We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Somewhat idiosyncratic”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Palace Coffee Bar
Ranked #11 of 13 Coffee & Tea in Paignton
Restaurant details
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We called here for a light lunch. There was nothing wrong with the food - it was ... okay. I decided to brush some glitter off my chair before I sat down ... it wasn't dirty ... it was ... okay. The assistant behind the till was somewhat idiosyncratic but I suppose she was ... okay. We had finger food without serviettes - I couldn't see any either ... but I suppose that was ... okay. So, it was all ... okay. I just want better than okay.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jude_18a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (4)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Reviewed July 12, 2019

This is a real café with the best Eggs & Bacon in town. It is not some two-bit greengrocers with a few tables and chairs to sell cups of tea & cake. It is not an outlet where on placing an order the staff run 4 doors down the road to get the order made at another café, and then run back with your food in paper bags. It is not some here today and gone tomorrow establishment - it has been here years.

It is a real café and the staff are willing to meet your individual requirements i.e. more tomato, less mushrooms or more bacon less fried bread etc. It is worth the walk over the level crossing and up past Tesco, crossing the road at the HSBC, and it stands opposite a small park before you reach the Co-Op at Winner Street.

It is real service and with a smile too, and you can sit outside and discuss a plethora of subjects with the locals, and look after your dog.

Date of visit: July 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank major01803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2018

An honest basic place to eat, nothing fancy, great service and the food is well cooked and piping hot. Clean tables, rather sporadic service, not always easy to find a staff member cos they all help in the kitchen. Nice little seating area out the front, where you can smoke.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank FelineFriend5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2017 via mobile

This little place is the best cafe in Paignton (we've tried most of them) old fashioned un-touched by modernisation. ..the full English breakfast is just like your mama would cook you great value for money (very cheap) and I must stress the absolutely best hot chocolate in the country I promise it stays hot throughout your meal..lively friendly staff..you just have to pop in even if it's just for a cuppa they make you feel welcome and there's no rush for you to leave..we love this little place.

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank tracyandkevb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Palace Coffee Bar also viewed

Paignton, English Riviera
Paignton, English Riviera
 
Paignton, English Riviera
Paignton, English Riviera
 
Paignton, English Riviera
Paignton, English Riviera
 

Been to The Palace Coffee Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing