We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bay Esplanade Hotel
Nearby Hotels
The Palace(Paignton)
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$132
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rosslyn Hotel(Paignton)(Great Value!)
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$95
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$81
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Marine Hotel(Paignton)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (572)
Filter reviews
572 results
Traveler rating
153
226
112
60
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
153
226
112
60
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshearings holidaymr beanself drivesea viewcoach driverbuffet breakfastentertainment roomtiny bathroomsea frontenjoyable breakper daynight porterexcellent positionrestaurant staffevening entertainmentvisited this hotelpublic areas
Filter
Updating list...
491 - 496 of 572 reviews
Reviewed December 13, 2011

the 2nd of dec we had nice weekend break in paignton the restuarant and entertainment rooms where nice and clean but bedroom requires a lot of basic attention ie there where large areas of mildew in both bedroom and bathroom also a very strong smell of bleach very off putting

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tomfeeney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 3, 2012

Glad you had a nice weekend break with us. Mildew can appear quickly and our cleaning staff are constantly checking for it, sorry if it was overlooked on this occasion. Hope it won't put you off a future visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2011

this hotel has the potential to be a 3 or even 4 star hotel if only the shearings group invested in good decor.Its a shame really.i dont know if shearings are just happy to leave it as it is and accept income..but everyone i spoke to seemed to agree that the food was superb,staff were great,excursions were good and drinks at top line,but bedrooms need upgrading and need to employ 2 or 3 more waiter/ess staff.Otherwise,superb value for money and the staff fantastic

Room Tip: ask for large room with shower
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank fwahfwah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 3, 2012

Thanks for your very positive review. Many of our guests echo your sentiment; fantastic staff and value for money. We are constantly looking at ways of improving, and our rooms are constantly being upgraded.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2011

On arrival the hotel looked quite impressive, the reception and staff were all pleasant and the meals were adequate. Our waiter did struggle when he had more than 1 table to serve and he spent most of the time apologising for the long waits that we experienced. The entertainment is in The Riviera suite which sounds quite royal but it is in the basement and a bit depressing but the entertainers were generally good. All the drinks were branded and I must say I don't know how this hotel can keep going on the prices that we paid to stay there. The absolute negative is the bedroom. I estimate that the room had not been decorated for 20 years and even then I don't know who decorated our room but the wallpaper was creased in the corners and the blown vinyl pattern had worn off over years. As soon as we walked through the double doors into the bedroom areas the smell was disgusting, the carpet in our room was stained and smelly and the vintage clock radio in between the single beds had me dreaming of that crocodile that was after Long John Silver it ticked so loud. The shower, toilet and basin were in a room the size of a broom cupboard and the same old wallpaper tired and dreary. All in all the bedroom/shower room was most depressing and we would not stay there again. The coach driver was friendly and informative and the break included 2 tours in the price.

Room Tip: Don't think there are any good rooms. We were in 124 and our parents were in 122 and both rooms were dier even though we had sea views. We spoke to many others during our stay and they were also very disappointed in their rooms.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 3, 2012

Thanks for taking the time to review us. Sorry that the decor in the room wasn't to your liking, We do however feel that we offer superb value for money breaks. Had you notified reception regarding the problems with your room? Most of the problems you stated would have been looked into during your stay if you'd given us the opportunity to address them, and i'm sure they could have been easily resolved.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2011

Travelling with spouse and two other couples, we were happy to take advantage of a very good deal found on the internet. Therefore how much should we complain about the break we have just returned from? There are positives and negatives. The most disappointing was our room. The bedroom was small, but had a good enough storage space. The bathroom was a narrow corridor, again this would have been adequate had it been heated. The bedroom area had a small radiator which did not adequately heat the room. We assume this was already known to the hotel management as we were supplied with a electric fan heat. However when the heater was turned on, on return from the trip on the second day the electricity on the whole of the corridor fused. We were told this was because everyone had turned on their fires at the same time! The handiman came, and suggested we took turns at using our fires. In all the electricity fused seven times that evening! I am still not sure if anything was done by management to stop this happening, or whether our fellow guests took the earlier advice, but the electricity was maintained for the remainder of our stay.
Possibly because of the lack of heating our room, and especially in the bathroom there was damp. As a consequence the room smelled very musty. This made this room the worse room we have ever stayed in. When a written complaint was submitted on the third day, someone did attack the room with bleach, this smell did prove to be less offensive. On the positive side there was always hot water for a shower.
The food was mediocre but acceptable, and a flexible meal time is in place. The waiter, Sully worked hard and was extremely pleasent. All members of the staff are friendly and try to be helpful. There was entertainment each evening and this was good.
We won't be returning to this hotel as we could not chance having a room as poor as this experience Poosible if you pay more you do get a better room.

Room Tip: Do not go on the corridor 200 - 210
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Billmarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2011

just returned froma 4 day break with shearings travelled from the depot at stretton,
no issues with the departure or driver, his name is sham its only a nick name as we couldnt pronounce his real name as he was polish, what a very courteous gentleman
nothing was to much trouble for him, the hotel needs money spending on it especially the bedrooms and bathrooms, there is a hair dryer, if you are fussy about your own then take it, plenty of tea,coffee etc in the room, meals adequate, all inclusive bar is when you have had a drink you have to take your glass back to the bar for another drink, tip. take a glass of soda water into the restaurant and then you have got a spare glass for extra drinks, you dont pay for soda water, very slow in serving as there is only one serving drinks, all in all had a great weekend,
the coach does stop at the service station.
tip, take a flask of hot drink or soup, plus any thing else you want to eat as dick turpin isnt dead, they will rip you off, have your wits about you.
if i can be of any help to anybody drop me a line.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 230 top floor with a sea view doesnt matter what room you are in the floor boards are very noisy with creaking.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank fosseller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews