We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Good few days spent at this Hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bay Esplanade Hotel
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Paignton
North Devon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Good few days spent at this Hotel.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

Firstly I would like to say my Husband and I spent three nights on Half Board basis at this Hotel. This was on a Self Drive break. We found the reception staff very helpful on our arrival. Unfortunately the lift to the second floor is still out of action. But there were staff there to help us upstairs to our room which we paid extra for and had a sea facing room which was an excellent view. Regarding the lift being out of action a member from the Shearings staff did phone us on the Thursday prior to our visit stating that the lift was not working and I said that would not be a problem.
There was plenty of choice for Breakfast and Evening Meal which we found was sufficient for us. The bedroom was very clean but was rather outdated and could do with some redecorating. It was not until the Saturday morning I went to have a shower and there was not one only the bath. Normally there is a shower over the bath. Also there was no Wash hand basin in the bathroom only in the Bedroom. If they did away with the Bath and put a walk in shower and Wash hand basin it would be good, The room we had was 232. While we were staying there we went to see the show Oliver which was at the Plymouth Theatre Royal this was excellent. We thought the Hotel had a very friendly atmosphere and all the staff were very good. We had Sandra serving us at our table and she was excellent and very efficient. We did pay for car parking but this was not really necessary as there is quite a large car park adjoining the Hotel.
We would certainly go again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dearling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
esplanade123, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Thank you for your l kind review. We are awaiting the fitting of a new lift, I am pleased it did not cause you any problems. It is great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and you would come back to stay with us again. Thank you for your comments about our friendly, helpful staff, especially your comments about Sandra, she is a great waitress and much appreciates your kind comments, which we copy from this site to our staff noticeboard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    201
    94
    53
    19
See reviews for
59
267
45
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

Just got back from a weekend at this hotel. Good location, but very very sad hotel in every respect, from the rabbit warren corridors and no lifts, to black damp patches on the walls in the room and all around the window frame. Our room overlooked the kitchen so if you opened the window all you got was the heat from the extractor fan and bad smells of cooking, not good in the heat of the summer. Food was just ok, but several meals were cold as if the had been plated and then waiting around to be served. Our waitress seemed to be serving half the room and was rushed off her feet, couldn't get a drink at the table, I had to leave my meal and go to the bar myself, and there was no one there to serve me either. I won't be going back. But to be fair the room was clean and I got what I paid for.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank YhMich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
esplanade123, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for your review. Whilst I am pleased to read you had a value for money break, I am disspaointed to read your comments about the food & bar service and the room. Our head chef has been employed here for over 20 years, we usually receive great comments about the service as other tripadvisor comments have previously noted. We have many, many repeat customers and always try to ensure a happy holiday. If you had reported any of these issues, I or my team would have tried to rectify your problems, if we are able. We have an on-going investment programme, where each year a number of rooms are refurbished, unfortunately with 84 bedrooms there are still some issues which we try to rectify on site, where possible. Unfortunately one of our lifts is awaiting replacement and is a structural issue which may take some time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paignton hotels

uk
Level Contributor
87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

What a mistake we made in booking this hotel a complete waste of £600 ! Where do I start ???
1. £600 for a double room measuring 10ft 9in x 8ft 7in with a very small bathroom 2ft 6in wide by 2ft 3in !If we left our case on the floor we could NOT walk round the Bed !
2. Poor quality if food and very slow service we had a trip booked for 9,15 so got to breakfast by 8am .....by 8.40 we had just had our juice ! Were they growing it ? And then they were only 1/2 full .
3. Service was poor at meal times and all drinks had to be paid for in advance in another room ! Ridiculous !
4. First impressions of the Hotel and cleanliness were very POOR indeed ! The Bathroom in our room had a missing tile and where a shelf was remained unfilled in holes ! This added to the nicely peeling shower handrail What a bonus !
I was given a comments form to fill in and 1 section asked if any staff deserve a special mention ? Yes our waiter table 11a he was very very poor ! I think if you advertised the rooms correctly you would not get any 1 staying there !!!!
5. On arrival at least a Dozen couples were complaining about room size !

Room Tip: Pick another Hotel !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
esplanade123, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Thanks for your review. I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay and that your bedroom and bathroom were small. The rooms here are not large but we do have many, many repeat guests come here, who enjoy the hotel time and time again. I am not sure when you stayed here but we have not been “half full” all season, except in April when we were a little quieter this year. If you had brought your complaint to my attention and we were not full we could have relocated you to another room, but apologies if you found a tile missing and a peeling handrail. We do not usually receive complaints of food or service, many guests reporting here how good the food and service usually are. You do not have to pay for your restaurant drinks in another room, you can set up an account with your credit/debit card at reception and pay at the end of your holiday or pay at the bar after dinner, the choice is yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

Yes the hotel bedrooms & bathrooms are small & are in need of updating but the staff are excellent, the food was good with lots of choice the waiters & waitreses work really hard.
The rooms are lovely & clean with clean towels every day, the location is really good with links to lots of places from the bus station & steam train station only 5 minute walk away.
We had some lovely trips out with our coach driver, no complaints!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joellecarp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
esplanade123, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Thanks you so much for your lovely review. it is really great to read how much you enejoyed your stay. We endevour to help create a great holiday experience, so thanks for your kind comments about the staff and service, it is really appreciated. The hotel is in a great location. I hope you will return again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackheath
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

Bedroom and bathroom small, needs updating as interior very old and tired looking. staff helpful and friendly entertainment very good meals not to bad choices were given.
could not find ramp for wheel chair users and lift never worked during our stay.We doubt if we would stay there again unless the hotel was bought up to date as refurbishment is needed as well as decorating, and windows need changing. Not much privacy as our room over looked someone elses with a roof top in between. It needs some net or blinds up as the view was terrible.The net in bathroom was dirty and mouldy so cleaning needs to be looked at on regular basis.

Room Tip: ask for a sea view at front of building or better still ask to see room first if you dont like see i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jackie f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
esplanade123, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Thank you for your review, great to read that you found the staff friendly and helpful and meals and entertainment to your liking. Apologies that the lift is still out of order, we are awaiting an new lift being fitted, as the previous lift is beyond repair.We are Classed as assisted aid as we do not have suitable space for ramp into the building. We have an on-going programme of refurbishement of rooms, several done each year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

Oh dear shearings, blown windows/no air conditioning/terrible service, how can you charge £420 for that rubbish, fire alarms going off with no appology or explanation from staff. No rolecall, a maze of corridoors, the lift only taking you to the first floor, no leadership in the dining room, it needs a head waiter. Everyway you turned they just wanted your money, nearly £2.00 for a bottle of water. Going back to the dining service, waiters dissapeared for ages, asked for a jug of water twice it never arrived, bought in food, you could tell they hadn't made it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Patricia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
esplanade123, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Thanks for your review. This is an old building and we do have a programme of refurbishment and replacement of any blown double glazing, if you had brought it to my attention, perhaps I would have been able to relocate you. No, we do not have any air conditioning as do not many hotels of this age. We do have fans, if you ask at reception, as noted in our bedroom browsers. As you will see from other tripadvisor comments we usually receive great comments about our staff and service, so I am surprised by your comments, again, if you had brought this to my attention perhaps I could have had a word with our restaurant supervisor or restaurant manager. Most of the food is cooked by our head chef, who has been with us for over 20 years, with very few complaints
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

Just came home from my holiday at the Esplanade Hotel in Paignton, and had a wonderful stay despite the false fire alarms on Sunday morning and Thursday morning. Staff couldn't have been more helpful, especially Josh our waiter and Lee the entertainment host, the entertainment is excellend and variable. Thank you for a lovely stay, and hope to see you again soon.

Best wishes

Rachael

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
esplanade123, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Thank you so much for your positive review, thanks for the lovely comments about our helpful staff, I will pass on your comments to Josh and Lee who will be very pleased to hear that they are appreciated. We look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paignton
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Paignton Seafront (Goodrington Sands) Hotel
0.3 mi away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#2 of 17 in Paignton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
2.5 mi away
Bay Torbay Hotel
Bay Torbay Hotel
#28 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#5 of 17 in Paignton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
1.0 mi away
Preston Sands Hotel
Preston Sands Hotel
#11 of 17 in Paignton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#4 of 17 in Paignton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Esplanade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Esplanade Hotel

Property: Bay Esplanade Hotel
Address: Sands Road, Paignton TQ4 6EG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Paignton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Esplanade Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Esplanade hotel is a pleasant hotel ideally situated and set on a level seafront position just a short walk to the sandy beach, picturesque harbour, pier, shops and brand new cinema. Paignton is right in the heart of Torbay and is an ideal resort for all ages as well as a great base from which to explore South Devon and the surrounding area. Within the hotel, the south facing Sun Lounge and Harbour Bar Lounge offer stunning views across ‘the Bay’ and the attractive Riviera Suite provides a warm and friendly atmosphere to enjoy the entertainment. The Esplanade also offers the opportunity to upgrade your standard room to one with a sea view (charges apply) and the stunning view on a sunny day is certainly worth it! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Bay Esplanade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Hotel Paignton
Bay Esplanade Hotel Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing