We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas relatives visiting(pressie time)”
Review of Wulfruna Hotel

Wulfruna Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wulfruna Hotel
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Paignton
TADCASTER
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Christmas relatives visiting(pressie time)”
Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

Lovely seafront guest house.Clean comfortable ground floor room(as requested).
We were the only guests in this small hotel,but were treated wonderfully, we were not "in the way"
The fullEnglish breakfastwas as good as any I've had andbetter than most.
The weather didn't play fair so confined somewhat to going out around the rain.The blow was softened by the free use of a telescope and decent binoculars.
All in all a very enjoyable stay and worth a visit for the breakfast alone.Thank you to Wendy and I'm sorry but I didn't get your name sir.Once again thank you.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TadcasterGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    16
    3
    3
    3
See reviews for
19
36
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 17, 2013

A most memorable and pleasing enjoyable stay with Wendy and Des. Great hosts and the breakfast was first class and the accommodation was really nice and was just perfect. Room was a great size with en-suite and tea and coffee facilities in the room. The view from our room was great as it looked right out across the sea so the view in the morning was amazing. Would definately recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a nice break.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristineHarrison106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We were fortunate to have stayed at this amazing BnB for two nights in beautiful Paignton.
The hosts Wendy and Des could not have been more hospitable and helpful, going out of their way to make your stay memorable
The room was spacious and immaculately clean. The bed linen was of the highest quality and the
beds sooo comfy.
Their full English breakfast was amazing using the highest quality produce and cooked to perfection. We were surprised to find out that they didn't hire a cook.....they did it all themselves ...amazing.
Wulfruna is on the seaside and centrally located to all the attractions of Paignton
We really enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend it to any traveller to the area
Thank you Wendy and Des for making our stay so perfect.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sulliy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tewkesbury, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Just back from out third time staying here, always receive a lovely welcome from Wendy. The room was again lovely and clean and the bed very comfy. Fantastic breakfast every morning, we were lucky enough to see the red arrows display in front of the hotel while we were there which the kids loved! We will definitely be returning next year if not before

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We booked this so called hotel via Booking.com. It is listed as a 4 star Hotel with a bar. Unfortunately we did not research the hotel before booking. When we arrived the owner Wendy led us to a very small room where she then listed the local attractions and amenities. We enquired about evening meals we were told they only serve evening meals in June & September ??? and when we asked about the bar opening times we were told they only open the bar in November??? as they do not get many guests that required it.The room we had was clean but it was dated and under a seat in the room was what looked like cling film stuck into the carpet it was still there when we left and im sure until someone draws Wendys attention to this review it will stay there.We were very annoyed to find our room door open and no one around when we arrived back from the beach. The hotel has signs up saying they accept no responsibility for item lost or missing from rooms but then leave doors open which will attract thieves. It seems that this 4 star Hotel is really only a B&B . In our 3 days at this hotel we only saw Wendy in the morning when she served breakfast and she seemed a bit withdrawn and not very talkative. On the morning we left no one even bothered to collect the keys from us, we just left them on a hook on the door and that was that. We had prepaid in advance and we think that it was a case of "got your money now jog on" We paid nearly 200.00 GBP 3 nights in a Hotel and what we got was a B&B and there are plenty in the area that we could have stayed in for a lot lot less some a little as 20 GBP per night.The owners should not advertise their "hotel" as having 4 stars without making it clear that THEY have made that assessment and should not say they have a bar if one is not available. We feel we have been totally misled and may even talk to citizens advice about false advertising

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank malcolm b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

My mother, 17 year old daughter and myself have just returned from this hotel. We received a very warm welcome by Wendy who could not do enough for us during our stay. Excellent breakfast, cooked to perfection ! Car park right outside the front of the hotel with plenty of spaces for everyone. Hotel is ideally located within a short walk to local facilities. Our room was on the top floor. Wendy gave us the large family room for 4 rather than the triple room to give us more space and a bed each ! Overall an excellent and enjoyable stay and will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Didn't pre-book just saw the vacancy sign and got the last double room which was a good one.
Stayed there June 22-25 - excellent Sea View with good comfortable double bed, Parking right outside, owners son Jack even got me a paper each morning before breakfast. Breakfast was an unexpected delight eggs, bacon, mushrooms, sausages, baked beans, toast & tea - certainly better than than the usual fare at these hotels where everything seems out of a tin and microwaved.
All the local facilities are within a 5 minute walk - a great place to unwind - will stay again and book this time. Great hosts Des & Wendy and make great recommendations regarding pubs & restaurants.

Room Tip: Sea View on upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeinzBallack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paignton hotels
0.3 mi away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#1 of 17 in Paignton
324 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Torland Hotel
The Torland Hotel
#16 of 17 in Paignton
42 reviews
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Paignton Seafront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Preston Sands Hotel
Preston Sands Hotel
#11 of 17 in Paignton
277 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#4 of 17 in Paignton
524 reviews
0.1 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#5 of 17 in Paignton
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wulfruna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wulfruna Hotel

Property: Wulfruna Hotel
Address: 8 Esplanade Road, Paignton TQ4 6EB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Paignton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Wulfruna Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Wulfruna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wulfruna Hotel Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing