We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yet another relaxing and enjoyable week with Yvonne & Mark”
Review of The Ambassador

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Ambassador
Ranked #20 of 96 Paignton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 6, 2012

This is the best B & B EVER!!!! Such a warm welcome. It is perfectly located and superb value for money. The rooms are well supplied with tea, coffee & hot chocolate daily. The beds are very comfortable and the ensuites are well equipped. The breakfast is amazing with choices to suit all needs. Having stayed there 3 times already and looking to book a fourth, I would highly recommend the Ambassador as the perfect place to stay while in Paignton. Alan

Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
1  Thank Mrfixit68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dugetta, Owner at The Ambassador, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

We enjoyed having you stay with us again and look forward to your return next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (186)
There are newer reviews for The Ambassador
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 186 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2012

The locaton was brill and quiet as its in town but off a side street. The breakfast was really good (the eggs was cooked brill) you can also have top up on toast. It was really clean they would top the tea and coffee tray. It is worth the money that you pay we certainly be coming back here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kirstygeay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dugetta, Owner at The Ambassador, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Delighted you enjoyed your stay and that it met your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Having written about The Ambassador a few times, I find myself telling people what a fantastic place to stay it is,yet again, but you cannot improve on perfection, and that is what the Ambassador is, so book a holiday there and you won't ever want to stay anywhere else in Paignton.
Gail & Terry

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PorthNewquayHotpink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dugetta, Owner at The Ambassador, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

We thank you again for your kind review and look forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Arrived to a very warm welcome. Good advice about where to eat/drink/visit in the area. Very cosy room with en-suite & very comfortable bed. Plenty tea/coffee/hot chocolate, replenished daily. Great range of toiletries supplied if needed with luxury quality towels. Breakfast to die for! Fantastic hospitality. We very much enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend to anyone visiting Paignton. Will stay again if in the area. Many thanks to Yvonne and Mark.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atholl a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dugetta, Owner at The Ambassador, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

We are delighted you enjoyed your break and the breakfasts!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Having just looked at the other reviews, it's very difficult to add anymore praise. This is an excellent Guest House, perfectly located (just 5 minutes walk from Bus & Railway Stations) and Mark & Yvonne were excellent hosts. We stayed in Room 4 for 3 nights and after our days out we came back to a really clean and tidy room. Breakfast was brilliant, and such good choices. I can personally recommend the Full English, definitely sets you up for the day. Despite the showery days, it was always nice to come back to a warm and friendly house. Well done to the Ambassador.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malda57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dugetta, Owner at The Ambassador, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay and we appreciate your kind comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Booked this stay of only one night on a business trip at short notice. I stayed in room 2 and I had an excellent nights sleep in a super comfy bed in a super cosy room and went on to have a super full English breakfast cooked by super chef !!!!!! I was amazed at the choices on the breakfast menu and I would have loved to be able to stay for longer and would love to return again soon. Greeting and hospitality were super aswell. Off road parking is available for some vehicles and the accomodation is spotlessly clean with a warm cosy feel to it. Good Location and excellent value for money. Thank you Mark and Yvonne.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dugetta, Owner at The Ambassador, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Thank you for your kind review and we are glad your short business stay was memorable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Just spent a weekend at this guest house when our daughter took part in Dart 10km swim.How great to find a single room that is not just a box and that had a super size ensuite with large shower. Our double was also a good size and the bed nearly as confy as ours at home. Great advice from Mark on where to eat out and his breakfast skills are well up to scratch.

Room Tip: If you are tall make sure you avoid the room that has a rail at the bottom of the bed. Room 4 bed is...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dugetta, Owner at The Ambassador, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. It was pleasing to hear your stay was enjoyable and welcome your kind comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paignton hotels
1.0 mi away
Preston Sands Hotel
Preston Sands Hotel
#11 of 17 in Paignton
287 reviews
0.0 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#5 of 17 in Paignton
517 reviews
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Paignton Seafront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#1 of 17 in Paignton
340 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bay Esplanade Hotel
Bay Esplanade Hotel
#9 of 17 in Paignton
527 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#3 of 17 in Paignton
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ambassador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ambassador

Address: 23 Sands Road, Paignton TQ4 6EG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Paignton
Price Range: $76 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ambassador 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small recommended 4 star guesthouse close to all amenities and beach. An ideal location to explore all Torbay and South Devon have to offer. Family run with comfortable, well maintained and clean en-suite rooms. Free car parking available to guests and free wifi throughout the property. Hearty breakfast included with traditional, continental or alternatives like smoked salmon and scrambled eggs. Larger superior doubles available for longer stays and special occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your The Ambassador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ambassador Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing