We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Get Together”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bay Esplanade Hotel
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Paignton
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Weekend Get Together”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

Good location of hotel, staff very friendly, accommodating and was made to feel important by staff on reception, our room was in good decorative order, only minus, very small bathroom, will certainly go back, such alot to see and do, steam train to Dartmouth, value for money, good food, great entertainment, well done Shearings.

Room Tip: We just had what was given us and we were pleasantly surprised, we usually opt for a high floor room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pauline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
esplanade123, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review and thank you for your lovely comments about our reception staff. We treat all our guests with the same warm welcome and hope they all feel as you did on arrival, I am pleased you found the staff, food and service to your liking and I will also pass on your kind comments to our entertainments host.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    201
    94
    53
    19
See reviews for
59
267
45
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

A small group of us took advantage of one of the week-end special deals and very much enjoyed our stay. The room was clean and the bed very comfortable. The bathroom was a little tired decoratively but everything worked. The TV in the room had a bit of trouble with picture stability, but we didn't watch it much except for news and weather. The restaurant served reasonable quality meals and our waiter was excellent. If you want an economical week-end away, bed, breakfast, & evening meal plus 4 drinks vouchers per day at £84 per person for 3 nights you can't go wrong. The hotel is well situated for coastal walks and close to the Dartmouth-Paignton Steam railway.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrumpyBob1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
esplanade123, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review. I am pleased you found the room, meals and service to your liking. We offer a very good value holiday and I am happy you found this to be so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

A nice hotel in a great location close to everything you need. I only stayed 1 night and I found the room ample in size and the general look of the hotel to what I expected. Where the Esplanade excells though is the staff. Extremely friendly compared to what you find in some 5 star hotels who could learn a lot from them. The personal touch counts and thats what I got from the second I checked in to the time I spent ordering a few drinks from the bar. Unfortunately I did not get to sample the food as my 6 year old son was more interested in just staying in the room at night playing on his new 3DS. Overall I would certainly recommend this hotel based merely on the location and the excellent service by the staff.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leigh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
esplanade123, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review and a big thank you for your lovely comments about the personal touch and excellent service (5 star - thanks). We always endevour to create a happy holiday experience, even if you only had 1 night, so I am pleased to read you enjoyed your stay. I do remember you as I served you on the bar, so an extra thank you for your very kind comments about the staff. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope that your boy did too. I hope you may return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

Just returned from Monday/Friday holiday. Excellent value again from Shearings. But big money needs spending on hotel. Had paid extra for sea view but room given 120 was tatty and grotty. Carpet needed either replacing or a good shampoo. Mould on walls/windows and no point in paying for sea view as windows so stained ( told due to weather conditions) impossible to see out of it! Having 4 days previously been in hospital for surgery was reluctant to sleep in this room. Reception extremely helpful gave me 3 keys to look at other rooms, but because we were restricted to needing a shower and twin beds opted for room 210 recently refurbished but no sea view. The extra we had paid for sea view was returned direct to my bank account. The reception area - first impression again very very tired and crying out for upgrading. Looking beyond this the staff turn the negatives into positives. Nothing was too much trouble. Jimmy the dining room waiter ran his legs off to please. Food was hot, tasty and appetising. Flexible eating times.Entertainment was excellent. Trips out very good. The 4 drinks vouchers came in handy. Hotel in a prime position on sea front. Overall it's the hard working staff that go the "extra mile" that make this holiday a success.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has been refurbished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
esplanade123, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review and again thank you for the great comments about the staff, food, entertainment and the newly refurbished room, however apologies you found the first room not suitable. We do have the windows cleaned every fortnight, (weekly if needed), however if there has been a strong easterly wind, then the sea/salt does mark the windows, apologies for this, although it can happen the day after they have been cleaned!. We have a number of rooms refurbished each year, this year we also had a new lift, new fire alarm, new restaurant flooring. I am pleased you found the staff hard working and thank you for the comments that they "go the extra mile", we do have some excellent staff here, I will pass on all your comments about the staff, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

We have just returned from a 5 day break at this hotel.We had a twin bedded room which was spacious and well furnished.The bathroom was fairly large and well appointed.All aspects of our room were clean.
The food was good with plenty of choice to suit everyone.
All staff we encountered were friendly and keen to help.
We enjoyed the entertainment and the inclusive drinks deal was very welcome.
The hotel is located immediately opposite the beach and it is an easy level walk to the shops.
We hope to return to the hotel later in the year when it is warmer!

Room Tip: Twin bedded rooms seem to have more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KidlingtonYellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
esplanade123, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review, it is much appreciated and thank you for all the great comments. I will pass on your comments to the staff. Great to read that you will be returning in the summer, the hotel really is a great location, especially in summer, opposite the beach! look forward to your next visit. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoke on trent
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

since our last visit the hotel has a new lift, new carpet in dining room, and several rooms have been updated. The staff are just wonderful, most of them have been there a long time and try their best to ensure that guests are well looked after. The food is excellent, plenty of choice and meal times are to suit everybody. We have stayed there 9 times and will definitely return.

Room Tip: ask for a large room with two chairs, twin rooms are usually bigger than doubles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anne marie t t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
esplanade123, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you so very much for your lovely review and for your 9 previous vists. I am so very pleased to read this review and happy that you keep on returning. We always endevour to create a great holiday experience and your repeat bookings are proof of that, thank you. We have many great staff here, manyof them have been working here for years & some decades!, so I will pass on your kind comments to all concerned. Thank you and look forward to your 10th visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
humberside
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

Stopped at this hotel a few years ago and it was then shabby and the food poor. What a wonderful suprise room redecorated, food excellent and a lovely dining area, lounge and spacious bar.

I wont comment about the size of the room for it generally accepted the rooms are on the small side within this hotel.

Dont let this stop you from booking a room here, for our room was clean, had hot running water, the toilet flush worked and clean towels every day. Although was a small room had access either side to the double bed and had two bedroom cabinets. The television was upgraded so you could view all the freeview channels and not just the main five channels. Room also included a radio and electronic alarm clock. Wallpaper was good and the furniture new. Small complaint could have had more coat hangers and the room a little warmer.

The staff were very friendly and helpful especially the manager. Bar staff and waiteriing staff exemplarly.

The dining area was lovely made up off tables for two and the waitering was first class completed like a mikitary exercise for the service was first class.

The food was varied and very well cooked and presented. Theportions were ideal for the elderly residents though for the younger guests with a more healthier appetite the portions could have been said to be on the small side.

The lounge and bar area were spacious and very relaxing. Must commend the hotel on its drink voucher system this was first class, For could use them at any time of the day and this prevented long queues at peak times.

There was entertainment on every evening and only a little time was spent on bingo sessions and the acts were fine and entertaining.

My only one concern with this hotel woul be access for those with mobility problems for could not see a ramp at the hotel entrance. But the staff were only toowilling to offer residents assistance.

To conclude yes this hotel does have small rooms but this is more than made up with all the other aspects of the hotel. In fact one of the best Shearing hotels I have visited.

Room Tip: If you wish for a slighter larger room it appeared twin rooms were larger than double rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yorksdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
esplanade123, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review and great to read how you found us to be one fo the best shearings hotel, depsite some of our small bed/bathrooms. I am pleased to read that you decieded on a return visit. We do refurbish a number of rooms each year and I am pleased to read that, on this occassion, you had one of the them. I will pass on your comments to my staff and again hope you may return in the future. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paignton
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Paignton Seafront (Goodrington Sands) Hotel
0.3 mi away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#2 of 18 in Paignton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
2.5 mi away
Bay Torbay Hotel
Bay Torbay Hotel
#29 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#5 of 18 in Paignton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
1.0 mi away
Preston Sands Hotel
Preston Sands Hotel
#11 of 18 in Paignton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#4 of 18 in Paignton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Esplanade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Esplanade Hotel

Property: Bay Esplanade Hotel
Address: Sands Road, Paignton TQ4 6EG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Paignton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Esplanade Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Esplanade hotel is a pleasant hotel ideally situated and set on a level seafront position just a short walk to the sandy beach, picturesque harbour, pier, shops and brand new cinema. Paignton is right in the heart of Torbay and is an ideal resort for all ages as well as a great base from which to explore South Devon and the surrounding area. Within the hotel, the south facing Sun Lounge and Harbour Bar Lounge offer stunning views across ‘the Bay’ and the attractive Riviera Suite provides a warm and friendly atmosphere to enjoy the entertainment. The Esplanade also offers the opportunity to upgrade your standard room to one with a sea view (charges apply) and the stunning view on a sunny day is certainly worth it! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Bay Esplanade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Hotel Paignton
Bay Esplanade Hotel Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing