We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food fine, decent value at lunch”
Review of The Magic Bowl - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Magic Bowl
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Dartmoor National Park, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
1,296 reviews
702 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4,259 helpful votes
“Food fine, decent value at lunch”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We visited on the £3.50 lunch deal - the food was fine, nothing special, but for the price you can't complain. There's a choice of around 8 starters and mains I'd estimate (although you might want to choose rice as your starter if you're opting for a traditional main like sweet and sour chicken). I went for the BBQ spare ribs and Chicken Noodle - the ribs were fine, the sauce a bit overpowering though. The Noodles were nice; a traditional chow mein dish, it could have been a little warmer though. My dining companion had the prawn toast (good) and chicken rice (fine).

The service was OK although the place was a little dirty. Overall I would return for the £3.50 lunch but it didn't wow us enough to return for dinner.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chammp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    13
    7
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Torquay, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“AWFUL!”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Well i can hand on heart say that was the WORST chinese i've ever had :( The chow mein was very dry & tasteless (not to mention COLD) spring rolls completely in-edible urgh! watery sauce on the hong kong chicken & the chicken foo yong was absolute soggy rubbish, tasteless eggs, not even sure that WAS chicken ? i left most of it :( & the FREE (with over £15 spend) prawn crackers taste like yesterdays! (prob were hence the 'free' bit.... certainly WONT be ordering here again nor listening to reviews! not to mention got ripped off £3 delivery charge we are LESS than 3 miles away & never even mentioned a charge when i enquired about delivery. NOT IMPRESSED, very lucky i'm not demanding they collect it & give me a refund. absolute disgusting food never ever again :(

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sha67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanelli
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a find”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Great Value - £11.95 for as many dishes off the menu as you wanted. Be warned portion sizes are huge and they do make a £3 charge if you waste lots of food.
The food we chose was fresh, well cooked and delicious, could have just ate starters all night.
TIP - Order starters first and then order you main courses after you have eaten them -

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“second time round”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

second time round at this place ! the first time we visted this restaurant was back in july of this year they had re-decorated so it was much nicer this time round , we had the all you can eat for £11.90 each which was good, food was very nice but to much for 2 people ! they must do this on purpose as we did not order so much as we had learnt our lession last time but still it was a small mountain !! but really you can knock the place for value and service ! can they didn't have the christmas music on

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chrissy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignton Devon
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Bountiful and tasty”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We dined here last week and partook of the all you can eat buffet meal at £11.50 each. What we didnt bargain on was the size of the portions, they were big. The all you can eat buffet is better suited to groups of 4 or more where you have a dish each and try some of each. For 2 people it is really too much to eat. The decor lets the place down as it is more of a lorry cafe than a restaurant, with paper table cloths and signs on the windows. The service however was excellent as was the food. We would definately recommend our guests to eat here as it is a very reasonable price and they do takeaway food and deliveries.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TheCommodorePaignton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Magic Bowl also viewed

Paignton, English Riviera
Paignton, English Riviera
 
Paignton, English Riviera
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing