We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bay Esplanade Hotel Paignton” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bay Esplanade Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bay Esplanade Hotel
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Paignton
Redditch, United Kingdom
1 review
“Bay Esplanade Hotel Paignton”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

Just returned from a five day break with Shearings, The hotel situated is situated on the sea front only a couple of minutes walk from the beach which is excellent. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful, The rooms on the small side were clean and tidy with tv shower & tea/coffee making facilities,The food was excellent with multiple choices at breakfast and evening meal they also have a menu in the bar/lounge area if you fancy some lunch which is priced very resonable, atahe hotel without a doubt is well worth a visit,

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2413peter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
esplanade123, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review and thank you for all your kind comments, especially about the staff friendliness & helpfulness, also the excellent food. I am pleased you found us well worth a visit and hope you may return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    199
    93
    53
    19
See reviews for
59
260
44
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Haverhill (Suffolk)
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

I have recently returned from a last minute 4nt break with Shearings. Unfortunately my luggage was missing on arrival. The Hotel Manager Greer , despite being very busy took time to find me some toiletries and phone around to try and locate missing luggage which arrived 24hrs later. Also, a mention should go to Sully whom I believe is the Maitre D' was also very helpful and both Sully and Greer went beyond call of professional duty .Much appreciated ,as can't say the same of Driver (Ray) whom left hotel straight away knowing that a couple of cases were missing with no apology or info as to when to expect them,not sure if this is the norm as is first time I've taken this type of holiday,still, thankfully Greer & Staff sorted it out within 24hrs.
Room ( single) had a narrow bed with very clean and good quality linen, rest of room and the bathroom are both a little shabby and in need of a refurb together with a good window clean.
The food was good with varied choices & service of a good standard.All guests seemed to be enjoying their stay.VERY GOOD VALUE FOR PRICE PAID & would definately recomend & use company again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duran326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
esplanade123, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review.
I am very pleased you decieded to post a review, although I must again apologise for your lost luggage, it is not a usual occurance, however, I am pleased traffic/lost property located it soon enough to return to you, so that it did not spoil all your holiday. Thank you for the kind comments about Sully and I, it is much appreciated. I spoke to you before your departure and am hoping you had a pleasant journey home........................ with all your luggage!. I hope you may return to the esplanade again one day. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

Just returned from a 5 day Shearings trip,the hotel is in an excellent position right on the seafront only 5 mins walk to the town centre.The food was also excellent and the service could not be faulted,the rooms are small but very clean and the staff friendly and pleasant.We had entertainment each night,the first two nights the cabaret was okay but the other two nights it was great.Overall a very good break and would recommend it

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank huyton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
esplanade123, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you very much for posting your review.
I am so pleased you found all to your liking; thanks again for the lovely comments about the staff, food, service and entertainment. I will copy your review for all staff to see, we really do appreciate the kind comments. Thanks again and I hope you may return one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

Just returned from the Esplanade Paignton what a great trip, good hotel ( except horrible tiny bathroom which needed a thorough steam clean UGH) the food was very good if not as hot as it could have been at times. The staff front of house were first class and couldn't be more friendly with nothing to much trouble. The entertainment was very enjoyable. The hotel is ready for a refurb but still clean and pleasant. If your looking for 4 star look elsewhere, otherwise very good. What can you say about our driver Wayne, what a smashing bloke, safe, witty, very friendly and down to earth as well as being knowledgable about the areas he took us round, he really helped to make our holiday so enjoyable.Well done Shearings and look after Wayne he's a diamond. Alan & Pam will return soon thank you all.

Room Tip: Get a room with bath it may be a little bigger than those with a shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
esplanade123, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review.
Thank you also for the great comments, especailly about the front of house staff!, also about the entertainment & food. I will also pass on your kind comments to Wayne, he really is a smashing driver, who often receives mentions on our in-house comment cards.I am pleased you found the staff to be first class and Look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, Berks
Level Contributor
72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

Stayed here in December when visiting our son. We had our elderly father with us and were given rooms on the second floor, which did not have a lift. Needless to say my father struggled with the stairs. The food was acceptable but the service was a little slow. The entertainment was rubbish but luckily there was a games room and we passed the evening playing snooker and pool! The rooms were dated and the en-suites grim. However, the staff were all friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for lower floor room. No stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Quaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
esplanade123, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thanks for posting your review. Aplogies to your father, that the reception list was not in operation during your stay, it had broken beyond repair, however in january we had a new lift fitted, servicing all floors. I am sorry you did not find the entertainment to your liking, although you will see on many other reviews that many people do enjoy the entertainment. I am pleased you found the staff to be friendly and helpful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
telford
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

just come back from esplanade hotel great location . hotel very clean. food very good excellant staff rooms a bit dated never tried the entertainment but heard it was very good.overall a very nice place would go back well done to all involved shearings very good at what they do overall well done to all involved my wife & i really enjoyed ourself. thanks mr&mrs corbett.

Room Tip: book a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank corbbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
esplanade123, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Mr & Mrs Corbett, Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review. Again it is great to read such positive comments and that you would return, Yes, the sea-view rooms offer a great view, in this ideal location opposite the beach. I hope to meet you on your next visit. Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

We booked a Shearings holiday. We have a disabled son, who was in respite for the week. We chose the Esplanade in Paignton, Devon as this was a destination both me & my husband really fancied. The staff were brilliant. The hotel was comfortable, warm & handy for the town centre & the beach. The food was brilliant. Entertainment lived upto our expectations. We visited many lovely places, thanks to our lovely, friendly, down to earth driver, Wayne. I also have to mention, Gary & Andy & Ashley who work in the bar. All very helpful & friendly. Smon our waiter for the week was very good & nothing too much trouble. Lee the entertainment manager ( Mr Bean ) was a really good all round compere, singer, comedian, bingo caller. We will definitely revisit this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dawn o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
esplanade123, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you so much for posting your 5 staff review. I am very happy to read all your lovely positive comments, again especailly about the 'brilliant' staff, of which I will pass on your kind comments. The bars 'boys' are a great team, along with 'mr Bean' they certainly go out of their way to try to ensure a great night is had in the riviera bar, with friendly chat in the harbour bar. Thanks also for the comments about the service from Simon, another lovely chap who often recieves comments on our in-house comment cards. I will of course pass on your kind comments to the staff, a great team! Thank you and I look forward to meeting you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paignton
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Paignton Seafront (Goodrington Sands) Hotel
0.3 mi away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#2 of 18 in Paignton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
2.5 mi away
Bay Torbay Hotel
Bay Torbay Hotel
#30 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Bay Tor Park Hotel
Bay Tor Park Hotel
#23 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
1.0 mi away
Preston Sands Hotel
Preston Sands Hotel
#11 of 18 in Paignton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Redcliffe Hotel
The Redcliffe Hotel
#6 of 18 in Paignton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Esplanade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Esplanade Hotel

Property: Bay Esplanade Hotel
Address: Sands Road, Paignton TQ4 6EG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Paignton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Esplanade Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Esplanade hotel is a pleasant hotel ideally situated and set on a level seafront position just a short walk to the sandy beach, picturesque harbour, pier, shops and brand new cinema. Paignton is right in the heart of Torbay and is an ideal resort for all ages as well as a great base from which to explore South Devon and the surrounding area. Within the hotel, the south facing Sun Lounge and Harbour Bar Lounge offer stunning views across ‘the Bay’ and the attractive Riviera Suite provides a warm and friendly atmosphere to enjoy the entertainment. The Esplanade also offers the opportunity to upgrade your standard room to one with a sea view (charges apply) and the stunning view on a sunny day is certainly worth it! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your Bay Esplanade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Hotel Paignton
Bay Esplanade Hotel Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing