We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything 1st class”
Review of Marine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Marine Hotel
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Paignton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 13, 2013

I requested a room on low floor but was not happy with the one allocated. We asked if we could be moved and were shown 2 other rooms on the first floor, both of which were suitable. Cases moved from first room to second without asking. Dining room always spotless, food excellent and plenty of choices, especially the desserts (must have put weight on). Waiters and waitresses always very pleasant and never kept waiting at any meals.Bar staff again always pleasant and very friendly. Entertainment 3 nights and bingo 1 night. I must mention Chris Chaplin who was the entertainer on the last evening. Normally guest usually retire early on their last night but not one person left the room until Chris had finished and as most people were 70 plus this says a lot for Chris.
Well done everyone not forgetting our coach drive Adrian for a lovely holiday. We will be back.

Room Tip: if you request a room on the low floor make sure it is not near the lift and gents toilet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank winnieinWalkden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marinehotelpaignton, Manager at Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Thankyou for placing a review. I am sorry that your first allocation of room was not suitable but i am pleased to hear that it was dealt with immediately, should you come to see us again please feel free to give us a call prior to arriving to alert us of your requests. Chris Chaplin is a new entertainer to us this year and i am most pleased to hear that everyone is enjoying his performances.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (226)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

176 - 182 of 226 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2013

Just spent a wonderfull few days at this hotel with friends on a nova tour and we couldn't fault it. Beautiful views,the rooms were very good spotlessly clean wonderfully warm,the food was great with plenty of choice,the staff were great especially Sharon who did more than her job when I was taken ill she even stayed well after her shift finished to help us thank you very much Sharon.we hope to return to the hotel in the summer.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank heather b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marinehotelpaignton, Manager at Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Thankyou for your very kind review. Nova Tours come to stay with us about once per month and always bring a great crowd, it's nice to hear that you enjoyed your first holiday with us. Sharon is an absolute jewel especially when someone is taken poorly, we've often joked that she should be working in care but we certainly wouldn't want to lose her!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed at the Marine Hotel for New Years Eve 4 day break.
Very good hotel, nice room, food is very nice and the staff are great.
The New Years Eve party was great, really enjoyed the entertainment and games proved by te staff.
We hope to return to the hotel in the summer.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mike2201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marinehotelpaignton, Manager at Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Thankyou for your review, it is most appreciated. Sorry for the delay in response.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We have just returned from 5th twixmas holiday with Nova tours this in itself speaks for the good value of this holiday.on arrival there's always a warm welcome with a cup of tea or a mulled wine and warm mince pie its like a family Xmas break as most of us has returned for numerous years,the rooms are very good and spotless,the ensuite bathroom is spacious and modern. The food and service is excellent with a good choice the homemade soup on the first course is one of our favourites,followed by excellent main meals and numerous sweets no one leaves feeling hungry.The nightly entertainment is pretty good although after returning yearly a few of the acts are a bit repetitive, all in all an excellent break from a very friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geoff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marinehotelpaignton, Manager at Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Thankyou for your review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your Twixtmas with us once again, Nova have been so inundated with re-bookers that they have booked a second coach to come to us for Twixtmas in 2013. We hope to see you in December for your 6th Twixtmas!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Spent a long weekend here a couple of weeks ago on a Tinsel & Turkey break. I have to say that we had a really great time thanks to the very genuine and most helpful staff. Our party was made up of two couples, our friends together with my wife and I. My wife is disabled and in a wheelchair and although this hotel does not promote itself on the facilites for this, they could not have been more helpfull in ensuring that we were all made to feel special. We haven't laughted so much in quite a while. The room was comfy and warm, the water always hot, the food was excellent and plenty of it, good entertainment in an overall great location. What more could you want? We have travelled considerably over the years to quite a few countries and stayed in all classes of hotel including Hiltons etc., but we have never received the simple quality of service that we did here. Well done Guys!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marinehotelpaignton, Manager at Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Thankyou for your review. We very pleased to hear that you enjoyed yourselves. Hopefully we will have the opportunity of seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

We have just returned from the Marine,we are full of praise of the hotel and staff,the premises was decorated for the occasion.We had terrible weather for the weekend but the staff and entertainment certainly brightened up our stay.The service of the staff was excellent and the chef s choice was also excellent served hot and plentiful.When leaving our coach had to travel around the block and when we passed the front of the hotel the staff were on the front waving us off,that was a nice touch.Looking forward to returning to the hotel next year.Brenda and Tony H

Room Tip: Room 407 overlooked a quiet park,no noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anthony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marinehotelpaignton, Manager at Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2012

Thankyou for your kind review. Turkey and Tinsel time is keeping us very busy, we are pleased to hear that our team continue to provide a high standard of service. It is always a pleasure to look after a full hotel of lively guests, who are full to the brim with Christmas spirit. We look forward to welcoming you back again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Our second visit to the marine and we weren't disappointed. Couldn't fault anything, room wonderful, staff on top form with their cheerfulness and service and food faultless - compliments to the chef. Third trip definitely on the cards !

Room Tip: Won't go wrong with rooms 311 and 312, seaviews excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Christopher R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marinehotelpaignton, Manager at Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Thankyou for your review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your return visit to us and already thinking about a 3rd visit. Merry Christmas and Happy New Year from us all.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paignton hotels
0.3 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#3 of 17 in Paignton
608 reviews
0.1 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#5 of 17 in Paignton
547 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Paignton Seafront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#1 of 17 in Paignton
354 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Redcliffe Hotel
The Redcliffe Hotel
#6 of 17 in Paignton
414 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bay Esplanade Hotel
Bay Esplanade Hotel
#9 of 17 in Paignton
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marine Hotel

Address: 2-6 Adelphi Road, Paignton TQ4 6AP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Paignton
#7 Romantic Hotel in Paignton
Price Range: $104 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on a level position, directly opposite Paignton Seafront and a short walk to the town centre, you couldn’t ask for a better located hotel in Paignton on the English Riviera. The Marine hotel is airy, modern and light yet highly comfortable. We are able to cater for most dietry requirements, please just let us know. We do allow dogs (daily supplement) to stay in our patio accessible bedrooms. After just one visit, you’ll want to adopt the hotel as your second home by the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Marine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marine Hotel Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing