We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wentworth Guest House
Ranked #35 of 96 Paignton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

From start to finish our stay was excellent. Perri and Allan are superb hosts with nothing being too much trouble.
The location is great with plenty of parking and just a short walk from town and with
I would recommend the Wentworth to anyone!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kellyt43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
There are newer reviews for Wentworth Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 79 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2013

We like tihe wentworth guest house Allen and Perri have always been very accomadating and the Dog Room is great as we have our own front door,. The room is very clean and tidy with tea and coffee facilities in the room.

The breakfast sets you up for the day ahead never had any complaints with the food or rooms.

We have been staying at the Wentworth for 3 years and found Perri & Allan to be very helpful when booking and always found them both to be Friendly and Warm.

Goodrington Park is just over the road, in all a lovely place to visit and stay ....... And yes we will be back with our dog next year.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robertta6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed at the Wentworth for five nights and it was the perfect location for visiting the local attractions. Goodrington Park is opposite and the beach is a 2 minute walk through it as is the Splashdown water park, which we went to twice as the kids liked it so much. Paignton in a 10 minute walk over the headland.

The guest house was spotless and the service was excellent. Breakfast was very good.
We had the family room (room 8) which has bunk beds. The room was fine for us, but a little small, but we knew it would be from the photos.

Perri and Allan were very welcoming and looked after us wonderfully.

Well worth a visit.

Room Tip: You can see the sea from the family room as it is at the top of the building.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve123421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Would highly recommend this guest house. Location is perfect, next to the park, which we strolled through on our way to the beach, perfect when you have young children. Rooms are nicely furnished and immaculate. Breakfast was lovely, with plenty of choice. The owners, Perri and Allan were friendly and helpful. A lovely short break.

Room Tip: We stayed in rooms 9 & 10, which were perfect for a young family, as they are close together and...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Hotel was very clean, comfortable bed and clean modern bathroom. We were welcomed by Perry & Allen on arrival for our 3 night stay and served with a pot of tea and a useful chat. After that the only contact we had with them was at breakfast. We interpreted the menu incorrectly and ended up with sausage, egg and tomatoes only for the first morning. When we asked we were told we had ordered incorrectly but there was no offer to put it right and give us the full English we had also ticked on the menu form. We also asked for a balcony (if they had one) or a spacious room. I was a bit perturbed when we were asked for the balance outstanding prior to seeing the room. We got a small room at the back of the property. The Hotel was not fully booked at the time. Also, there is no guarantee of a car parking space outside the property. You may have to go on the pay and display one until late evening. One other thing I would mention is that if you want to return and sit in the lounge, which is pleasant, you cannot make a drink downstairs and have to go up to your room for one. In other B & B's i have used, there is the facility to use in the breakfast room for this. Having said all that, it is a clean hotel with comfortable bedding. I didnt find the breakfasts as 'outstanding' as some guests seem to be saying - it was ok. To Perry I would recommend you lose the yellow flowers in the sitting room and put something a bit more modern and elegant there and lose the white gloves at breakfast time Allen, hold the plate with a clean teatowel. The Hotel is ideally situated for the beach which is lovely, the Red Rock Cafe which is very good and of course the Steam Railway. Would stay there again perhaps.

Room Tip: See the room before you buy.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lynandjohnturner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wentw0rthguesth0use, Owner at Wentworth Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Hello Lynda and John, I am please you thought our Guesthouse was clean and comfortable and that you enjoyed your welcome. I am sorry you thought we did not spend enough time with you but we are very busy this time of year. There is a bell in the hallway if you need us for anything. I am sorry you did not understand the breakfast menu, I would have been very happy to have helped you fill it in if you had asked. I do think I keep it quite simple though, all you have to do is tick what you would like. On your first morning you were given exactly what you had asked for. On the second morning although you had ticked what you DID NOT want I managed to sort that out. I think you must be getting our guesthouse mixed up with another one. Nowhere on my website or on Booking.com where you booked your stay, is there a mention that we have a balcony. As you booked online how could you have possibly asked me if you could have a room with a balcony. It is our policy to accept payment on arrival as quite often I am still cooking breakfast when guests leave and I do not like making guests wait. Any guest is welcome to see their room first before making payment. Since we took over the guesthouse over 3 years ago, no one has ever asked for their money back because they did not like their room. Parking is free and unrestricted in our road, I don't know what pay and display car park you are refering to, but I don't know of any guest that has ever had to do this before. Yes we were fully booked when you stayed with us. I am a bit confused to your comments regarding drinks. On arrival guests are offerd a free cup of tea in the lounge. We have a fully licensed bar and the tariff clearly shows the prices for tea and coffee which we are happy to serve in the lounge. All guest rooms do have a good supply of tea and coffee making facilities. Your final comments I feel are a bit unnecessary and hurtful, Allan's gloves are staying!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Perri and Allan gave us a very warm welcome. The B&B was in a lovely spot near the beach and the park at goodrington. The rooms were very comfortatable and the breakfast menu vast, with a chance to change your choice on a daily basis. The front lounge was a lovely morning and evening sun trap and so peaceful, unless you count the herring gulls! Parking is limited but was not a problem. An excellent guesthouse, which I would not hesitate to recommend.

Room Tip: I was in a sigle room at the front over looking the park. I do not think that the back of the house...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarionKeithPassat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

On arrival we received a warm welcome by Allan and Perri. The room was well presented and the bathroom was modern and very clean. The breakfast was superb and set you up for a day of enjoying the Torbay area. The location has good parking nearby or if your lucky, on the premises. The beach is very close and has facilities for dog owners with their own beach area. Paignton is only a 10 minute walk away. This guest house offers luxury accommodation at a very reasonable price. Thanks to Perri and Allan for a lovely stay and we definitely will be returning.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank simon c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paignton hotels
0.0 mi away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#1 of 17 in Paignton
340 reviews
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Paignton Seafront
1.3 mi away
Preston Sands Hotel
Preston Sands Hotel
#11 of 17 in Paignton
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#5 of 17 in Paignton
518 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#3 of 17 in Paignton
569 reviews
0.2 mi away
St Marguerite Guest House
St Marguerite Guest House
#39 of 96 in Paignton
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wentworth Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wentworth Guest House

Address: 18 Youngs Park Road | Goodrington Sands, Paignton TQ4 6BU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Paignton
Price Range: $79 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wentworth Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Wentworth Guest House in Goodrington We offer our guests a friendly family run home from home by the sea !! With exceptional quality throughout. The highly recommended Wentworth Guest House offers superb quality bed & breakfast in a fully refurbished modern 10 room guest house in the heart of the english riviera. We overlook beautiful Goodrington Park and lake, with its wealth of birdlife. The beach, and facilities of quay west about 200 metres away, with a short stroll to numerous bars and restaurants. Our quiet park-side location is separate from the noisy, hustle and bustle of the busy holiday resort, but we are within a short walking distance of all the attractions and amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Wentworth Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wentworth Guest House Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing