 17 in Paignton
340 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Torland Hotel
The Torland Hotel
#15 of 17 in Paignton
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#5 of 17 in Paignton
517 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hoburne Devon Bay
Hoburne Devon Bay
#1 of 25 in Paignton
623 reviews
1.8 mi away
Waverley Guest house
Waverley Guest house
#58 of 96 in Paignton
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beverley Holidays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beverley Holidays

Address: Goodrington Road, Paignton TQ4 7JE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Paignton
Price Range: $20 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a stunning South Devon location overlooking the sea, family owned Beverley Holidays offers a wide range of different accommodation types across 3 areas: Beverley Park, Beverley Bay (formerly Ashvale Park) and Beverley View (formerly Meadowside Lodges). Bring your own tent, touring caravan or motorhome, or choose from our wide variety of holiday caravans and luxurious lodges. Whether you’re looking for a family holiday or a short break for two, we have something for everyone. Our award-winning entertainment and five-star leisure facilities will keep you and your family entertained come rain or shine! With the beach just minutes away, Beverley Holidays is in a superb location to explore the English Riviera’s many attractions. ‘Silver’ for Customer Service Devon Tourism Awards 2013 South West Tourism - Holiday Park of the Year 2007/8. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp and Booking.com so you can book your Beverley Holidays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beverley Holidays Hotel Paignton
Beverley Holidays Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing