We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wentworth Guest House
Ranked #38 of 97 Paignton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Perri and Allan gave us a very warm welcome. The B&B was in a lovely spot near the beach and the park at goodrington. The rooms were very comfortatable and the breakfast menu vast, with a chance to change your choice on a daily basis. The front lounge was a lovely morning and evening sun trap and so peaceful, unless you count the herring gulls! Parking is limited but was not a problem. An excellent guesthouse, which I would not hesitate to recommend.

Room Tip: I was in a sigle room at the front over looking the park. I do not think that the back of the house...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarionKeithPassat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (83)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 83 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2013

On arrival we received a warm welcome by Allan and Perri. The room was well presented and the bathroom was modern and very clean. The breakfast was superb and set you up for a day of enjoying the Torbay area. The location has good parking nearby or if your lucky, on the premises. The beach is very close and has facilities for dog owners with their own beach area. Paignton is only a 10 minute walk away. This guest house offers luxury accommodation at a very reasonable price. Thanks to Perri and Allan for a lovely stay and we definitely will be returning.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank simon c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

All comments about breakfast and location are indeed true, however my problem isn't with the quality of their English breakfast. Two days into our holiday I was told that I was ‘naughty’ for taking the towels from the room down to the beach. I felt slightly spoken down to by the manageress’ but put it down to over friendliness. Then on the fourth day when me and my partner came in to get our things for the beach we were stopped by the manageress and asked to come up to our room. We were led in and told that our mattress and the room “Smells of wee”. I, shocked at the further suggestion that one of us was a bed wetter, apologised for the smell but promised and gave my word that it wasn't in fact urine. “We’ll just have to agree to disagree because it definitely is whether it was an accident or not”, was the response I got and after exclaiming 5 times that I am neither a liar nor a bet wetter I received a different quiet, snide comment every time. After explaining my disgust at the way I had been treated and spoken to, the manageress simply waved her arms around shouting, “Well it’s my B&B you don’t know what it’s like!” and proceeded to storm off out the room shouting down the corridor. After offering to pay for the replacement of the mattress the insinuations continued even whilst she was taking payment of £160. When I told her how insulted I was by the constant accusations she told me I was, “just being awkward” and “going on and on and on”. I was indeed going on and on because every time I tried to speak I was interrupted by, “But it is p*ss!” The entire attitude of this woman was utterly appalling and she obviously hadn't been running a guesthouse for very long as she had no idea what so ever of how to handle a difficult situation and had even less idea about customer service. After trying to get my point across countless times and being ignored every time the manageress’ attitude became more and more intolerable with comments like, “If you were confronted by the same evidence I was you would be reacting in exactly the same way!”, to which my response was, “How dare you tell me how I would react you don’t know me.” She then stormed off shouting that I was being rude and she was going to call the police. In addition when my father who happened to be on holiday at the same time as me went in to complain he was told, “If he writes a bad review online I’ll tell everyone he’s a bed wetter”. I decided not to stay the night after how I had been treated but did not receive my money back because, “I've lost the room for the night now”, despite the fact that they were not even fully booked. I have also been charged £160 for a new mattress when I had no legal responsibility to do so and the other one was not even beyond repair. The situation was handled atrociously and the manageress didn't seem to understand that I don’t care whether or not she or anybody else thinks that me or my partner wet the bed as we both know we didn't, my problem was with her attitude and conduct. Appalling customer service, an absolute disgrace, never been so offended in my life.

Room Tip: Rooms are made out nice but with no views and servicing only includes making of beds and clean drink...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank davewrightpersonal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

The wentworth guest house is really lovely and comfortable and perri and Allan are so nice and friendly!
Very good full English breakfast and also very good continental breakfast with bagel or croissant!
It's only 2 minutes to the beach and not far away from harbour and city centre!

I would really recommend it!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Schnubb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

My wife and I spent a night at the Wentworth Guest House on our way down to Cornwall and I can honestly say it is the best B&B I have ever stayed in. Upon arrival we were greeted by Perri & Allen who were very warm and courteous towards us and promptly asked if we would like a tea or coffee. The decor in our room was of a very high standard and the bedding was lovely. I always judge a B&B buy the towels and the ones in the Wentworth were thick, soft and fluffy. The breakfast was also very nice with plenty of choice and Allen delivered the cooked breakfast wearing white gloves, which was a nice touch.
The Wentworth is next to a lovely park with a boating lake and very close to the beach. It is situated about 10-12 min walk away from the town centre in a nice quiet area and is worth all of the 4 star grading.
If you want a clean quiet B&B with excellent hosts, then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank audrey1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

this is a great place to stay in paignton ,Allen and Perry are such welcoming owners the place is clean and tidy free wi-fi lovely breakfast nice and hot,good information about things to do and see good local knowledge they have, leaflets around the guest house if your a first timer would stay again next year

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank arlloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Spent one night with the extended family, and could not have asked for better service, Perri and Allan were the perfect hosts and nothing was too much trouble, and of course breakfast was absolutely scrumptious.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WYanoutsos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paignton hotels
1 mi away
Rosslyn Hotel
Rosslyn Hotel
#14 of 17 in Paignton
76 reviews
0 mi away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#1 of 17 in Paignton
354 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Redcliffe Hotel
The Redcliffe Hotel
#6 of 17 in Paignton
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Berry Hotel
Berry Hotel
#12 of 17 in Paignton
21 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Paignton Seafront (Goodrington Sands) Hotel
1.3 mi away
Preston Sands Hotel
Preston Sands Hotel
#10 of 17 in Paignton
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wentworth Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wentworth Guest House

Address: 18 Youngs Park Road | Goodrington Sands, Paignton TQ4 6BU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Paignton
Price Range: $68 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wentworth Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Wentworth Guest House in Goodrington We offer our guests a friendly family run home from home by the sea !! With exceptional quality throughout. The highly recommended Wentworth Guest House offers superb quality bed & breakfast in a fully refurbished modern 10 room guest house in the heart of the english riviera. We overlook beautiful Goodrington Park and lake, with its wealth of birdlife. The beach, and facilities of quay west about 200 metres away, with a short stroll to numerous bars and restaurants. Our quiet park-side location is separate from the noisy, hustle and bustle of the busy holiday resort, but we are within a short walking distance of all the attractions and amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Wentworth Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wentworth Guest House Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing