We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Housekeeping”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay Esplanade Hotel
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Paignton
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Housekeeping”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Enjoyable stay , does exactly what it's says on the tin. Only gripe , housekeeping waking us up at stupid o'clock to prepare room when departure time is ten am ! Very helpfully staff who work really hard, thanks to you all !

Room Tip: Room 1is very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank derekf739
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
esplanade123, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you Derek054 for posting your review and thank you for your comments. We are pleased you had an enjoyable stay with us and apologies if the housekeeping staff woke you up, this is not usually the case and I will look into what happened and why this was so. Thank you again for the comments about the very helpful staff, which I will pass on to the team. We hope you will return me the future for another enjoyable holiday with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    208
    99
    56
    19
See reviews for
60
279
48
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Went on a Shearings coach trip. A well run hotel. staff friendly and helpful. Located right on front. 8 or so steep steps at entrance, but level inside and efficient lifts. clean and comfortable. Good menu with variety. Service sometimes slow especially at breakfast time; food sometimes cool. Waiting staff expected to do too much! Would be nice to have iced water especially in hot weather. Entertainment started very late and was quite poor. not everyone wants Bingo every night!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank olivia s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
esplanade123, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you Olivia S for posting your review and for the great comments about the friendly, helpful staff and the comments about the menu and variety. We always endeavour to provide great service, however, on occasion; there is an occasional wait in the restaurant, as many of the guests go into the restaurant within the first 20 minutes, although breakfast service is 1.5 hours. We usually receive excellent comments about our entertainment, we are currently 8th in our customer league table for entertainment within the group and although bingo is not to everyone’s liking we do only play 3 games, as many of our guests like bingo. Thank you again for your review and we hope you will visit again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neath, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

the hotel is need of a total refurb ,our room was quite dated with the wall paper hanging off the walls in the toilet room ,i say this because the wash hand basin was in the bedroom,food was ok but the best thing about this hotel is the staff ,would have to think hard about returning

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anthonySWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
esplanade123, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you anthonySWales for posting your review.
I am sorry you did not find your room to your liking,we do a number of refurbishemtns each year and apologise that on this occassion you did not like your room. I am pleased you found the staff good and will pass on your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solihull
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Been to this hotel many times and it it getting better each time.Had a room on ground floor ,it had been refurbished and was very nice.we did not see the entertainment,just had a few drinks.We were half board and the food was better than last year.All the staff were nice and helpful we will return.Thanks for a lovely weekend all of you.

Room Tip: Room 10 was fine and easy to get to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ronSolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
esplanade123, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you ronSolihull for posting your review.

Great to read that you have been to this hotel many times and that it keeps getting better each time. What a great recommendation! We have great staff here that always endeavour to provide a pleasant, happy holiday. I am pleased you had a refurbished room, we do a number of refurbs each year, and I am pleased after all your previous stays that you had one of them this time. Thanks again for your lovely comments; I will pass on to the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed here for a few days midweek break and enjoyed our half board accommodation. Meals were varied and typical for a hotel of this size. The lounge bars were relaxing and comfortable with the usual evening bingo and cabaret acts to entertain you. The only disappointment (and this applies to most hotels and pubs) is the lack of facilities for the friendly and sociable people who enjoy a smoke. Would certainly recommend this hotel and would consider a return visit.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chipdancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
esplanade123, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you chipdancer, for posting your review.
I am pleased you found your mid week break at the Esplanade to your liking. We always aim to provide friendly service with great customer care. I am glad you found the food, entertainment, lounges & bars pleasing and that you would consider a return to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

my husband and myself stayed here for a long weekend. We were on a coach trip with National Holidays and I was expecting a quite tired slightly run down hotel. I was pleasantly surprised although the hotel is old and could do with a bit of refurbishment . Gary who was really the only receptionist I had to deal with was happy, smiling, very helpful and inviting. The room although small was spotlessly clean and comfortable. I would not have liked to stay in this room for more than four days due to the size of it and the bathroom. The dining room although large had a good ambience and the food was really good with an excellent selection. Portions were not oversized and as we were having three courses it was ample we even got coffee or tea in the evening which is most unusual in hotels. Simon our waiter- what can I say about him - has an unusual way with him but delivers excellent customer service with a smile and a somewhat strange sense of humour which is certainly not offensive in fact rather pleasing I wish him good luck in the future. We didn't go to the evening entertainment but saw plenty of people doing and so I cant comment on that. Overall we had a very pleasant stay and would come back again. My one complaint is the noise outside our room starting at 5.15a.m. not the seagulls! but some people loading and banging and shouting to each other which woke us both up.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vonnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
esplanade123, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for posting your review Vonnyc,
5 stars, great review and very pleasing to read how much you enjoyed your stay. Again it is so good to read how good you found the staff and service, Simon often has returning guests asking to be seated on his section. We aim to provice clean and comfortable rooms and we are happy you found your break to be pleasant and that you would return, this is a great recommendation and we thank you and hope you will return for another break with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stalybridge
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

our stay was a four day break . We were allocated a table which was ours for the rest of the stay which was very nice ,as noi confusion where to be seated.Our waitress was Sandra,very hardworking young lady ,helpful friendly and smiling , when we requested extra toast or butter she was always willing to oblige whuich was really nice Reception personel i.e Dee and Clive were also helpful and smiling.Now to the food, the choices were great fish.meat, vegetarian were offered,starters and desserts took some thinking because they all sounded lovely and indeed they were lovely. Well done catering staff and in fact who ever hired them should get a pat on the back for choosing them ,and all other staff

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anyaone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
esplanade123, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you anyaone, for posting your review.
’PERFECT STAFF’ another great read, especially about our great staff. I will pass on your lovely comments to all staff mentioned, it is so nice to be appreciated so kindly, thank you. Thank you also for your comments regarding the food & service, we always endeavour to provide excellent customer service and I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay. We hope you may return for another holiday with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paignton
0.3 mi away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#1 of 17 in Paignton
324 reviews
0.0 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#5 of 17 in Paignton
486 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#4 of 17 in Paignton
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Preston Sands Hotel
Preston Sands Hotel
#10 of 17 in Paignton
277 reviews
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Paignton Seafront
2.5 mi away
Bay Torbay Hotel
Bay Torbay Hotel
#33 of 87 in Torquay
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Esplanade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Esplanade Hotel

Property: Bay Esplanade Hotel
Address: Sands Road, Paignton TQ4 6EG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Paignton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Esplanade Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Esplanade hotel is a pleasant hotel ideally situated and set on a level seafront position just a short walk to the sandy beach, picturesque harbour, pier, shops and brand new cinema. Paignton is right in the heart of Torbay and is an ideal resort for all ages as well as a great base from which to explore South Devon and the surrounding area. Within the hotel, the south facing Sun Lounge and Harbour Bar Lounge offer stunning views across ‘the Bay’ and the attractive Riviera Suite provides a warm and friendly atmosphere to enjoy the entertainment. The Esplanade also offers the opportunity to upgrade your standard room to one with a sea view (charges apply) and the stunning view on a sunny day is certainly worth it! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Bay Esplanade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Hotel Paignton
Bay Esplanade Hotel Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing