We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Marine Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Queens Hotel(Paignton)
$110
$107
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
The Palace(Paignton)
$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Summerhill Hotel(Paignton)
$137
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rosslyn Hotel(Paignton)(Great Value!)
$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$101
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$104
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Wulfruna Hotel(Paignton)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (236)
Filter reviews
236 results
Traveler rating
181
39
6
9
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
181
39
6
9
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea frontnothing is too much troublenext yearevening entertainmentwould highly recommend this hotelsea viewcoach partyturkey and tinselvisited this hotelclose to shopscannot faultthis lovely hotelthird visitcoach holidayhigh standardmy mumshort break
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
185 - 190 of 236 reviews
Reviewed February 13, 2013

I requested a room on low floor but was not happy with the one allocated. We asked if we could be moved and were shown 2 other rooms on the first floor, both of which were suitable. Cases moved from first room to second without asking. Dining room always spotless, food excellent and plenty of choices, especially the desserts (must have put weight on). Waiters and waitresses always very pleasant and never kept waiting at any meals.Bar staff again always pleasant and very friendly. Entertainment 3 nights and bingo 1 night. I must mention Chris Chaplin who was the entertainer on the last evening. Normally guest usually retire early on their last night but not one person left the room until Chris had finished and as most people were 70 plus this says a lot for Chris.
Well done everyone not forgetting our coach drive Adrian for a lovely holiday. We will be back.

Room Tip: if you request a room on the low floor make sure it is not near the lift and gents toilet
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank winnieinWalkden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marinehotelpaignton, Manager at Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Thankyou for placing a review. I am sorry that your first allocation of room was not suitable but i am pleased to hear that it was dealt with immediately, should you come to see us again please feel free to give us a call prior to arriving to alert us of your requests. Chris Chaplin is a new entertainer to us this year and i am most pleased to hear that everyone is enjoying his performances.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Just spent a wonderfull few days at this hotel with friends on a nova tour and we couldn't fault it. Beautiful views,the rooms were very good spotlessly clean wonderfully warm,the food was great with plenty of choice,the staff were great especially Sharon who did more than her job when I was taken ill she even stayed well after her shift finished to help us thank you very much Sharon.we hope to return to the hotel in the summer.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank heather b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marinehotelpaignton, Manager at Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Thankyou for your very kind review. Nova Tours come to stay with us about once per month and always bring a great crowd, it's nice to hear that you enjoyed your first holiday with us. Sharon is an absolute jewel especially when someone is taken poorly, we've often joked that she should be working in care but we certainly wouldn't want to lose her!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed at the Marine Hotel for New Years Eve 4 day break.
Very good hotel, nice room, food is very nice and the staff are great.
The New Years Eve party was great, really enjoyed the entertainment and games proved by te staff.
We hope to return to the hotel in the summer.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mike2201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marinehotelpaignton, Manager at Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Thankyou for your review, it is most appreciated. Sorry for the delay in response.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We have just returned from 5th twixmas holiday with Nova tours this in itself speaks for the good value of this holiday.on arrival there's always a warm welcome with a cup of tea or a mulled wine and warm mince pie its like a family Xmas break as most of us has returned for numerous years,the rooms are very good and spotless,the ensuite bathroom is spacious and modern. The food and service is excellent with a good choice the homemade soup on the first course is one of our favourites,followed by excellent main meals and numerous sweets no one leaves feeling hungry.The nightly entertainment is pretty good although after returning yearly a few of the acts are a bit repetitive, all in all an excellent break from a very friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geoff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marinehotelpaignton, Manager at Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Thankyou for your review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your Twixtmas with us once again, Nova have been so inundated with re-bookers that they have booked a second coach to come to us for Twixtmas in 2013. We hope to see you in December for your 6th Twixtmas!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Spent a long weekend here a couple of weeks ago on a Tinsel & Turkey break. I have to say that we had a really great time thanks to the very genuine and most helpful staff. Our party was made up of two couples, our friends together with my wife and I. My wife is disabled and in a wheelchair and although this hotel does not promote itself on the facilites for this, they could not have been more helpfull in ensuring that we were all made to feel special. We haven't laughted so much in quite a while. The room was comfy and warm, the water always hot, the food was excellent and plenty of it, good entertainment in an overall great location. What more could you want? We have travelled considerably over the years to quite a few countries and stayed in all classes of hotel including Hiltons etc., but we have never received the simple quality of service that we did here. Well done Guys!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marinehotelpaignton, Manager at Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Thankyou for your review. We very pleased to hear that you enjoyed yourselves. Hopefully we will have the opportunity of seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews