We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good entertainment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bay Esplanade Hotel
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Paignton
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very good entertainment”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

Back from another good value Shearings break- have been to this hotel 3 times in past year so I'm clearly a happy customer! Lovely warm welcome from staff, Andy and Ashley excellent with customers in bar- Lee was BRILLIANT as usual- he really makes it a joy to visit Paignton!!! I am now looking forward to another Shearings break at Eastbourne but am not expecting the high standard of entertainment I enjoyed here. I do hope to come again in summer.
Would recommend sea-view rooms.

Room Tip: Choose a higher sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
esplanade123, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thanks you Patricia A, Great to read that you have stayed with us 3 times in the past year, we always try to create a happy holiday experience you clearly are a very happy customer! Your lovely comments are greatly received. I will, of course, pass on your lovely comments about the staff, especially Andy and Ashley and of course Lee, who will all be really pleased. I am sure you will have a great time in Eastbourne. Looking forward to your next visit next summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    201
    94
    53
    19
See reviews for
59
267
45
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

Lovely hotel, nice bedrooms warm and comfortable but rather small and the bathrooms were very cramped.
.
Food was very good always hot and served on hot plates.

Shame we had to report twice that we had no hot water, pity somebody hadn't listened in the morning and done something about it.

Entertainment was very good, room could have been warmer didn't expect to have to wear a jacket for the first hour.

Would return another time but it's not a patch on the Majestic in Bournmouth or the Charlcote Phesant.

Room Tip: We were on the front but after 10pm we hardly heard any traffic, the whole hotel was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
esplanade123, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you Marilyn W for taking the time to post your review. Thank you also for your comments about the ‘lovely hotel’ and I am pleased you found the bedroom warm and comfortable; however the bathrooms are quite small here. I will pass on your comments to our head chef about the very good food, and the entertainments team. I am sorry you had a problem with your hot water, we always rectify problems. I am sorry you did not find the hotel as good as the Majestic or the Charlecote pheasant, however the Charlecote is one of the top coast and country hotel hotels and we cannot really compare. I am pleased however that you enjoyed your stay and would return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

just returned from 5 day break with shearings and what a great time we had . the room was kept spotlessly clean and was very comfortable The staff were extremely helpful and welcoming , the food very good with a good choice . we had 2 excursions included in the price and a very friendly and safe driver ( Dave ) . considering the small amount we paid it was well worth it . but sadly you always get the moaners and I would say to these people what more do you want ? Well done Shearings an excellent week .

Room Tip: ask for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pat10102016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
esplanade123, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you Flower1010 for taking the time to post your review. Well, what a great read. Thank you for all your lovely comments about the staff, food, service, excursions, driver and entertainment. I will pass on your great comments to all the departments, who will be pleased they helped make your holiday an excellent one. I am so pleased to read what an excellent time you had and hope you may return again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
huddersfield
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

Visited with Shearings for 4 nights on 28th Oct.
GOOD POINTS - Very nice food, very friendly and helpfull staff and nice location.
BAD POINTS - Tiny rooms and even tinier bathrooms, a bit shabby, the barman had to leave the bar and walk to reception to make coffees, teas etc consequently the queues built up especially at busy times.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grenville2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
esplanade123, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you grenville2013 for taking the time to post your review. Thank you for your comments about the food and friendly, helpful staff. I am sorry you did not find the rooms to your liking; the bathrooms are quite small here. The coffee shop is located by reception, you can order your coffee from their or the bar staff will have to leave the bar to serve coffee as we serve freshly made coffee from the coffee shop and not behind the bar, hopefully you did not have to wait too long for service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knottingley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

Just come back from a four day weekend 25th to 27th October a party of eight,every thing we requested was done for us ,we had sea view rooms all clean and tidy,food good ,entertainment the best we have seen on all three nights . staff very friendly and Lee {mr Bean] ecxcellent.we will definitely go back . Thanks to staff at the esplanade for an enjoyable weekend.Paul/Anne and friends.

Room Tip: 1st floor sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
esplanade123, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thanks you Paul H for taking the time to post your review and again great to read how much you and your party of eight enjoyed your stay, we always try to acknowledge requests, so I am pleased you found all to be done for you. I will pass on your great comments to Lee our entertainment host, he will be really pleased. I will also pass on your comments to our Housekeeper & Head chef and their teams, thank you for your comments. I do hope you and your party will return again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

Four of us travelled on a Shearings weekend break.Our rooms were clean and tidy and although the bathroom was a bit small.The food was Exellent and the service was great.The entertainment was fantastic on all nights and we all agreed that it was one of the best trips we had had.The nice thing about a Bay hotel you know what you get, it's not a 5star but you don't pay 5 star prices and come away with a smile on your face and money we'll spent.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonthemon7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
esplanade123, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you Sue24-8 for posting your review. Thanks you for your kind comments about the staff. I am sorry that you felt that that the bathroom was shabby, and the restaurant service slow; we do try to aim for a more relaxed service, however many guests go into the restaurant during the first 20 minutes, sometimes causing slower service.I am pleased you enjoyed your 2nd visit and that you found everything else to your satisfaction and hope that you may return again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LINCOLNSHIRE
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

We went on a 8 day coach trip during the last week in September it was our second visit. Our room was ok but in need of decoration and the shower cubicle was very shabby(Exactly as it was last year)
The beds were comfortable and we had lovely clean towels.
The entertainment was good but we didnt go in for Bingo and Quiz.
The food was good but the service was quite slow but to be fair the waiters had a lot to serve.
The location of the Hotel was very good for the sea front and the shops.
The staff were helpful and pleasant.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SUE24-8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
esplanade123, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thanks you Marya48, for taking the time to post your review and for your lovely comments about the staff, food, bedroom and entertainment. we always endeavour to create a great holiday experience and I am pleased you celebrated your 45th wedding anniversary with us. I will of course pass on your kind comments. I am very glad to read that you will be returning to visit again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paignton
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Paignton Seafront (Goodrington Sands) Hotel
0.3 mi away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#2 of 17 in Paignton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
2.5 mi away
Bay Torbay Hotel
Bay Torbay Hotel
#28 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#5 of 17 in Paignton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
1.0 mi away
Preston Sands Hotel
Preston Sands Hotel
#11 of 17 in Paignton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#4 of 17 in Paignton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Esplanade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Esplanade Hotel

Property: Bay Esplanade Hotel
Address: Sands Road, Paignton TQ4 6EG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Paignton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Esplanade Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Esplanade hotel is a pleasant hotel ideally situated and set on a level seafront position just a short walk to the sandy beach, picturesque harbour, pier, shops and brand new cinema. Paignton is right in the heart of Torbay and is an ideal resort for all ages as well as a great base from which to explore South Devon and the surrounding area. Within the hotel, the south facing Sun Lounge and Harbour Bar Lounge offer stunning views across ‘the Bay’ and the attractive Riviera Suite provides a warm and friendly atmosphere to enjoy the entertainment. The Esplanade also offers the opportunity to upgrade your standard room to one with a sea view (charges apply) and the stunning view on a sunny day is certainly worth it! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Bay Esplanade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Hotel Paignton
Bay Esplanade Hotel Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing