We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect - with or without pets”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Commodore

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Commodore
Ranked #5 of 100 Paignton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect - with or without pets”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

We stayed here for one night, as we had decided to extend our stay and the hotel we had already booked with were full for the additional night. We wished we had booked this hotel first as the other one we stayed in (the Sundale) was terrible compared to this one.

It was right on the front, clean, modern, and friendly. They were great with our dogs and we even got a pet welcome bag on arrival with towels, food bowls etc which really helped. A walk through a park was literally right accross the road and perfect for walking the dogs before breakfast. Breakfast was lovely. I can't fault this hotel at all and will definitely be booking in the future.

We were the only ones staying in the hotel on the night we stayed which we couldn't understand as it was perfect. All we can think of is the price - it was significantly more to stay at this hotel than the Sundale, but you get what you pay for and while the Sundale was nice and cheap it really wasn't great at all. Would reccommend this hotel to anyone unless you're absolutley terrified of dogs ofcourse.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alison s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    44
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
64
175
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liphook, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

We have just returned from a very pleasant weekend break at The Commodore Hotel. Our room was clean tidy and comfortable. The breakfasts are plentiful and delicious; Only 2 minute walk to the town, train and bus station. Stewart and Katrina are a very friendly couple and make you feel very welcome; nothing is too much trouble.An excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gill b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

This is our second visit to The Commodore, the first time it was brilliant and that's not changed, with rooms that probably have some of the best sea views in Torbay and defiantly the best in Paignton. We had a top floor room the last time we stayed and this time we were on the first floor, as soon as you get up you open the curtains to a beautiful sunrise across the bay, look to your left and you see Paignton beach stretching away towards the pier. look to your right and you see the beautiful harbour complex that looks like it hasn't changed in character from the day it was built. We were welcomed back by Katrina and Stuart, lovely friendly couple that will do all they can to help you, they both have a good local knowledge and are only too happy to share it with you so whether your a first timer that wants to that needs some pointers of local attractions or like us that have been to Torbay a few times and want to check out the best place to eat, they will help you. Our first floor room was very comfortable, good bed and a decent size on suit, you may have read about the breakfasts, well I just doesn't get much better than this. we stuck to the full English, with cereal, juice toast and coffee (with top up coffee) but you could have a vegetarian option or even scrambled egg with smoked salmon and there were other options to choose from, you don't need to eat for the best part of the day after that. The location of The Commodore is ideal. it's close to the beach, harbour and a selection of restaurants and pubs without it being rowdy and only a short walk to the main attractions of Paignton and a more livelier night life and a bigger selection of eateries and bars. Also The Commodore is only a short walk from the main bus station for local attractions, the main rail links and the Dart Valley steam trains, so you can get a bit spoilt for choice, we can recommend the "Round Robin" excursion with Open top bus to Totnes where you can spend a couple of hours then on to the river boat for a slow cruise down the river Dart for a chance to have a bite to eat and a look round Dartmouth after that jump on the ferry to get aboard the steam train back to Paignton, Great day out. Getting back to the Commodore, you would have to go a long way to beat this B&B we only stayed for 3 nights over the August bank holiday but we couldn't fault it, it's a lovely clean place in a fantastic location and if you look at the reviews I think you'll find most people agree, so go on give it a try.

Room Tip: All the rooms at the front have really good sea views across the bay, some of the rooms are more com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeoffHughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

This was our 2nd visit to the Commodore. The room has been recently refurbished and has a new bathroom with a lovely shower. The B&B is right on the front, within skimming distance of the sea and the Paignton regatta was on during our stay with entertainment and fireworks on during the week..

Stuart and Katrina made us feel very welcome and the breakfasts were the best ever and kept us going till well into the afternoon. The extended family of Sue and Peggy were excellent company when we took advantage of the new bar. Wonderful B&B. Great location with on-site parking and many attractions right on the doorstep.

We will definitely stay again

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

We made a late booking after deciding to take the kids and dog on a traditional British seaside break. The online booking process for The Commodore was very quick and easy, even accounting for our dog bed request!

We parked right outside in a private parking area for sole use of guests.

We were greeted on arrival by the very friendly and helpful Katrina and were shown to our room and given a 'doggie bag' of blankets, towels and bowls - a very nice gesture.

Our room was the Napoleon Bonaparte room which has a double bed, bunk bed, wardrobe, dresser, tv, kettle/tea/coffee/hot chocolate, and an en-suite bathroom with shower overhead. The room was large and airy and spotlessly clean. The bathroom was immaculate - not a spot of limescale anywhere! Towels and linen were fresh and for those who do not have a canine in their lives I can assure you there was no hint of doggie smell anywhere!

We slept soundly with no disturbances and enjoyed a wonderful breakfast each morning.

The Commodore is right on the Sea front at Paignton and from there we explored the whole of the coastline from Dartmouth, through Brixham, Paignton, Torquay, Shaldon, Teignmouth and Dawlish .

I'd stay here again and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it

Room Tip: The Napoleon Bonaparte room doesn't have a view so if that's important to you specify your r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cannyscotslass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Would definatly recomend this hotel lovely clean hotel and lovely people who run it nice location and would definatly go again we had a sea view and it was lovely the breakfast was cooked to perfection really hot and plentiful and you had a good choice

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolh1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

If you’re looking for a place to stay in Paignton, The Commodore, should be your first port of call.
From the first phone call to check on availability and to make sure the dog was welcome, until it was reluctantly are time to leave, nothing was too much trouble for are hosts Katrina, Stuart, Sue and Peggy Sue, even supplying plates and cutlery for us to eat are take away on are first night.
Katrina meet us on arrival with a smile and to make a fuss of the dog, and after being shown how to use the key fobs we were given the "doggie bag" containing towels, bowls, blankets and a cover for the bed. We were then taken to the Isambard Kingdom Brunel room on the second floor. Open the door to the room and we were greeted by the wonderful view of the Paignton beach and the sea disappearing to the horizon, lovely.
As they say on their website "We provide some of the best 'value for money' Bed and Breakfast Guest House Accommodation in Paignton". That is an understatement, the room looked newly decorated and was spotless with everything we needed in a room, tea and coffee making facilities, fan and a flat screen TV. The En-suite was just as spotless and the powerful shower was just what we needed after spending time on the dog beach.
In the morning, after waking to the sun rising over the horizon we went for breakfast and Katrina took are orders. Stuart cooked a very filling full English, we also had toast and a pot of tea. With fruit juice, cereals, fruit and yogurts also available there was a lot of breakfast choices.
The Commodore is situated just far enough away from the hussle and bussle of the town centre to get a good night’s sleep, but close enough that after only a few minutes’ walk you have all the entertainment that Paignton has to offer. For the dog people staying at The Commodore, turning Right out of the front door you and your K9 companion can walk to the harbour and up onto the coastal path around Roundham Head and onto Goodrington Sands were you will find an amazing safe sandy dog beach.

We had a great few days at The Commodore, and would like to thank Katrina and Stuart for the very warm welcome and for all their hard work in making are stay a very pleasing experience, and we wish them all the best for the future and look forward to visiting you again soon.

Penny & Paul, Cheltenham

P.S did we mention about the amazing views from just lying on the bed?

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paignton hotels
0.4 mi away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#2 of 18 in Paignton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Paignton Seafront (Goodrington Sands) Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#4 of 18 in Paignton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Blue Waters Lodge
Blue Waters Lodge
#2 of 100 in Paignton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
0.2 mi away
Belle Dene Guest House
Belle Dene Guest House
#4 of 100 in Paignton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.3 mi away
Two Beaches
Two Beaches
#1 of 100 in Paignton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Commodore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Commodore

Property: The Commodore
Address: 14 Esplanade Road, Paignton TQ4 6EB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 100 B&Bs / Inns in Paignton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Commodore 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location, Location, Location. It's Great to Stay and Play in the UK if you are staying at The Commodore, Paignton, devon. We are a traditional family-run seafront B&B offering guest accommodation all year. The beach is just across the road, as is the 3D cinema, Pirate Bay crazy golf and the new Geo-Play park which is free and the kids love it. We welcome families with children and dogs and our aim is to make your stay as welcoming and relaxing as possible. 4 of our rooms have uninterrupted sea views across Paignton Green to Torquay and Brixham. The location is excellent with bus, coach, railway stations, the town center and the harbour, with it's ferry services just a few minutes walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Commodore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Commodore Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing