We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the perfect break”
Review of Cherry Tree Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cherry Tree Hotel
Ranked #15 of 96 Paignton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Arrived home yesterday after staying 2 nights at this hotel - what a super little place to stay. Alan was the perfect host, along with his wife Trish ( the chef ) and children too. The hotel was very clean, rooms sufficiently comfortable, plenty of parking and the best view right outside - opposite the green, next to the mini golf, and the harbour and pier only 5 minutes walk away. Great value for money !

Room Tip: front,sea view rooms smaller than back bedrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TorquayBear, Owner at Cherry Tree Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Thank you so much for this lovely review.
We are so pleased that you found the Cherry Tree to be "great value for money" & that you enjoyed your stay!
We really do take great pleasure in what we do and are always really happy when our guests enjoy our hospitality.
Hope we see you again soon!

Best regards
Alan & Trish
01803 557-056

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (218)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 218 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2013

Just stayed at the cherry tree hotel , gorg views and amazing breakfast , only comment room 20 has a bad smell about it think its the en-suite . bit of modernisation needed there , but hosts lovely , atmosphere great and located in ideal spot with a lovely sea view .

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dblady1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TorquayBear, Owner at Cherry Tree Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Thank you so much for the wonderful words you wrote about the Cherry Tree and both of us. We love what we do & are really pleased that you enjoyed your visit with us. Thank you for the observation on the en-suite. We have investigated & are pleased to say all is sorted. You are always welcome & we hope to see you again soon!

Best regards
Alan & Trish
01803 557-056

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Just had a weekend at the Cherry Tree with my grandson Theo, Alan & Trish were excellent hosts and went above and beyond, I told Trish in a passing conversation that it was a birthday treat as Theo had just turned 5 at breakfast they along with their staff came out with a cake and sang happy birthday....it's these little touches that make the difference between good service and excellent....thank you

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TorquayBear, Owner at Cherry Tree Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Thank you so much for your wonderful words on the Cherry Tree & our service. We love what we do & are really pleased that you & your grandson enjoyed your visit with us. You are both most welcome & we hope to see you again soon!

Best regards
Alan & Trish
01803 557-056

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Just got back from our trip to paignton for the BMAD weekend. The Cherry Tree Hotel was just as good as previous visits. Spotlessly clean, great atmosphere and wonderful hosts, cant wait to go back again.

Room Tip: Ground floor room with Sliegh bed is brilliant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tjames7483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignt0nBear, Owner at Cherry Tree Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Thank you so much for those lovely words - they are very much appreciated. We are so pleased you liked your room!
We are thrilled that you enjoy returning & hopefully if we don't see you before, we'll will see you next year for another epic weekend!

Best regards
Alan & Trish
Cherry Tree Hotel
01803 557-056

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Reviewing this hotel on comparison with my experience of B &B s.
This is excellent value for money, The owners Alan, Trish and their family were exceptionally accommodating and helpful. Location right on prom near the harbour. Hotel a little dated but spotlessly clean and tidy, Breakfast was first class and plenty of it. I was here as part of a lad's weekend photography trip, two of us were given a family room, I lost the toss of a coin and had the single bed which was not designed for someone 17 stone.
Other than that would recommend this as a value B & B. No complaints.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarge42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignt0nBear, Owner at Cherry Tree Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Thank you so much for this lovely review.
We are so pleased that you found the Cherry Tree to be "excellent value for money" & that our breakfasts hit the spot!
We really do take great pleasure in what we do and are always thrilled when our guests enjoy our hospitality.
Hopefully next time you win the toss!

Best regards
Alan & Trish
01803 557-056

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

I stayed at the Cherry Tree Hotel over Easter and have been now for 3 years. This hotel is excellent with enthusiastic owners always happy to help.

My job involves me staying away a lot and I usually end up in the big chain hotels, this hotel offers you something different, a professional service and a dedicated team of staff always willing to meet your requirements.

In other hotels you don’t always feel your business is important to them, this isn't the case at the Cherry Tree. Warm welcome, fantastic breakfast and excellent bar area for relaxing.

Alan & Trish are excellent hosts and it is down to them we return year after year.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking Paignton Sea Front are a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaigntonBear, Owner at Cherry Tree Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Gosh that is such high praise! Thank you so much for those kind words - they are very much appreciated. We do try to offer a friendly, relaxed yet professional service.
We are thrilled that you enjoy returning & hopefully we will see you next year for another epic weekend!

Best regards
Alan & Trish
Cherry Tree Hotel
01803 557-056

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Having been placed in a position of needing accommodation, without booking, on a friday it was suggested Cherry Tree might be able to help. I called and was impressed by the kindness offered by the owner who was able to offer ground floor rooms for myself and my mother who is disabled. It was perfect, the rooms were spacious, clean and bright. Nothing was too much trouble. Wish the stay could have been longer.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignt0nBear, Owner at Cherry Tree Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Thank you so much for these lovely words.
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Cherry Tree & that we could accommodate you & your mum on the ground floor.
We take great pleasure in what we do and are always thrilled when our guests enjoy our hospitality.
We would love to see you both again & maybe this time you can stay a while longer.

Best regards
Alan & Trish
01803 557-056

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paignton hotels
0.4 mi away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#1 of 17 in Paignton
346 reviews
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Paignton Seafront
0.1 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#5 of 17 in Paignton
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#3 of 17 in Paignton
579 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bay Esplanade Hotel
Bay Esplanade Hotel
#9 of 17 in Paignton
537 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Redcliffe Hotel
The Redcliffe Hotel
#6 of 17 in Paignton
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cherry Tree Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherry Tree Hotel

Address: 10-11 Esplanade Road, Paignton TQ4 6EB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Paignton
Price Range: $86 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cherry Tree Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The friendly Cherry Tree Hotel is ideally placed on Paignton Sea Front, with stunning uninterrupted sea views across the Bay with a wide variety of entertainment just minutes from the front door. Guests can expect a warm welcome and will breakfast like kings on a hearty Full English or vegetarian breakfast in our warm and inviting dining room. Other facilities include our comfortable lounge with games, books and DVD rental and our well stocked bar - perfect for relaxing with friends and family. WiFi is free and avaliable in all rooms. The Cherry Tree is on the flat Paignton seafront & sandy family friendly beaches. We are ideal for exploring the local area as well as the Paignton Zoo, Torquay, Brixham, Totnes, Dartmoor & surrounding attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cherry Tree Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cherry Tree Hotel Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing