We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Certainly a place to re-commend”
Review of Bristol House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bristol House
Ranked #66 of 96 Paignton B&B and Inns
Hamman-Sousse, Susah, Tunisia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Certainly a place to re-commend”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

A hearty breakfast with exceptional service , high standards of cleanliness and comfort - a very friendly welcome and a continued friendliness throughout our 72 hour stay , nothing was too much trouble for the proprietor(s)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    18
    1
    5
    5
See reviews for
5
15
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Just spent 3 days at this bed and breakfast very basic small room at top of the house not what we were expecting at all were a bit shocked by the size of the room and 2 single beds shared toilet and shower which was so tiny, whole place could do with a good clean up and dusting are room was not to bad best thing was the breakfast no luxury hotel

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank billaslet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paignton hotels

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Friendly people , comfy nights sleep , clean and tidy : ) cant go wrong for £46 !!! En-suite room and a very filling breakfast , stones throw from the beach and local attractions , this guest house does all the basics right , we were welcomed with a smile and we were allowed to leave our car in the drive whilst we went shopping , will prob return if in Paignton again : )

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 1 night which was to much after I paid the lady took me to the room at first I did not realised how bad this place was as I had just arrived after 1 Hour I checked the bed and found hairs and black bits on the sheet I had to sleep on top of the bed and keep my clothes on as I kept itching. the lounge was dirty and dusty it had gerbils in cages in the lounge

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank paul87coventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

The room was OK and clean enough. And I suppose, yes, you don't expect luxury in a budget hotel. But it was the smell of the place - the whole building really stinks! The shared toilet was so tiny there was hardly room to sit down on the loo once you'd managed to close the door. Shower room tiny too.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mecca83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

This place is a good basic hotel. When you pay £17 a night you cannot expect the world!

The rooms were clean and comfortable, and the washing facilities are of good basic standard. The manager is a jolly chap who cooks a mean breakfast and is generally happy to help you with anything you need. The lounge is indeed used by the family, so it didn't feel like it was a part of the hotel at all.

I would definitely come back here, if I was to stay in Paignton again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johanna02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2011

The lounge was used by the family and at no time were we invited to use it besides there were at least 12 rats in a labrynth of cages one family had a dog which was allowed to lie under the table at breakfast. The only games we saw were when their children unlocked the cupboard ro access them for their own use there were books but 95 per cent were in dutch. the toilet was so small that your knees touched the door and there was no basin in there, there was no where to put clothes in the shower room only the floor and our room was unbearably hot. the dining room and all staircases were very dusty

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank freddie004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paignton hotels
0.2 mi away
Torbay Court Hotel
Torbay Court Hotel
#15 of 17 in Paignton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
0.0 mi away
Brampton Guesthouse
Brampton Guesthouse
#32 of 96 in Paignton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.2 mi away
Waverley Guest house
Waverley Guest house
#61 of 96 in Paignton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Barclay Guest Houses
Barclay Guest Houses
#80 of 96 in Paignton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Jacaranda Guest House
The Jacaranda Guest House
#45 of 96 in Paignton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dalehurst Guest House
Dalehurst Guest House
#41 of 96 in Paignton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bristol House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bristol House

Property: Bristol House
Address: 16 Garfield Road, Paignton TQ4 6AU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Paignton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bristol House 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bristol House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bristol House Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing