We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for a weekend stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay Esplanade Hotel
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Paignton
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“OK for a weekend stay”
Reviewed August 22, 2011

The location of this hotel is excellent. The sea view was fantastic and the food was good. The staff were welcoming and very friendly. The bedroom was very dated and had a sink in the corner of the room, but the bed linen was clean. The bathroom was tiny and had no shower or hand basin (as it was in the bedroom)! Overall a nice weekend break and we would probably stay there again.

Room Tip: Location of the hotel is excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greer68, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2011
Dear Pam H,

Yes, the location is reat isn't it, just across from the beach!
The hotel does have some small bed/bathrooms with only a few rooms left still having the small sink in the room, however I am happy to read that you would consider returung here.I will pass on your kind comments about your stay here to the staff, we always copy these comments to our staff noticeboard whcih is great for staff morale. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    208
    99
    56
    19
See reviews for
60
279
48
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
in huddersfield
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2011

First the good bits; food and staff ok, location spot on, and now the rest; we were in 204, the corridor continually had an odour resembling sewage and all the floorboards in corridors and rooms creaked at every footstep, the staircases resembled something from Hogwarts, they were never where you expected them, as a result the tiny lift was well used as it was the most direct route.
We were warned by the driver that it waas an old hotel and comments had been made regarding the bathrooms, he was not kidding, I dont think you could line up 4 wheelie bins in the floor space for the entire bathroom, to use the toilet you had to shimmy to the side of the diddy wash basin, what a joke, the shower had insufficiant head of water to be effective, taking ages to rinse off the soapy lather, the basin had a crack in it plus a hot tap that was not secured to the basin, the toilet cistern took a very long time to refill, again down to poor water pressure. In the bedroom if you wanted to get to the window you needed to climb over the bed, one wardrobe door had a broken hinge at the top, thats it for the sleeping quarters.
One very big grouse among the smoking fraternity was the hotel's total lack of providing some outside area that was sheltered from the wind and rain, come on now, we abided by the law and your no smoking rules, is it too much to ask for a little good will toward us smokers, we couldnt even sit on the benches in the car park if it had rained as the dampened mould would have stained our clothing. This is the 21st century, get some money spent and try pleasing everyone

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank oldieInHuddersfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paignton hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2011

Went for a short break with my sister with Shearings luckily had read the reviews about the size of the room so was not too surpised when I first saw it!!!! They sort out everyone very quickly by giving u ur room no. and leaving the key in the door, and they bring ur bags to ur room [nice] and same when u leave they collect them from outside of ur door. The first sight of the room is, its small and needs updating but was fine for a few days, beds ect. clean. [and we had good weather so did not spend long in room] The bathroom was a mis-match, we had a bath but no shower and we both like showers when we are away. I asked at reception about an attachment [would not fit on taps] so given a jug for hair washing just as well we had short hair. Like going back to childhood lol. Only give u a soap bar so bring ur shampoo ect. with u. Shearing piz update ur promotional material so we know what to bring!!!!
Food was good at least most of it some items fell short of expectations [bead and butter pudding] and there was a reasonable choice. My main gripe here is the water they use for making tea nasty metal taste and I could not drink it. No compaints about service [all waiter service]. Used the kettle in room and ran the water better taste. Sis likes coffee but it was not always as hot as it should have been. Staff where very good and helpful the rating is mainly for the food and staff but not so much for the room/bathroom. no air con so be aware if weather is hot can be uncomfortable to sleep in.
We had a sea view which was ok, the hotel is well situated and close to shops ect.
There is entertainment but was not to our taste, went twice which was enough.
Maybe of note that this hotel has no rating [AA or suchlike] that I saw, but Shearings could do more, it is not the staff's fault that the company fails to spend money on it. Have been on a National Holiday and that hotel was not as good as this one on food quality or staff helpfullness and u have to carry ur case to ur room.
On a different point if ur going with Shearings note there is an hour or more wait in Warrington when u get off ur feeder coach before u get onto main one and same on way back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dot_mc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

We had a very enjoyable stay despite the reviews that we had read previously. The room was very clean and tidy. The bed linen was also clean and fresh. The only thing we found fault with was the size of the bathroom which was like a broom cupboard. The food was excellent and our compliments to Tim the chef and his staff in the kitchen and also the restaraunt staff. All the staff were very friendly, polite and helpfull.The entertainment in the evening which was not expected was very good. We would recommend this hotel and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paulinemiddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2011

Thank you for a lovely stay at your hotel. All four of us stayed from 8th to 10th July and we had a fantastic time. We were treated like God's and the staff were so helpful and polite and nothing was too much trouble for them. The hotel was so very clean and fresh and everything was spotless. The food was of very high quality, plentiful and was cooked to perfection. Our thanks to Tim the chef and all those in the kitchen who made it possible.
The entertainment was very good both nights and something we did not expect at all.
Our rooms were a bit small but clean and comfortable but the only thing we were not happy with was the very cramped bathroom. You could not swing a cat in there. We have seen bigger broom cupboards! I understand that this is a common feature at this hotel as it was converted from a Victorian hotel and part of each room was lost for the addition of the very small bathroom. Still you only spend but a short time there so this is but a minor niggle. We would certainly come back. All the criticsm about this hotel seems well over the top and totally unfair. Well done to you all and top marks for everything, bathroom excepted!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank YEDDLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2011

I find it hard to believe the last few reviewers have been to the same hotel as us.
In fact I definitely don't believe it !!
I am no Hyacinth Bucket nor a re-incarnation of the Queen Mother and having been 5 shearings hotels before recognise you get what you pay for. In the case of the Esplanade we paid very heavily.....in time and disappointment, not to mention the monitory costs for petrol and pet boarding fees. In fact I wish I'd gone with the dog ---- at least it was clean and she had a decent bed!
Our room No 226 was clearly not fit for purpose. It was an insult to be expected to stay there.
Think 1960's boarding house, and you're there.
An authentic feature was the wash basin in the room itself (complete with original muck in the over-flow.)
The toilet( definately circa 1960) was in a cupboard, its flush waving about gaily in the breeze( on its last flush of life so-to-speak!) We could only open the cupboard door half way due to a wall being in the way,so it was as well we approached with trepidation. It was also absolutely filthy - weeks and weeks of black gungy muck under the rim and in the bowl.
The shower was in the opposite cupboard.......just the tiny shower,mouldy rubber mat and plastic towel ring that was our lot!! There was no room to dry yourself - no hooks for clothes,dressing gowns etc - no where to put soaps and lotions.
Lord knows why we even unpacked, except I have a back problem and after the long car journey from Manchester we were exhausted.
After dinner (OK) and a quick trip to Tesco for bleach and cleaner we prepared for bed (short and narrow, again a 60's surviver).
Oh joy, the springs had sprung 50 years ago! Nothing as useful as a blanket in the room so the long suffering assistant. manager brought us up a bed cover to use as a cover.
We couldn't pack quickly enough the next day.
I am not a complainer,in fact we have never caused a fuss in a hotel before in my life (I am 62,my hubby 64)). It was such an upsetting episode.
Throughout it all the manager and assistant manager were really nice.
We did get a refund,(we were not the first couple to get one that week, which speaks volumes) but have been left without a holiday.
You should be ashamed of yourselves Shearings!!
To provide your customers with such poor facilities is inexcusable.If the rooms are too small for decent en-suites 3 rooms should be made into 2.
Better still 226 should be closed and used as a store cupboard for bleach, as there is obviously no-where else it is stored at the moment !!

Room Tip: Go to an other hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank peasmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryde Isle of Wight
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2011

The hotel is very well located on the seafront at Paignton. Just a few minutes walk from from town, railway station and pier. There are also some lovely walks nearby to cliff top gardens and scenic harbours.

Our room was fine. It was clean and although not that big, it was functional. The bathroom was comapact, but everything worked and again was clean. The only downside was that in both the main room and the bathroom there was several quite large black mildew damp patches high on the walls. Fair enough the hotel may have a few damp patches as it is an old building, but it wouldn't take much to clean them off the walls.

The food was good, reasonable portions and quality. The dinning room was laid out well and the staff attentive.

The hotel is out of date, and could very much door with updating, a coat of paint and some new carpets etc. But for the money this hotel is fine. Its not the Ritz buts its certainly not the pits either.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank caulkheadmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paignton
0.3 mi away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#1 of 17 in Paignton
324 reviews
0.0 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#5 of 17 in Paignton
486 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#4 of 17 in Paignton
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Preston Sands Hotel
Preston Sands Hotel
#11 of 17 in Paignton
277 reviews
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Paignton Seafront
2.5 mi away
Bay Torbay Hotel
Bay Torbay Hotel
#33 of 87 in Torquay
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Esplanade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Esplanade Hotel

Property: Bay Esplanade Hotel
Address: Sands Road, Paignton TQ4 6EG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Paignton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Esplanade Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Esplanade hotel is a pleasant hotel ideally situated and set on a level seafront position just a short walk to the sandy beach, picturesque harbour, pier, shops and brand new cinema. Paignton is right in the heart of Torbay and is an ideal resort for all ages as well as a great base from which to explore South Devon and the surrounding area. Within the hotel, the south facing Sun Lounge and Harbour Bar Lounge offer stunning views across ‘the Bay’ and the attractive Riviera Suite provides a warm and friendly atmosphere to enjoy the entertainment. The Esplanade also offers the opportunity to upgrade your standard room to one with a sea view (charges apply) and the stunning view on a sunny day is certainly worth it! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Bay Esplanade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Hotel Paignton
Bay Esplanade Hotel Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing