We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food, great staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mahabharat

Mahabharat
Ranked #57 of 394 Restaurants in Wigan
Cuisines: Indian, Balti, Asian, Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Leigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent food, great staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

We visited as a group of 6 on Saturday a couple of weeks ago. We were all very impressed. I thought the food was delicious and the chicken was perfect. The staff were were friendly and helpful. The building itself is modern and clean. Prices a little bit on the expensive side. I would definitely go back and recommend it to others.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    21
    8
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

Visited the restaurant on Saturday and I really didn't enjoy the experience. I felt the food was over priced and poor. The Nawabi Murghi which my partner ordered (£11.95) was simply a deconstructed Bhuna but a smaller portion size. The chicken was dry and the sauce too salty. I ordered the lamb Rogan Josh, it was greasy and tasteless as was the naan bread I ordered to accompany it. The staff were very pleasant and the building is lovely, it's just a shame the food didn't match up to them.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wigan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“good food but overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

went tonight for a meal, not booked but shown straight to a table,the place is very nice,the staff are great but the menu is to much,to look at everything on the menu takes quite a long time.the food was nice,nothing special,the price was high,ok food but not worth the high price.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zoe p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nirvana for curryholics”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

We have been eating at the Mahabharat for over 15 years, from the days when it was a very modest outfit located over the top of the pie shop! It's very much more sophisticated these days, magnificently housed in a former baptist chapel that has been superbly refurbished.
The food here is always good and the service, even when they are very busy, is always spot-on.
Regulars can benefit from the VIP diners club, which is free to join and which gives you genuine benefits, such as vouchers for discounted meals or even free wine!
Highly recommended.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laticsthatlunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
1 review
“lovely food ,great staff,”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

myself and my family go to the mahabharat for all our family occasions, we have never had a bad meal there ever the food is the nicest Indian food I have ever eaten , the restaurant is beautifully decorated the staff make you feel welcome , I would recommend this restaurant to anyone .

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank jacquie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mahabharat also viewed

Wigan, Greater Manchester
Wigan, Greater Manchester
 
Wigan, Greater Manchester
Wigan, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Mahabharat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing