We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!!”
Review of Wulfruna Hotel

Wulfruna Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wulfruna Hotel
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Paignton
Reviewed June 9, 2012

We have just got back from a two night stay and will definately be returning. Wendy gave us a lovely warm welcome and made our 4 year old daughter feel very at home.The room had a marvellous sea view and was lovely and clean, very comfy bed. The breakfast was delicious and there was plenty to choose from. Look forward to going back in the near future.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (70)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 70 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2011

I have just returned from a long weekend at the Wulfruna. I went with my sisters, friend, auntie and mum. We wanted somewhere where my mum and auntie could relax and we couldn't have picked a better place. Wulfruna is right on the sea front and was perfect for my mum and auntie who enjoyed sitting in the comfy chairs in the bay window looking at the sea and watching the world go by!
I had explained to Wendy that they were not very mobile and she gave them a lovely room on the ground floor. All of the rooms were a good size and were extremely clean, comfortable and homely.
We had dinner at the hotel on the first night as we thought it would be easier for mum and aunt and the food was excellent and good value. Wendy explained that they don't normally do evening meals at this time of year but when I explained that walking was a bit of a problem, she went out of her way to put on a lovely meal for us.
There are actually a good selection of bars and restaurants within easy walking distance.
We used the large, comfortable lounge a great deal and my mum said that she felt like she was at home!
I really couldn't fault the Wulfruna. The location is perfect, the rooms are clean and comfotable, the food is excellent and Wendy could not have been more helpful. We will definitely be going back there and are already planning our next trip early next year!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view. We didn't and I so wish we had!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynnmorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2011

We were greeted very warmly, shown to our lovely room & informed of the local establishments that provided good value food.
Breakfast was delicious, and the attention that Wendy gave to her guests added a quality that one would not find very frequently in a bog standard B & B.
Thankyou for such a great stay- we will be back.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank kate j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2011

Wendy is so warm and friendly nothing is to much trouble . She made us feel really welcome and made a fuss over my granddaughter, Room lovely and really clean and the breakfast is fantastic. It was my 2nd time there and we will be going back soon.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nannypasc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2011

We have just returned from another stay at the Wulfruna, we have stayed many times before. The hotel is very comfortable and the location is excellent. You can just leave your car and walkaround and being on the seafront you don't have far to walk back to the hotel.
Wendy can't do enough for you. The breakfast is excellent, plenty of variety and portion sizes are more than adequate. If you want more tea/coffee, toast etc you only have to ask. It is all cooked fresh and served on hot plates so your food does not go cold before you have chance to finish it.
There is always plenty of tea & coffee in your rooms for when you want to relax in your room or have an afternoon nap!
I have recommended this hotel to friends of mine who all agree that this hotel is excellent and can't fault the friendliness of the hosts.
We will be returning again in May for another break and can't wait to get back there for a complete relaxing and comfortable break.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kazzash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2011

Last minute booking for a short break (on-line booking day before arrival); we received a very warm welcome from Wendy upon arrival, who not only showed us to our lovely sea-view room, but took the time to recommend places where we could eat of the evening, including those offering deals.

The bedroom and en-suite shower-room appeared to have been decorated recently and though some of the bedroom furniture was a little dated and the bed itself was a little softer than I personally would have liked, all were more than adequate for our needs. The shower-room could best be described as ‘compact’ but who wants to spend all their time in there?

The breakfasts were very good and set you up for the day!

All in all, a very nice hotel in a good position offering very good service at good value for money; we will certainly return there.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goofy_2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2011

Lovely hotel with friendly owners and delicious breakfast!

Great rooms with sea view and central town location.

Will definitely go back and stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NPT1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paignton hotels
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Paignton Seafront
0.5 mi away
The Redcliffe Hotel
The Redcliffe Hotel
#6 of 17 in Paignton
414 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#3 of 17 in Paignton
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Preston Sands Hotel
Preston Sands Hotel
#11 of 17 in Paignton
297 reviews
0.2 mi away
Berry Hotel
Berry Hotel
#12 of 17 in Paignton
21 reviews
0.3 mi away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#1 of 17 in Paignton
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wulfruna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wulfruna Hotel

Address: 8 Esplanade Road, Paignton TQ4 6EB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Paignton
Price Range: $84 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wulfruna Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Wulfruna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wulfruna Hotel Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing