We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly and professional hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Queens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Queens Hotel
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Paignton
Certificate of Excellence
hants
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Friendly and professional hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

We arrived on a Friday for a weekend, the welcome was lovely. Checking in was quick and professional. The room was ok, very clean but a couple of layout issues, if you used the loo at night the light as you opened the door blinded whoever was in bed and the position of the hair dryer meant you couldn't see in any mirror.

Breakfast was served in a lovely airy restaurant, the service was good and quick but the food obviously cooked ahead and a little dry. We didn't sample dinner but the menu looked wonderful.

Overall the staff were very helpful and approachable, it was very obvious they are a close and professional team.

One issue is noise at the front, there is a terrace where people smoke and this got a little noisy on Saturday night.

We would stay again but would request a room at the back.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank tiggshants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard_Curnow, General Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Good Morning, I’m pleased to read you had a warm and professional welcome, thank you for taking the time to review the hotel.
It’s nice to know housekeeping are keeping up their ever high standards and keeping your room clean and well serviced. Due to the nature of the building rooms do have varying layouts.
Thank you for your compliments on the restaurant, you really should try dinner next time, it’s as good as the menu looks.
Thank you for your compliments on the staff, I will be sure to pass this on for you.
Please do contact myself or one of the team at the hotel and we are always more than happy to try to see to all requests.
I look forward to hearing from you soon.

Kind regards
Richard Curnow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    109
    36
    8
    6
See reviews for
96
213
21
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

Just had 4 superb days at The Queens . staff welcoming , food superb excellent choices , beds so comfortable room and all aspects of hotel very clean. Pool brilliant extra.entertainment fantastic all round 3 star hotel but 5 star experience. Thanks for a wonderful time. Will definitly return .'

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard_Curnow, General Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Good afternoon, thank you so much for your kind words. It’s a pleasure to read you arrived to a warm welcome and enjoyed the superb food from our extensive menu.
I will pass your comments on to the team and pass your praises about the cleanliness and standard of your room on to housekeeping.
Thank you for holding us in such high regard and rating us as a 5 star experience.
I look forward to welcoming you on your return.

Kind regard,
Richard Curnow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

We arrived with a coach trip from Edwards Travel Wales.
The staff were wonderful - professional and could not do enough to please without being overpowering. The restaurant was waiter served breakfast and dinner - food was sublime.
Our compliments to all the staff. We most definitely had a bargain.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank elizabeth20112011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard_Curnow, General Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Good afternoon, Thank you for writing about your experience at the Queens Hotel.
It’s lovely to read your kind words about the staff, I’m so pleased their professionalism added to your experience. I will be sure to pass on your compliments to all the staff for their service and the high quality of food served throughout your stay.
I look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind regard,
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

Stayed for a week in this lovely hotel - conveniently situated -very clean hotel with excellent meals.I had breakfast and an evening meal and enjoyed all the selections offered.Would definitely return

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Chrissy846
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard_Curnow, General Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Good afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. It’s great to hear you enjoyed our position within Paignton, we are very lucky to have such a prime location.
I will pass on your kind words to the housekeeping as they do such a great job on keeping the hotel so clean and to the restaurant/ kitchen team for the excellent standard of food.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.


Kind regards,
Richard Curnow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

as part of the Duchy group Ive also used the Headlands , yes the rooms at the queens are bijou it caters for many single rooms ,an advantage for my party of 6 ,the breakfast has a high variety and is of better quailty than found in many more expensive places, (have that tee shirt) the evening meals are varied, some might crib at the vegtable selection but there are 4 courses and coffee, we were well satified and often declined the cheeses and biscuits, for what you pay here you get very good fair quality meals, refreshing entertainment, a comfy and clean bedsroom ,attentive staff , and made welcome

the management do keep an eye on reviews and respond proffessionally when required , thats great to know they are interested and keep their finger on the button,not many proprietors do this, you can search the net for hours and wont beat these hotels for clean comfy value, you dont pay much but you do get a lot Pete 02-09 -13 7 days

Room Tip: there can be some noise from kitchen extraction starts around 7.30 in certain rooms the vent runs c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Vit6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard_Curnow, General Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Good afternoon, thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I’m very pleased you enjoyed your time at The Queens Hotel and other hotels within The Duchy Group on previous occasions.
It’s good to know you enjoyed the food and the entertainment for the week (Maybe next time you are with us your friends will let you see something at the cinema). Thank you for mentioning the warm welcome and the attentive staff, we always aim for the highest level customer service and its great to hear your appreciation.
It would be a pleasure to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind regards,
Richard Curnow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire, England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

We have just had our annual holiday August Bank Holiday weekend and thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Queens. As usual our arrival was met with a friendly welcome. We thought the food we had was excellent and there was plenty of choice both on the breakfast and evening menus. Well done to the Chef and team along with the waiting staff. Our evenings in were made enjoyable not just by the entertainment but also by the friendliness of the bar staff in particular Dave and Keith. Looking forward to our next holiday there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeeDCullen, General Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Good afternoon, thank you for your time and kind words.
It’s great to hear you arrived to a warm welcome.
I have printed a copy of your glowing endorsement of our food for the Chef and his team, they all work very hard and it’s great for them to see your appreciation.
Dave and Keith will be so happy, their service along with great entertainment really does make for a great night.

I look forward to welcoming you back for your next holiday.

Kind regards,
Richard Curnow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights from 01/09/13 not as part of a tour I booked on advice from other reviewers as we wanted to see that part of Devon.We got just what we required a first floor room bath & shower, the room was a good size a bit dated but very clean &well serviced at the front of the hotel. The food we found to be pretty much your average 3* hotel fare and the staff were happy to swop it around to suit if you required my only my only gripe about the restaurant was that everything operated at 100mph while you ate the staff hovered waiting to pounce, the location was great 3mins either to the front or town centre. On balance we would stay again.

Room Tip: ask for front of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank collinsjcbman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeeDCullen, General Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review of the Queens Hotel, I am glad to hear you enjoyed your break in general, it’s nice to know we come highly recommended for this lovely part of Devon.
I am happy we fulfilled your room requirements and your food requests within the restaurant. The restaurant staff should ask you if you are ready for your next course as everyone has a different preference for the pace of dining. Thank you for bringing this to my attention, I have spoken with the restaurant team to insure they do this with all guests.
I look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards,
Richard Curnow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paignton
0.4 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#4 of 18 in Paignton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Paignton Seafront (Goodrington Sands) Hotel
0.3 mi away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#1 of 18 in Paignton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bay Esplanade Hotel
Bay Esplanade Hotel
#9 of 18 in Paignton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 89 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
1.0 mi away
Preston Sands Hotel
Preston Sands Hotel
#11 of 18 in Paignton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queens Hotel

Property: Queens Hotel
Address: 2 Queens Road, Paignton TQ4 6AT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Paignton
#4 Family Hotel in Paignton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Queens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and LateRooms so you can book your Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing