We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay Esplanade Hotel
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Paignton
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Had a lovely visit with my parents and in-laws, everyone was friendly and helpful, both parents had health issues and were accommodated accordingly, entertainment on the Friday evening was great, the Sat and Sun were ok but not as good as the Friday evening, the rooms were ok as we had requested twin bedrooms and showers, the only problem was the bathroom was on the tiny side, we are hoping to book again as this hotel is in a central place where you can stroll along the promenade and visit the shops easily., very reasonably priced and lovely atmosphere. A lovely break we had and would recommend, thank you.

Room Tip: Choose a refurbished room if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
esplanade123, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you Tina A, for taking the time to post your review.
I am very pleased to read that you and your in-laws has such a nice time here and of course it is great to read that you found the staff friendly and helpful with a great atmosphere. The esplanade is ideally situated for the beach, pier and the local shops and I am very glad you would return for a future holiday and recommend our hotel, thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    205
    96
    56
    19
See reviews for
60
275
48
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Our decision to stay in Paignton was made on the spur of the moment, a few days before our arrival by car. From the internet, we chose a four night, mid week, half board break and paid an additional premium for a ‘Sea View’, twin bedded room.

The hotel is well located near the sea front with views over Torbay. We recommend paying the modest surcharge for parking in the hotel car park. It makes the car more readily accessible, particularly in the heavy rain that we encountered during our stay.

As we entered the hotel, our first impression was not very promising; paint peeling from the entrance steps and a rather drab reception area not helped by two lamps in the chandelier not working. However the welcome by the staff was extremely friendly and helpful.

The restaurant was quite an attractive room, but sadly let down by lack of maintenance. There is quite an attractive frieze around the room or would be attractive if it was cleaned. We were tucked in a corner where it was hard to read the menu through lack of light. A lamp in the light fitting above my head was out for the whole of our stay. The room became unpleasantly hot when full of people, due to a lack of ventilation.

The lack of maintenance continued through the corridors to our room which was “compact” and seriously in need of a face lift. A few of the issues included:
• Wall paper lifting from the walls.
• Light fitting missing in the lobby.
• Ceiling badly stained due to previous ingress of water.
• The two double glazed units in the main window had failed and had permanent internal condensation making it impossible to look out clearly.
• Carpet needed cleaning; badly stained in places.
• There was nowhere to hang coats other than in the small wardrobe. This was not the ideal place to hang wet coats! Wall hooks required in the lobby.

The bathroom was no better with:
• The wash basin badly cracked to the extent that we were worried that a piece could have dropped out anytime.
• The taps were faulty and difficult to turn on and off. My wife was unable to operate the hot tap.
• The toilet flush handle was loose and it took several attempts to flush.
• The bathroom extract fan sounded as though it was powered by a diesel engine and took an age to stop after the light had been turned off. We didn’t dare switch it on after 10.30pm as it would have woken people in the adjacent rooms.
• There was mould around the top of the bath.
• Unexpectedly, there was no shower. I have mobility problems so getting in and out of the bath was touch and go, made worse by the gap between the bath and wall being so tight that my wife was unable to help me.
• The temperature of the hot water was dangerously high and should be lowered.

On the plus side, the potential view from the bedroom window would have been splendid. The beds were comfortable and clean with plenty of bedding available in the wardrobe. Towels too were clean and adequate. The room was satisfactorily serviced daily.

The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. We particularly mention Grace, our waitress throughout our stay, who, although run off her feet, looked after us well and chatted to us whenever she had a spare moment.
Breakfast and dinner were slightly above average and well presented; nothing special. However, I dislike eating off a bare table. Whatever happened to tablecloths or place mats?

Our conclusions: We didn’t know in advance, what to expect of the hotel. Had we, we would have paid more and stayed elsewhere.

We cannot comment on any entertainment organised by the hotel and did not make use of the bar.

Would we stay again? Probably after a refurbishment of the hotel.

Was the break value for money? Probably yes.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happybertie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
esplanade123, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Thank you Happybertie, for taking the time to post your review.
Thank you for your comments. I am pleased to read that you found the staff to be friendly and helpful. We do have refurbishment of bedrooms each year, apologies you did not get a refurbished room on this occasion, however a late booking would be rooms that have not previously been allocated, we usually allocate refurbished rooms to early bookings, as some of the late availability bookings are discounted, therefore full paying early bookers would receive the refurbished rooms. We are also in the process of having the restaurant refurbished, you may have noticed that we have a new carpet, new tables and chairs, new blinds, new waiters drops, we are just awaiting the redecoration, which will improve the surroundings. We do have a maintenance manager, who would have rectified your toilet and extractor fan, if you notify reception. I am pleased that you still found your holiday to be value for money, and perhaps you may return and stay in one of our refurbished rooms in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We have just returned from a five day break at The Esplanade. Room clean and comfortable with a lovely sea view. Food fine but portion sizes varied greatly from one plate to another. Breakfast service very slow (not enough staff)and made even slower by not being able to help yourself to cereals/juice. First morning we sat and waited for over 10 minutes before our waitress came and took our order....nearly missed our 9.30am coach trip departure. Reception staff say it is because everyone descends on the dining room as soon as it opens for breakfast at 8am but if you don't there is a chance that you will not have time to get your meal before having to catch the coach. The solution....either more staff, or earlier breakfast or later coach departure. Having said that the staff were all pleasant and helpful including Grace our overworked but always smiling waitress. Thank you for a lovely break.

Room Tip: Worth paying extra for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
esplanade123, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Thank you Pat H for taking the time to post your review.
Thank you for your kind comments about the staff, I will pass on your comments to Grace, however apologies if the service seemed rather rushed; we do have a breakfast service of an hour and a half, however most of the 150 guests do go in the restaurant in the first 15-20 minutes, which inevitably causes problems for the waiting staff. We cannot have a buffet breakfast service here as we do not have the space for a buffet table in the restaurant at present, however we are looking to possibly extend the restaurant in 2014, I hope you may return in the future to enjoy another holiday with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We travelled to the hotel by coach. Although the hotel a little tired and in need of a face lift the staff make up for this in their helpful and friendly manner. nothing is to much trouble for them ..When there was a major mishap with our travel arrangements they sorted it in an hour or so and got us all safely delivered home. Weather was very kind to us as well

Room Tip: always ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travellinggirlsKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
esplanade123, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you travellinggirlskent, for taking the tiime to post your review and thank you again for your great comments about the service and especially about the friendly and helpful staff. We do invest in upgrading the hotel and a do a number of bedroom refurbishments each year. I hope you may return in the future and stay in a room which has been refurbished.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

I love my stay here at the Bay Esplanade, the entertainment Monday was excellent especially as Lee was hilarious as Mr Bean. Food is okay and variety each night and Joseph is very polite when coming to take our order.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jparr28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
esplanade123, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you jparr28 for posting your review. I remember you, we spoke in the harbour bar and you told me how much you were enjoying your stay and how you had enjoyed the great entertainment, so again thank you for taking the time to post this review. I hope you will return again to spend another holiday with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

It was our 49th wedding anniversary,and we decided to go to paignton for a short break. We chose this hotel as we had always been satisfied with other hotels in the group.It was well situated right near the beach and only a short walk into town.It had a car park with a small charge .Our room was very nice Beds comfortable Nice and clean.Meals were good plenty of choice.Very friendly staff .we will definitely go back next year

Room Tip: we asked for low room with shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marilyn020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
esplanade123, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you Mailyn020 for taking the time to post your great review. We are pleased you chose to spend your wedding anniversary here and that you found the room, staff, meals, and service to be so good. We always endeavour to provide a great holiday experience and I am pleased to read that you found it just so. We are very happy to read that you will return again to spend another ‘fantastic’ break with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Enjoyable stay , does exactly what it's says on the tin. Only gripe , housekeeping waking us up at stupid o'clock to prepare room when departure time is ten am ! Very helpfully staff who work really hard, thanks to you all !

Room Tip: Room 1is very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank derekf739
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
esplanade123, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you Derek054 for posting your review and thank you for your comments. We are pleased you had an enjoyable stay with us and apologies if the housekeeping staff woke you up, this is not usually the case and I will look into what happened and why this was so. Thank you again for the comments about the very helpful staff, which I will pass on to the team. We hope you will return me the future for another enjoyable holiday with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paignton
0.3 mi away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#1 of 17 in Paignton
314 reviews
1.0 mi away
Preston Sands Hotel
Preston Sands Hotel
#10 of 17 in Paignton
275 reviews
0.0 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#5 of 17 in Paignton
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#4 of 17 in Paignton
504 reviews
2.5 mi away
Bay Torbay Hotel
Bay Torbay Hotel
#33 of 87 in Torquay
720 reviews
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Paignton Seafront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Esplanade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Esplanade Hotel

Property: Bay Esplanade Hotel
Address: Sands Road, Paignton TQ4 6EG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Paignton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Esplanade Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Esplanade hotel is a pleasant hotel ideally situated and set on a level seafront position just a short walk to the sandy beach, picturesque harbour, pier, shops and brand new cinema. Paignton is right in the heart of Torbay and is an ideal resort for all ages as well as a great base from which to explore South Devon and the surrounding area. Within the hotel, the south facing Sun Lounge and Harbour Bar Lounge offer stunning views across ‘the Bay’ and the attractive Riviera Suite provides a warm and friendly atmosphere to enjoy the entertainment. The Esplanade also offers the opportunity to upgrade your standard room to one with a sea view (charges apply) and the stunning view on a sunny day is certainly worth it! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Bay Esplanade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Hotel Paignton
Bay Esplanade Hotel Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing