We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cleve Court Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Queens Hotel(Paignton)
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Palace(Paignton)
$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Summerhill Hotel(Paignton)
$136
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rosslyn Hotel(Paignton)(Great Value!)
$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$100
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$104
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Marine Hotel(Paignton)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Wulfruna Hotel(Paignton)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (109)
Filter reviews
109 results
Traveler rating
88
15
6
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
88
15
6
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshome from homerooms were cleaned every dayasked for a quiet roombooked a single roomb ban excellent hotelcleaned dailytea coffee facilitiesrooms are spaciousclose to townother guestsfamily roomwould recommend this hotel to anyonenight staycooked freshthe ground floorwithin walking distance
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
74 - 79 of 109 reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2013

The Cleve Court Hotel was clean, the people very kind, the food excellent and the location was great. I would definatley stay there again and recommend it to my family and friends. Thank you for everything.



  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Tammy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalDaveMarg, Owner at Cleve Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Thank you for the lovely Review. It was a pleasure to meet you and welcome you to Cleve Court. We hope you had a good journey home, and hope to see you again in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards
Margaret, Carole and Dave.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

This was our 8th year running at Cleve Court. Wouldn't want to stay anywhere else!! Clean, welcoming, friendly and perfectly located.

Food was superb and so were the rooms.

Carol, Margaret and Dave are always so friendly and helpful.

It really is like home from home and I wouldn't hesitate recommending Cleve Court to anyone.

Thank you so much and see you next year!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andybeasley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalDaveMarg, Owner at Cleve Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Thank you all for the lovely Review. It is always a pleasure to welcome you back to Cleve Court. We look forward very much to seeing you again next year, especially for the Quiz night in the Bar, and maybe another trip on the "Big Wheel"!!

Kind Regards
Margaret, Carole and Dave.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We booked this hotel on the back of the reviews on Trip Advisor, we were already staying at the Premier Inn at Goodrington, Paignton and wanted to extend our stay in the area.

We originally booked for this hotel for 2 nights and then decided to extend our stay by another night.

We stayed in a Triple room. Our room was very clean and had everything you need for your stay. The staff are excellent, the food is lovely and fresh, we booked in for evening meal for 2 nights and it was excellent value for money. A four course meal with coffee included which came to £48 per person for bed, breakfast and evening meal, not to be faulted.

I would definitely recommend this hotel, excellent all round.

Well Done Dave, Carole and Margaret you have an excellent hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Illsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalDaveMarg, Owner at Cleve Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Thank you very much for the lovely Review. It was a pleasure to meet you all, we were really pleased you could stay the extra night. We trust you had a good journey home, and hope very much to welcome you back to Cleve Court in the future.

Kind Regards
Margaret, Carole and Dave.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Booked this hotel for a five night stay based upon previous positive reports and agree with most that's been said, but for us it lacked something that would make us say "Wow".

I asked for a quiet room and was allocated Room 19. It is an adequate size as a double room, with high ceiling, modern décor, and plenty of clothes storage (full height double wardrobe, wide chest of drawers and narrow chests beside each bed). It was equipped with a good selection of both toiletries and tea/coffee facilities and had a hair-dryer. It wasn't a perfect room, though. I realise that conversions of old homes into guest houses or small hotels causes challenges and other rooms in this one will be different, but room 19 had a sink in one corner of the room and a really tiny en-suite with shower and WC (but no hand washing) in the diagonally opposite corner. The shower had very limited space in it - it was all too easy to knock the controls whilst showering, causing changes from freezing to scalding hot water with no room to escape the flow whilst you got it back under control! One aspect of this that really disappointed us was that only one bar of soap was provided, meaning it had to be transferred between shower and hand basin. It would be very easy for the owners to provide two, and surely it wouldn't spoil the profitability? I've no doubt that if we'd asked for one it would have been provided (as others have said, the owners are very friendly and obliging) but just feel you shouldn't need to ask.

The bed was comfortable but, unusually these days, had sheets and blankets rather than duvets, and I found this difficult to sleep with.

The room also suffered from road noise, as all those on the left of the house must do; the glazing is the original sash windows so when closed don't help to cut down outside noise as much as modern double-glazed ones do and when open rattle as soon as the wind strengthens. However they are in keeping with the period character of the building. The room was hot during the day so we slept most nights with the window open but had to get up to close it around dawn when the seagulls started calling.

Despite being in the diagonally opposite end of the house from the dining room, the smell of cooked bacon wafted in to the room as breakfast time approached and we enjoyed the many breakfast options (see the sample menu on their website). The cooked breakfasts were good - two rashers of good quality thick-cut bacon were well cooked each morning; although if I'm honest I felt the quality of the sausage let the side down a bit and to my tastes the baked beans had been cooked for too long. Eggs were always cooked freshly to order and service was both friendly and efficient.

We didn't use the evening meal option, nor did we use the bar or the large residents lounge, although both the latter looked impressive for a comparatively small hotel.

The location of this hotel, along with all the others around about it, is handy for the harbour, convenient for both Paignton and Goodrington beaches, and an easy enough stroll to bus station, train station and Paignton's restaurants and attractions. There's a bit of a hill on the way back!

The one negative factor with this hotel, though, has to be over car-parking. The hotel (like many others in the area) lacks enough driveway space for every car to park without blocking others. I felt uncomfortable at having to leave keys for the owner to be able to move cars around to release others when necessary, and (quite frankly) horrified to find that keys were just hung up in an easily accessible location. Whilst the main door is normally shut and locked so only residents should be in the building, I just feel this is an un-necessary security risk and wonder whose insurance would pay out if a car was stolen after the keys were taken from the hotel?

Room Tip: Rooms on the left side of the building (1, 2, 17, 18 & 19) will get some street noise from cars on Roundham road, although it's mainly residential traffic. Rooms at the front (3, 3A, 4, 5, 12, 14, 15, 16) have balconies and some sea view, but might also get road noise. Rooms on the right of the hotel (6, 7, 9, 10 & 20) may be quieter but I note one other reviewer suggesting rooms above the bar (9 and either 7 or 10) may get some noise from below.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hailes family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalDaveMarg, Owner at Cleve Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

We have been welcoming guests to our small family Hotel for the last 27 years. Our aim is to make your stay as happy and comfortable as possible, so it is with much regret that we feel we have failed you.

We received your booking 3 days before arrival, at such a busy time there was limited accommodation available. The company that you booked with allocated you a nice room but it was near the front entrance. As your request was for a quiet room we moved you to a quiet corner with no other passing guests. The traffic in Roundham Road is only residential at night.

We have no blankets on the bed at the moment, you had a top sheet with a lightweight bedspread, and small throwover at the foot of the bed for your convenience. We do provide duvets in spring/autumn/winter months, they are always available on request.

It gives us pleasure to provide over and above what is required of a 2 star small Hotel to give customer satisfaction, which is important to us. It would have been no problem to provide you with another tablet of soap when you asked our staff for extra shampoo.

We are sorry you were not completely satisfied with your breakfast. We use good quality food locally sourced where possible. We would have been happy to provide another type of sausage if you asked either our staff or ourselves.

Parking can be difficult at times, so it was kind of you to consider other users by leaving your keys at Reception. However we are sorry to hear after your departure that you were "horrified" by this for security reasons. We could have kept your keys locked in the office, or left in your room if you had preferred. It is a pity that you did not relate your concerns when checking out, when you asked if you could leave your car on the car park until you were ready to go home later that day.

Owners and staff are all approachable and are passionate about providing excellent customer satisfaction. Whilst all your comments are noted, we regret that you have gone home with these concerns. We would have welcomed the opportunity to improve your stay and overcome some of your difficulties. We always welcome feedback from guests, as we can all benefit from these comments.

Kind Regards
Margaret, Carole and David.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Had a very lovely short stay here! Lovely breakfast lots on menu and all looked and tasted amazing x staff couldn't be more friendly and helpful x situated only a short stroll from harbourside was nice for a evening stroll x would definitely recommend and will stay here again x rooms beautifully clean and decor lovely x stayed with my two daughters and they didn't want to go!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leanne r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalDaveMarg, Owner at Cleve Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Thank you for your lovely Review. It was a pleasure meeting you and the children, we hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday in the Bay, and we hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind Regards
Margaret Carole and David.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews