We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”
Review of Mahabharat

Mahabharat
Ranked #54 of 398 Restaurants in Wigan
Cuisines: Indian, Balti, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Hindley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Lovely indian restaurant. Excellent service and food in a good atmosphere.
Can highly recommend chicken amta or koombe for starters and the pineapple salad as an alternative side dish to rice.
Been going for years and have never had a bad meal there. Consistently high standard of food.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Clare F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    21
    8
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
65 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Poor service and cold food”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We went on a Saturday evening. There was a party of 16 next to us and the waiters were all busy serving them. Service for us was slow. Our main courses were cold by the time we got them, after a long wait. The veg rice was nice but the bhuna had little sauce and big lumps of chicken which felt like they had been cooked separately and added to each dish. Not the best bhuna Ive had. We also waited ages for the bill. We didnt feel particularly welcome. Won't go back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NWLadyManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
68 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We've eaten here twice and both times the food has been really good. I have a food allergy and they made sure that the dishes I ate were suitable. The ambience is good and the staff are all really friendly. No one in our party had any complaints about the food or the service. We will definitely be going back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank discerningtraveller4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Can't beat it”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

This is our local curry house and we've been coming here for 15 years so they must be doing something right. The staff are welcoming and friendly, great with our four children and the restaurant is lovely, bright and modern.

Although the quality of the food has varied over the years, we have never ever had a bad meal or had to send anything back. We've had meals in, takeaways and hosted parties there and we'll definitely continue to do so. Love it!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RednSparkly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very Nice restaurant”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

This is and old converted church and it has been made very nice in deed.
Food has to be one of the best in the area.
There restaurant has been going a long time well over 20 years and has all ways been good.
They do take away as well, and that is a Saturday night treat if we do not fancy going out.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank arkangel5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mahabharat also viewed

Wigan, Greater Manchester
Wigan, Greater Manchester
 
Wigan, Greater Manchester
Wigan, Greater Manchester
 
Wigan, Greater Manchester
Wigan, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Mahabharat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing