We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice bright room, very clean and welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Florida Guest House
Ranked #40 of 97 Paignton B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

We stopped for 3 nights, room was very clean, warm and nicely decorated, bed was really comfortable, plenty of tea/coffee , ensuite was small, shower was a tight squeeze and a bit dated, never the less spotlessly clean with free toiletries. Just a short walk from the beach and about 10mins from paignton centre. Hosts very friendly and welcoming :-)

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1987catwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (101)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 101 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the florida guesthouse for 5 nights last week and thoroughly enjoyed it! Tim and Pauline were fantastic hosts!! The room we stayed in was clean, warm and the bed was incredibly comfortable! The breakfasts were great quality and very filling and we had enough tea or coffee to wake us up for the day!! We didn't want to come home!! We will definitely be staying there again asap!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Shaznian33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

The Florida Guest House was situated very well, being only a few minutes walk from the sea front. The room that we were given was adequest if a little small, my partner and I are both quite tall and we really struggled as the room was a little small for us. It was, however, clean and tidyand the breafast in the morning was served hot and set us up for the day ahead. The owners were very pleasant and I can not fault them. Our stay at the Florida was nice and I would recomment it for a short stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EThompsonJoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Stayed at The Florida for two nights with the son.
Very nice place with friendly hosts Tim and Pauline.
The room we had (2) was very clean. Tea and coffee well stocked, breakfast well cooked and enough to keep you going through til dinner.
Only a ten minute steady walk into the town, even shorter if the tides out and you walk along the beach. And only a minutes walk to the beach.
Would definitely stay here again :-)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drwilko1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

me and my friends stayed here in july and had a great time. the hotel is very nice and clean and only a few minutes from the beach with a bar just at the top of the road. the town is around 15 minute walk away, we parked outside the hotel and would definitley return

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed at the florida guest house paignton for 4 nights it was excellent breakfast as u want it and plenty of it clean tidy and very helpful hosts we WOULD stay again when we get down to devon again

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robertas123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Stayed here for one night. A few yards from the Embassy Bar in Colin Street and a few more to the sea front. Friendly and helpful welcome on arrival from Pauline and Tim, comfortable bed and full English breakfast for only £4. Great value for money and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paignton hotels
0 mi away
Rosslyn Hotel
Rosslyn Hotel
#14 of 17 in Paignton
76 reviews
0.9 mi away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#1 of 17 in Paignton
354 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Redcliffe Hotel
The Redcliffe Hotel
#6 of 17 in Paignton
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Berry Hotel
Berry Hotel
#12 of 17 in Paignton
21 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Paignton Seafront (Goodrington Sands) Hotel
0.3 mi away
Preston Sands Hotel
Preston Sands Hotel
#10 of 17 in Paignton
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Florida Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Florida Guest House

Address: 9 Colin Road, Paignton TQ3 2NR, England (Formerly Florida Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Paignton
Hotel Class:3 star — The Florida Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Florida Guest House is a family friendly bed and breakfast situated in the English Riviera, just 80 yards from the beautiful Preston Sands beach, and a short level walk to Paignton beach and Paignton Harbour.With it's ideal location it is perfect for days on the beach, strolls to the local shops and evenings spent at any of the many restaurants and bars.Pauline and Tim offer a warm welcome, a delicious home cooked breakfast and a comfortable and relaxing atmosphere to help you unwind and enjoy your break in Devon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Florida Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Florida Guest House Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing