We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My hols.”
Review of Marine Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Paignton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Marine Hotel
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Paignton
Certificate of Excellence
Wrexham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My hols.”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Thank you for the way we were looked after on our coach holiday last week. Your staff are a credit to you. Nothing was too much trouble.
We had a lovely room over looking the sea. It was a bright , light room.
Once again thank-you all.xxx

Room Tip: Any, but overlooking the sea and harbor I would choose if we went again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maryjo1060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marinehotelpaignton, Manager at Marine Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Thankyou for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed yourself and hopefully you will come and visit us again at some point in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    34
    6
    7
    1
See reviews for
47
76
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Buckley. Flintshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel three years running and cannot fault it, the staff are absolutley wonderful and it is a pleasure to stay there and cannot wait for our next visit. The management from the moment we arrive are most helpful and Sharon is a great character and full of fun, as are all the staff.
The hotel is spotless the food is excellent as is the evening entertainment thanks Nicola & Paul see you soon Love Colin And Margaret Jones

Room Tip: Hard to find a better Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marinehotelpaignton, Manager at Marine Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
It was an absolute pleasure as always Colin & Margaret. Thankyou for posting a review. See you next year, LOVE YOU!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I stayed at the Marine this weekend for the Torbay Half marathon and, having scoured the web for the best hotel in Paignton saw that the Marine was the best scorewise. After a weekend at arguably one of the worst hotels I have been to I will never pay attention to scores onlines.

When I arrived the staff at the desk were in an arguement with a group of racers who had booked way in advance for a fixed price. One of them was sarcastically told to walk outside, there are loads of B&Bs.

The beds are small doubles. I am no Robert Pershing Wadlow but I could barely fit on it.

The alarm call, that I asked for 8am so I could prepare for the race did not arrive until 8:15. (Lucky I was already up)

There was no showergel or shampoo, only 2 little soaps.

The bath was too small to fit in. The shower was not a shower, rather than a hose attached to the taps.

And then, on the day of checkout, the day of the race, after 13.1 miles I turned on my phone to see 3 missed calls and 3 voicemails. The first 2 no one spoke, the 3rd was a very snotty message from the same guy from desk telling me they wanted to get into my room and had beem calling, as they had someone ready to move in.

Now 1. it was only 11 and checkout was 11:30, 2. Check in isnt until noon. So this was a lie.

Then additional grief on the way out when paying, after I explained that I was racing and therefore needed late checkout but as no one was at the desk at 830 when I left.

Not that I would recommend going to Paignton in the first place. Torquay is infinitely nicer. But if you do, do not stay at this outdated mausoleum, staffed by rude locals. Not for £110 a night.

£110 a night!!

If you do though, eat at the Harbour Light.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RunnersKnees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marinehotelpaignton, Manager at Marine Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Thankyou for your review but i feel that we must reply to a few of your points.

Upon your arrival the group of guys was in fact, not in an arguement with our staff but on a mobile phone arguing with the hotel which they had originally booked with weeks ago. They had phoned them the day before to tell them that they had over booked and should come to us instead, unfortunately the original hotel had told the guys the wrong price that they would pay with us, that was why they were arguing with the original hotel on the phone as they would not be able to afford to pay the correct tariff. You have heard half a conversation and interpreted it incorrectly.

As to your comment about the bed, bathroom products and bathroom size, we are a 2 star hotel and we well exceed the requirements for such.
As stated in the bedroom folders and on our tariff, check out time is after breakfast on the day of departure, however we usually allow until 10:30, but come 11:30 there was no sign of you and although check-in is not until 2pm we have to allow enough time to clean and change the rooms over thoroughly prior to the next arrival, that is why we called your mobile (in fact you did not return until 11:45).
However, what i think is really the root of this review is the fact that you had indeed forgotten to request a late check-out (only realising you could after hearing that some of the other guys had pre-requested this) also, the lady staying with you came down to the dining room at 10am asking for breakfast and when she was informed that breakfast is served from 8:30 until 9:30 am was not happy (although that too is stated in the room information folder).

We are very sorry that you did not have the same experience as all of our other reviewers, it just goes to show that unfortunately no matter how hard we try, you cannot please everyone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

At last we have found a hotel we love, everything was perfect,we went with slacks coaches and our driver peter was great, thank you peter hope you take us on holiday again. Thank you nicola and paul from the moment we stepped into the marine hotel everybody was treated first class,we were given tea or coffee while our bags were brought to our rooms which only took a few minutes,our room number 320 was lovely, everywhere was lovely and clean and the bathroom shone!!! The cleaners do a great job well done and thank you.we had table 6 in dinning room we asked if we could have a table for 2 which was no problem, the food was yummy every meal we enjoyed and we could not have asked for better thank you all, the same for the bar staff everybody was happy and made everybody welcome, we had just gone through a tough time with a health scare and we just needed to chill out which we did, thank you each and everyone of you xxx we will be back,love to you all, maria and derek xxx

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank seajade60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marinehotelpaignton, Manager at Marine Hotel, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Maria & Derek, thankyou very much for your kind review. We are very glad that you were so pleased with everything, we look forward to meeting you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

My wife and I stayed for four nights in June 2013 excellent staff clean rooms and has a choice of food very good for night entertainment as well would stay again only slight grumble breakfast is a little late at 8.30. Used to early starts but most will find nothing to moan about, nice hotel. Thanks.

Room Tip: Some rooms are quieter on the side good views are on the front but may get a busy main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank keith b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marinehotelpaignton, Manager at Marine Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thankyou for your review. Hopefully you will come and visit us again at some point in the future. If you are not with one of the coach parties but visit us independantly, you are quite welcome to ask if an earlier breakfast can be arranged for you, but if you are with one of the coach parties i am sure you will understand that breakfast time would need to remain at 8:30am for the whole group. Thankyou again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Travelled with coach party and was concerned that it was rated as 2*, was pleasantly surprised at the service, cleanliness, and the friendliness of all the staff. Meals were very good with a choice of menu. Star rating should be upgraded. We wish to thank everyone for ensuring that we had a most enjoyable time

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dave s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marinehotelpaignton, Manager at Marine Hotel, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Thankyou for taking the time to write a review for us, it is greatly appreciated.

We are pleased to hear that we exceeded your expectations of a 2 star hotel, according to our grading inspector we do actually acheive 3 star plus on most areas of our operations, the only areas which we need to improve to be a higher grading would actually cost quite an outlay of money, then the prices would need to increase for the customer. We would much rather stay a great value 2 star and our customers be happy with the value for money.

Hopefully we will see you again at some point in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Many thanks for a fantastic 4 nights stay Well done to all the staff for working so hard and making eveyone feel welcome,we travelled with Nova and there was my 3 brothers me my husband,sister and sister in laws,our rooms were top notch the food lovely,the staff were brilliant and as you can imagine our party were up for a laugh,and we laughed and joked a lot with the staff But they gave as much as they got with their banter which made our stay very pleasant.PLEASE tell all your staff many thanks from the brothers and sisters on table 17 Keep up the good work and my brother George says Love You and Many Thanks from all 8 of us.thanks to the chef for catering for the sister in law that needs a special diet he did brilliant,we will deffo see you all again love you xx

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mary_s209967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marinehotelpaignton, Manager at Marine Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thankyou for your review, you helped us to achieve our Trip Advisor certificate of excellence. We all enjoyed looking after you and your family, it always makes working so much easier for us when we have a group like yours to have a laugh with. Sharon says 'love you' and hopefully we'll see you all again sometime, just give us some warning first! lol.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paignton hotels
0.5 mi away
The Redcliffe Hotel
The Redcliffe Hotel
#6 of 17 in Paignton
391 reviews
0.4 mi away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#1 of 17 in Paignton
331 reviews
0.1 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#5 of 17 in Paignton
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#3 of 17 in Paignton
538 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Paignton Seafront
0.9 mi away
Preston Sands Hotel
Preston Sands Hotel
#11 of 17 in Paignton
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marine Hotel

Property: Marine Hotel
Address: 2-6 Adelphi Road, Paignton TQ4 6AP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Paignton
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Paignton
#7 Romantic Hotel in Paignton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on a level position, directly opposite Paignton Seafront and a short walk to the town centre, you couldn’t ask for a better located hotel in Paignton on the English Riviera. The Marine hotel is airy, modern and light yet highly comfortable. We are able to cater for most dietry requirements, please just let us know. We do allow dogs (daily supplement) to stay in our patio accessible bedrooms. After just one visit, you’ll want to adopt the hotel as your second home by the sea. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Marine Hotel Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing